78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These bagels are delicious!! I never attempted to make my own bagels before, now I do not think I will be buying them anymore!! I added 2tsp minced garlic and 1 tsp onion flakes and made them garlic onion with the onion powder on top, served with herb garlic cream cheese and YUMMY!! :):) Fabulous recipe thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_78 May 20, 2009

These bagels taste very good, especially fresh from the oven. I only wish that they toasted better. I made them with 50% whole wheat flour. (Which could account for the difference of opinion) Also added cinnamon and raisins. I will definately try again soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheepcake March 12, 2009

Today is the third time making these delicious bagels in two weeks. They are pretty easy to make too. I followed wifemomflorist lead and used 3 T sugar and 1 T salt. I let them raise more than double this time and cooked them 45 sec. on each side. They are wonderful fresh from the oven. I used egg sub and it worked fine. I have done both sesame seed and poppy seed for the topping. My DH just loves them!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 13, 2008

5 stars for a great recipe! I never even considered makeing my own bagels but saw this & though, why not! They came out GREAT! The only thing I will do differently next time, I won't make the holes as big. I thought they may rise more and they didn't. They got a little bigger but the hole size stayed the same as I made it! Also, I used minced onion, poppy seed, garlic salt, sesame seeds and sea salt for 8 then a few salt bagels and poppy seed plain. I was amazed how easy this dough was to work with, held up fine with simmering and everything! I am not a baker either! My daughter ate 2 after school. I bet these would be great with non-conventional toppings. I am thinking, rosemary, parmesean, sage oh the possibilities!! BTW another reviewer said they were hard. I did not fins them hard, you just need to be home for a few hours. The rising time for me was almost 2 hours, so if your gonna be home, no biggie! Thanks Karen for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwiwife January 28, 2008

This is an awesome recipe! Here in Argentina its impossible to find bagels anywhere so now I can make my own!!! The only thing is that I had to take them out of the oven after 20' Thanks for the Receipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marula September 02, 2009

These were amazing! My first attempt at making bagels, & I was SO impressed. I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the white (made them just 2 Weight Watchers points each!), & I made the dough in my bread machine. I sprinkled poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic flakes and onion flakes on top to make Everything bagels; next time, I'll put garlic and onions in the dough to flavor it throughout. I put cinnamon & sugar on two, and my husband grabbed one as it came out of the oven. He loved it, & I loved my warm Everything bagel. Delicious!! No more store-bought bagels for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outtatime March 29, 2009

Super easy and fabulous tasting!!! I have made these every week now for about six weeks and my four kids can't get enough. Easy to shape but it did take a few tries for them to look respectable! The work is totally minimal for a yeast dough! I boil for 30 seconds on each side as we like them a little chewier and bake at 350 for exactly 18 min, flip, then another 18 min.Comparable to our local bagel shop. I freeze these, after they are baked, in individual ziplocs and the kids put cream cheese on them for a quick, nutricious breakfast. I thaw the frozen bagels for 20 secs in the micro then toast. Delicious! These are a regular staple in our house. Thanx;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hans'sFeistyRedHead May 06, 2008

You're the best. I'm from Portugal and we don't have bagels in my hometown (just frozen ones, nothing special), and I tried them when I lived in England. This was my 3rd try, the first two (diferent recipes) came out a little softer than rocks. :) Delicious, delicious. Had to convert everything to metric system but came out great. My wife was amazed, gave some to my next door neighbours and they loved them. Now, just got to find different ways to make them. If anyone can help me with this you're welcome to send me messages. Thank you again, for this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nuffsaid December 16, 2007

i would've gave the full 5 stars but i had to add a lot of extra flour as i was kneading the dough. i also wasn't sure what type of yeast to use so i used 1 refridgerated block of it. and i let it rise for about 45 minutes. they still came out wonderful! i sprinkled some onion and salt on a few for a little variety. my dad said they were the best bagels he'd ever had! it made 13 small bagels about 70g each.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stylish_nicepants November 11, 2006

I used this for my first attempt at bagels, they were great. I am on a very low sodium diet (<2000mg a day) and commercially prepared foods are mostly offlimits to me any more but I like bagels. I only used 1/4 tbs salt and they still came out good. I can have bagels again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Computer Chef May 14, 2006
Home-Baked Bagels