Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Home-Baked Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Home-Baked Bagels

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2010

      Tons of great taste and a better size than the super bagels you get at the store! I tried my first batch on a pizza stone set at 550 degrees. They cooked in 10 minutes and the bottoms burned and stuck to the stone. But the tops that were not burned were great. Then I put the over on 400 and baked them on a pizza screen for 20 minutes and they were perfectly cooked. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Great recipe! This was super simple, and ended with a great result! I will say mine didn't look nearly as good as the photo, but they tasted AWESOME, so nobody around my house seemed to care. I did the basic, plain recipe, but I already have requests for a cinnamon/raisin batch. Thanks for a great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This is the second time I've made them (I made a half batch last weekend because I had only one packet of yeast) and today I'm making a full batch. :) These are SO good, and so easy. My regular bagel recipe calls for a few rises, sitting in the fridge for 18 hours, etc. They're a pain in the butt, and not nearly as good as these. Thank you for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Yummy! I have always wanted to make bagels, and I am glad that this is the first recipe I tried. The only thing I would do differently is make my holes a bit bigger. I didn't make them as big as you said, so that's my fault. I left half plain and sprinkled the other half with myspicesage.com's pizza seasoning. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      These were great, I made half plain and half cinnamon raisen. I think I let the plain dough raise too long because they came out a little flat and dry. The raisens bagels were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I made these today, and they are great. I am not sure that they rose as much as they should have, but I think that my yeast was old. I topped half of them with grated parmesan and left the others plain. Next time, and there will be a next time, I am going to try to make some french toast bagels and everything bagels. I am also going to try to use whole wheat flour. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      I made these for supper last night and they came out just wonderful. I should have let them sit a little longer after forming them into balls, to rise a little more. We put sesame seeds, poppy seeds, onion flakes and oregano on them and then served them with an assortment of cheeses, meats and vegetables. Delicious! I look forward to making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Delicious. Followed the recipe as written. Outside got very nicely browned. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

    • on February 05, 2009

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! How I missed my bagels! I added some whole wheat flour to the mix and the result was a pretty sticky dough that was hard to manage---no matter, it was all worth it. Made two batches, sesame and cinn. raisin. I'll be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

    • on December 22, 2008

      Awesome. My wife and kids really loved these!!! Pretty quick and a whole lot cheaper than equivalent quality at the store / deli. Cranberry and walnut next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      After moving from Chicago to North Dakota, we really started to miss the awesome deli bagel shops, and because store bagels are lousy, I just had to try this recipe after reading the great reviews. I used a bread oven to make the dough. It is way faster and easier compared to mixing it by hand! I give these bagels an A++. My family loved them. We made garlic, plain, and onion, and they were all a hit. This is going into my recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      These were really good and easier to make than I thought. I made 24 mini-bagels so that my son could take them to school for a snack. I added raisins this time, but can't wait to try another flavor next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      These were great! I made a few with cinnamon, nutmeg and raisins and made others with sesame seeds, rosemary and grated romano. I never turned mine during the baking time and they still turned out great. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Amazing! They just came out of the oven and we've each eaten 2! We made them everything bagels with steak seasoning, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Holy Cow! I cannot believe I made bagels. They are so good and this was so easy. Thanks for the great recipe. I did mine with cinnamon sugar. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      These just didn't work out for me. Perhaps I just have really high bagel standards, but I think they were too bready, and too yeasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      yum, yum, yum!!! So good! After I took them out of the hot water bath, I brushed them with the egg whites, I dipped them in sea salt, rosemary, garlic, poppy seeds and onion flakes. AWESOME everything bagels!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      These are wonderful bagels. My kids love them.They aren't easy to make but worth.Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Home-Baked Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (2818 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    66%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 472.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites