Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Home-Baked Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Home-Baked Bagels

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-76 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2007

      This recipe makes the perfect bagels! I made these a few times and had to adjust for my oven's fickleness but I eventually made a perfect batch. Everyone at work said they were even better than Panera. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I am so excited to make my own bagels! I used 1 c. white flour and the rest whole wheat, then topped them with a combination of dried onion, garlic, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, caraway seeds and kosher salt. Sooooo good! The first time I followed the listed method exactly, and while we loved them fresh, once they were toasted they lost their "bageliness" and tasted more like regular toast. The next time I made them I shaped them right after mixing, and let them slowly rise in the fridge overnight hoping for more flavor development. It worked - they were great even toasted. I also skipped the egg wash in favor of topping them right after the boiling stage. Thank you for a wonderful recipe to use as my springboard for our very own specialy bagels!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Great recipe! We made 3 dozen and they were extremely yummy. Crunchy on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. YUM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Fantastic recipe, easy to make. I'll never buy bagels again. Thanks for sharing. I'm going to double the recipe and make more right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I made this recipe today and it was awesome. I should have started out with a double batch but I was unsure how it was going to work. I topped them with minced garlic, minced onion and poppy seeds. They were delicious. I made 8 big bagels instead of 12. Next time I will try another's suggestion on making the dough in the bread machine. Thanks Karen! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      These bagels were very good!! They were pretty easy to make and they tasted yummy. I topped mine with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and cheddar cheese. I love mine toasted and loaded with cream cheese. Yumm!! Thanks Karen for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      Not many people would want to go out to the store and buy ingridients for this recipe. This is to hard and complicated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This was my first attempt at making bagels, and they were delicious. Just the right texture, and great flavor. Much better than store-bought, and will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I cannot believe how simple this recipe was. I made three batches. The first one I made plain with no topping. The second one I added 1/2 cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts to the dough right after the flour was mixed in. We ate these with cinnamon cream cheese. They were divine. The third and final batch I made by adding a tablespoon of cinnamon to the flour before incorporating and topped it with 1 tbsp of brown sugar combined with 1 tsp of cinnamon. Again absolutely wonderful. I don't think I will ever buy bagels again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      I made these bagels on a lazy Sunday afternoon, subbing all whole wheat flour and some vital wheat gluten for the bread flour. This resulted in needing more water, too. Thus, since I didn't follow it exactly, I can't give five stars. The only thing I would suggest is making the eggwhite optional and increasing the boiling time a wee bit -- otherwise, the results are chewy, warm, and absolutely scrumptious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Best bagels I've ever had, and easy to make. Can't wait to make them again. Brewhead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Decided to try and make my own bagels since the place where I buy my bagels quit making cranberry walnut. These were very good and pretty easy to prepare. Thanks Karen=^..^=. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      THESE ARE PERFECT! This is my first time making bagels, and these directions couldnt have been easier! My bagels turned out great, and my whole family loved them! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      My first attempt at bagels and I will definately me making these again! Yes the looked wierd BUT the taste was wonderful, dense like I love my bagels. With some more experimentation on toppings we wont have to buy bagels anyemore! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      An excellent recipe! I made sesame bagels .. My husband loved this, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      These bagels are delicious! The texture of mine was quite dense and nice and chewy. I think they would have been a bit fluffier if I had used all white bread flour but instead I used about 75% whole wheat bread flour. They were still good this way though! I really wanted onion bagels so that is what I made. However, I added the 1 tbsp poppy seeds and 1/2 cup dried onion and 4 cloves of garlic into the batter so they were onion flavored throughout. I then sauteed some fresh onion to put on top after I brushed them with egg white. These are very easy to shape into bagel shapes as the dough is easy to work with. Everyone enjoyed them and so will be making these again, that's for sure!! Thanks Karen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Home-Baked Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (2818 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    66%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 472.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes