Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Home-Style Beef-N-Noodles W/Mushrooms & Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Home-Style Beef-N-Noodles W/Mushrooms & Onions

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2011

      This is an awesome recipe! I've made this a few times now w/the mustard and horseradish and adjusted to less meat (so, less broth, onion soup mix, salt...still used the same amount of A1, onion and garlic) Do be careful with the salt...I used the beef broth paste one time and it was over the top salty (and I love my salt). My picky brother even liked it and and told our mom to get the recipe so she could make it for him! Oh, and I've made it with cooked dry pasta and it came out just as yummy, as well as white rice, brown rice, etc. Trying with quinoa tonight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      This was VERY, VERY good. I was afraid my picky husband wasn't going to like it, but to my amazement, he went back for seconds! I can't begin to tell you how rare that is! I made it as directed, adding in the mustard and horseradish. The only thing I did differently, was towards the very end of cooking, I tasted the gravy, and it did seem a bit too salty, so I stirred in about a tablespoon of tomato paste, and it mellowed it right out. GREAT comfort food recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I took a couple of liberties in the preparation steps. I cut the recipe back to two servings- I bought strip loin steaks (on sale) for another recipe and they were too large so I cut a strip off two and used that for the meat in this recipe. It was a tender cut so did not require cooking as long even though the simmering does enfuse flavor. I browned the onions first, added the mushrooms sauteed for 5 minutes then added Soup mix (1 tbsp), A! sauce (1 tbsp), 1 large garlic clove smashed, 1/4 cup beef broth. Simmered 2 minutes and set aside. Then I browned the steak pieces - fried for apprx 4 minutes added the Onion/Mushroom mixture back to the pan to reheat apprx 2 minutes.Added the noodles & served The aroma was heaven and so was the meal. Thanks Wildflour for a delicious comfort food dinner

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This was a wonderful recipe. We did modify. We cut it down to half...made onion soup mix homemade and our own version of A-1 sauce for the recipe. We also tossed in a glass of dry red wine. It was amazing. We even got a picky kid to eat it...and she loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      WOW! Love this!! The horseradish and spicy mustard added an even more wonderful flavor to it! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      Amazing recipe! Loved it so much! Followed recipe almost to a "T", but used stew meat instead and cooked longer and used wide egg noodles instead of Reames - served over the noodles. Never dreamed of adding steak sauce to the gravy but it was right on point. I followed the advice about horseradish, but had a horseradish mustard on hand that I used and it really did kick it up a notch. This is now the only Beef and Noodles (Beef tips) recipe I will ever use again!. Thanks Wildflour for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I halved this recipe as it was just for 3 of us. DELICOUS!!! Omg, it had great flavor and so comforting. I didn't have to use the cornstarch adn water, it thickened up with the noodles. I didn't cook the noodles beforehand, I just added them in after the first hour and a half cooking. Perfect. My family loved it. Thank you for the great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      MMMmm, wonderful comfort food! I skipped a few steps since I was using leftover prime rib roast. I thought I had A1 sauce, but didn't, so I added several shakes of Worcestershire sauce, along with the mustard and horseradish. Once I tasted it (and it was gooood), I thought I'd add a splash of dry sherry and this really added another depth! Served over cooked Reames noodles, we enjoyed dinner tonight and will have leftovers tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Wildflour..you've done it again....a wonderful recipe.

      I was a bit hesitant to add the horseradish and mustard (sounded a bit different) but I did add about half of it to the finished dish. I couldn't believe how much it enhanced the flavor of the dish.

      I made just half the recipe, but with 3 of us eating it, and having seconds too, there is still enough left for another meal.

      I did make some mashed potatoes to put under the noodles, (like we needed more carbs) and we really enjoyed our meal.

      Thanks for the suggestions about the additions, and next time I will add the full amount of the horseradish and mustard. What a great idea you had !!
      Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      My husband rated it among his top 2 favorite dishes, kept going on about how much he liked it and how tender the meat was. I, of course, liked it too but he's my taster. I made it to 4 servings since it's only 2 1/2 of us. I was also watchful of the salt since I saw all the notes and didn't add too much (about 1 1/2 tsp more or less). Also, I forgot the mustard and horseradish so I will have to try that next time and see if it sends him through the roof :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This is amazingly out of this world! I've made this twice and barely had leftovers. The frozen egg noodles make the difference. I could eat just the noodles in the gravy. Great dish especially for hungry sons! Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      I used half the meat and the full gravy amount. I only had on hand a pkg of Lipton onion/mushroom dry soup mix but it turned out great. The smelled was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      What an incredible flavor the gravy had. I only used a 4lb chuck roast but made the full gravy anyway. Definitely add the horseradish and mustard! Be careful on the salt because there is a lot in the onion soup mix. So easy and so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This tastes so much like my Grandmother's recipe, which she never wrote down. I used 1/2 the amount of meat, but the same amount of broth and cook the noodles right in the broth. I usually make this in the crockpot or cook it slowly on the stove top all day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is a very good meal and it makes a lot of food. Thanks for the great recipe. I save this one for the fall/winter when I really crave some comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I made to have over some leftover garlic mashed potatoes that I had in the fridge. The beef was tender and the flavor from the gravy was outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      We loved this with the noodles. What a great comfort meal it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I used reduced sodium broth and soup mix, as the sodium in this dish is real high. and I used button mushrooms. The beef was so flavorful and delicious and smelled so good when it was cooking. It was loved by everyone eating and it was gone in one meal with 7 of us eating it. All 7 give it 5 stars! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was really good, easy to make and smelled wonderful cooking. I did change it up a little bit to fit the tastes of my household: I left out the mushrooms and substituted thick sliced carrots instead, and instead of using the noodles I just served with roasted potatoes. I try to limit salt in my diet so I did not add any salt and used low sodium beef broth -- I told the kids to salt their servingss to taste. This turned out great and I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Heaven in a plate is what this should be called! So delicious we just about licked our plates!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Home-Style Beef-N-Noodles W/Mushrooms & Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (500 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 911.2
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    29%
    Total Fat 29.6 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 313.3 mg
    104%
    Sodium 903.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.0 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 87.7 g
    175%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    A.1. Original Sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes