78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I cannot stop eating these! I've had my eye on this recipe for months now but it just seemed too complicated to make (I've never made any bready things before). I finally got up the nerve to make it this afternoon and it was very time consuming but I never knew cinnamon raisin bagels could be so good! Thanks for sharing! I think I've doomed myself to make a dozen weekly ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam March 27, 2012

Awesome. Texture was spot-on though I need to practice forming the bagels some more. Can't wait to try a batch of raisin-cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Nick February 19, 2012

These came out yummy and delicious. I've made them twice (always doubling the recipe) with different flavors. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour to make them a bit healthier. I think these will be a staple in my kitchen. :-) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2MMCJ August 02, 2011

Awesome bagels!!! Worth all the work and waiting. Good news is that they smell only 1/2 as good they taste while baking..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FDWheelMan July 17, 2011

I'm trying this recipe right now..Dough is rising..I'm excited to see how they come out..I'll write a review when they're all done and my taste tester DH comes home from work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina61 March 12, 2011

Great recipe! :) The only thing I would change is the very yeasty flavor of the bagels, but that could be because of a measuring error (and is quickly corrected by spreading on some butter--totally masks the yeast flavor). Thanks for a pretty much foolproof recipe! All purpose flour and brown sugar can be used providing excellent results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefdonatella January 22, 2011

I have made these twice now, and all I can say is WOW. So easy to make, and such a delicious product in the end! It is a nice treat to have, and my DH quite enjoys it for something different than an ordinary loaf of bread.
I added an egg to the dough recipe, plus 1/3 cup melted butter, plus I added a dallop of honey to the boiling water to sweeten it up a bit!(I read that somewhere)
Love this recipe, will be adding it to my main cookbook and also I will be sharing it, I am sure. 5 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happinessishomemade November 20, 2010

I've made these several times. Usually with seseme seeds. Once with cinnamon and raisins and then my favorite with sun dried tomatoes and rosemary. Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nut' N Honey July 20, 2010

Amazing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Fetish May 18, 2010
Home-Baked Bagels