45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just made this (2 days before Thanksgiving), and am freezing it ahead of time. Let me tell you something folks, if you are even just contemplating making this you need to stop and just DO IT! Its sooo good. I did it EXACTLY as written...and it made ONE 13 x 9 pan and 2- 13 X 5 (oblong pans I have)full of stuffing. Of course I tasted it and it is to die for! I can't wait to serve it on Thursday! It wasn't hard to put together at all, although I don't have a Dutch Oven pan BIG enough for this recipe; so I browned everything in a very large deep dish frying pan from Calphalon, and added the three cups of cornbread to it, then I put 1/2 a stick of butter an a large pasta pot, added the rest of the cornbread , alternating w/ the frying pan mixture. (This is one reason I am making everything ahead of time, and freezing what I can so I don't have a mess and 1/2 in the kitchen to clean all at once-uuuggg.) I recommend usung butter, and not using margarine( margarine is bad for you anyway!). This isn't something to be counting calories with! Thanks 'Mom of Chef Mark' !!! Happy Thanksgiving Everyone! Memphis Mommy aka Wendy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemphisMommy November 20, 2007

This was great! I made for Christmas and the family loved it. I took the advice of a previous person's review and cut it in half but kept the full amount of sausage and also added the bacon. I loved the bacon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K&Ks Mom December 28, 2009

Thanks for posting Mom of Chef Mark. This was a real hit at Thanksgiving dinner. In fact most people preferred this over regular dressing. The only change I made was that I added bacon and doubled the sausage, 1 pound mild and 1 pound Italian. I also added all the bacon and sausage grease. What the heck, I never was pretending it was low fat. This is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaCookinFool November 29, 2009

This dish was the hit of the Thanksgiving meal. Everyone loved it! We used 48oz of broth to have a heavier and less fluffy dressing. We used Martha White's Yellow Gladiola cornbread mix. Awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllendaleEstates November 27, 2009

Since we didn't make Thanksgiving at home we decieded to use the turkey we had on weekend and make our own thanksgiving meal. I chose this recipe for stuffing since none of us had ever had cornbread stuffing before, we've always had the bread stuffing. I couldn't stop eating the cornbread bits while making. I really liked the idea of the sausage and mushrooms in this. We liked this stuffing and will make it for the "real" meal next year for our whole family. Thank you for posting and introducing us to another stuffing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 10, 2009

Wow, is this one of winner or what? I have to admit I was a bit lazy and used store bought mini corn muffins instead of making my own cornbread. Was still wonderful. The idea behind the meal was to test run new recipes for Thanksgiving and let me tell you, Stove Top stuffing is history!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadCatKim November 09, 2002

Makes my mouth water the way it smells so good while baking and this chef is right on a must even without the turkey !!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeetiger April 18, 2002

Made this for Thanksgiving. Made one Aunt Jemina recipe corn bread in 8 x 8 pan? Used one qt of chicken broth, and halved everything else. Delicious and plenty to go around for 6 with much leftover.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nola to DFW December 03, 2012

I divided everything in half except the cornbread. I used two boxes of Jiffy Mix corn muffin mix. My husband and I were the only ones eating Thanksgiving dinner at home this year but I wish we had made the entire recipe! It is the best dressing I have ever eaten. I supervised the cooking and my husband did the work. (A leg in a cast is not easy to stand and cook with, especially when no weight is allowed on it.) I must say he did an Excellent job!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monagrays November 22, 2012

This is very good. I used less butter than called for but replaced alot of it with spray butter. Turned out very good and I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April1 November 28, 2010
Home For Thanksgiving Fried Cornbread Dressing