Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Home Brewed Vanilla Extract - Homemade - Copycat- Clone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Home Brewed Vanilla Extract - Homemade - Copycat- Clone

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2002

      This stuff is incredible. I haven't yet made it, but my mother-in-law uses that very same recipe from Southern Living. She has shared some of the extract with me in recent months, and I was amazed at the difference in flavour. If you've never had the pleasure of home made extract, do yourself a favour this holiday season and try it out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      Thank you so much for this recipe. At last a way to get around the high cost of this very important ingredient. I think I may also try it with coconut flavored rum, sounds like a power house addition to baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2003

      Great recipe, I do it with a whole bottle of vodka and 8 to 10 split vanilla beans. I let it sit in a dark corner of the cupboard for 8 months to a year. I go through one vodka bottle of extract a year, so I remake one and always have one ready to be used when the current one is ready to run out. The beans are expensive, but the total cost must be less than buying all of that store bought extract, and this is so much better. You can take out the beans, after a year, dry them out and bury in a jar full of sugar for awhile, it makes the sugar taste good too, and you can use it in all sorts of things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Vodka works for this, but I'd recommend using Everclear instead. It has a higher alcohol content and will produce a purer vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I use a whole bottle of vodka just like Barb. But I'm a cheap skate so I only put the empty pods in after I have scraped them out and used them in other cooking. I also buy my vanilla beans online from Herbies Spices, because they are really fresh. (www.gourmetshopper.com.au)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This is excellent stuff. It has a great intense flavour and is far superior to the imitation essence. It only requires patience as it really needs to sit for the two months to get the aroma of the vanilla bean into the vodka. I made 1 cup of vodka with 2 beans but will double the amount next time as it seems to be going fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      Made some of this and oh boy did it rock! Flew threw it. Will have to keep a batch perpetually going. After having my own vanilla- I'll never go back to store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I use this vanilla in so many recipes. I have 2 large bottles of it in my pantry. I will not buy any more vanilla extract at the store. I buy my vanilla beans online. They are much cheaper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I used 5 vanilla beans and 1c of vodka and placed the mixture in a mason jar. I have made this extract twice now...once using organic Tahitian beans and another using organic Madagascar beans. Both extracts are to die for!!! I will never buy the commercial stuff ever again. It is so much easier just to make it yourself if you can find a good source for fresh, plump vanilla beans. My extracts have been sitting in my pantry for almost 9 months now and are a beautiful amber color...not to mention smell so heavenly!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      Well, having read the reviews i have started two bottles going, one with vodka and the other with a small bottle of brandy. After three weeks both bottles are shaping up and smelling beautifully. I'm not going to rush either mix, this is something that should be allowed to develop quietly. Should be great for Christmas baking however!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      There will never be a bottle of store bought vanilla in my house again.I started this in Nov. and added a couple of extra beans but it has been ready for a while. I plan on starting another batch to have ready to give for Christmas gifts. This would be a wonderful hostess gift at any time of the year. A very treasured recipe. Thank-you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      I used a whole bottle of Vodka, 10 Vanilla Beans cut into small pieces and stored it in the pantry for several months. Am just starting to use it. It adds a great and smells delicious. I ordered the beans on-line(nice big beans) and were so much cheaper than the health food store. This recipe makes for a lot better and cheaper vanilla. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      I made this recipe when it first came out in Southern Living, and have been using it ever since that time. It is wonderful and adds such a nice vanilla flavor that can't be beat! Wanda in Wichita Falls, TX

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2004

      I use the whole bottle of vodka and 6 beans (from Bali) and let it sit for about 6 months. It smells good. I prefer using brandy or rum but vodka is good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      This is like a tincture...the same can be done with herbs seeds etc for healing remedies. Will have to give it a try because I really hate artificial vanilla flavouring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Home Brewed Vanilla Extract - Homemade - Copycat- Clone

    Serving Size: 1 (445 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites