8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The only onion that I had on hand was a red one so thats what I used. I cooked these in the same pan that I had browned chicken in and that worked well. Also added a light sprinkle on corn meal just because a like it added to fried potato's. Very tasty and so easy using canned spuds, I always keep a couple of cans on hand in case of emergency. This was a good way to use one even if there wasn't an emergency. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia August 05, 2012

I made these potatoes to go along with a pork steak I was making for DH and I for lunch. It made a perfect comfort meal for me!!! I did change a couple of things, I didn't have canned potatoes(plus it would have been too many potatoes for the 2 of us), so peeled and steamed a potato in the microwave. I also used butter instead of margarine, but otherwise, followed as written. I also cooked my onions til they were nice and golden!! Thanks for sharing the recipe that we both enjoyed!! Made for Potluck Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 21, 2011

Yum! Easy and fairly quick. Served with Salmon. Made for I Recommend Tag Game. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom February 15, 2010

Easy and good. I added a bit more garlic powder. Served with pork steaks. Made for PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u September 23, 2009

Simple and very tasty! I made these for breakfast with scrambled eggs and bacon. The only change I made was to use red potatoes from my garden that I had par-boiled and frozen. Also used 2 shallots in place of the onions (my regular onion smelled a little to sharp) Great breakfast potatoes! Thanks for posting Acadia. Made for Feb Potluck Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom February 12, 2009

Great tasting potatoes! I used my electric skillet to make sure the potatoes were evenly spaced and could brown nicely. Served with scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast and we enjoyed the potatoes a lot. Thank you Acadia for posting your family recipe! Made and reviewed for the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap #6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 January 19, 2009

This is a simple recipe and it is great for those last minute dinner ideas. I sliced the potatoes and put them in the skillet, let them cook just a while then added the onion and other ingredients. These were great. Thanks so much for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom January 19, 2009

This is a simple and tasty recipe, but I think the process could be a little easier. Maybe by browning the potatos then adding the raw onion and seaoning and letting it cook for the 20 minutes. Just a suggestion, thanks for posting the flavorful potato recipe. Made for PAC fall 08.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean September 25, 2008
Home Fries With Onions