Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Home-Baked Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Home-Baked Bagels

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2006

      My first time making bagels, and I couldn't have asked for a better recipe! Thank you so much Karen. It was easy to follow, and turned out wonderful! I used cinnamon and raisins..yummy! and I got 12 small bagels (very cute looking).. no more buying bagels for me :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I admit it. I am an addict. Got addicted to bagels while I was in PA visiting my daughter. Cant buy them here, so I thought I would have a try at making them. It is a very easy to follow recipe, and the results were better then expected. I sprinkled 4 with pepper steak spice, 4 with sesame seeds and dried garlic, and the other four, the best four, I sprinkled with Old Bay seasoning, which I bought in the USA, as there is no such thing in Oz. I have just eaten 2, with lashings of cream cheese. Straight out the oven, they were sooooo good. Breakfast will be toasted bagel. lunch will be bagel and cold meat.:) thanks, great, easy to follow, and wonderful results

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      Absolutely amazing, I boiled mine with some brown sugar and topped them of with a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar since I made cinnamon raisin ones. Recipe is a keeper. Cannot believe I made bagels :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Yay!! Another item else off my culinary bucket list. These were so much easier than I expected and fun to make. I left some plain, topped some with lightly toasted sesame seeds and a few with a tiny bit of minced fresh garlic, dried minced onion, sesame seeds, dried basil and kosher salt. Yum....My one issue is that they were a little on the flat side. I'm not sure if I made the hole too big, or if I should have let them rise again a bit after putting the hole in them. In any case, they tasted so good and I'll be making these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      This recipe is good, and this is the first time I've made bagels. For some reason, the finished product came out a little flat (literally), and I had very narrow bagels. My yeast was fine, and I had a great rise...so not sure what happened. I will definitely make these again. Thank you for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      I can't believe I made these! And it was so easy. They taste so good too. They were really fun to make - the boiling step was something I never did for a baked item. I was afraid mine would just dissolve in the simmering water, but they didn't. When baked, they were a bit out of round, but you still could tell they were bagels. I used my bread machine for the dough following flirtyfunchick's method. Worked perfectly. We ate them with cream cheese and smoked salmon. I will be making these again. Great recipe for beginners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I love bagels so I was really excited to try this recipe. It was my first time working with yeast so I'm not sure I did everything correctly but I followed the directions to the best of my ability...and it came out OK. I ate them. They certainly looked good, but this is not the special recipe I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Excellent recipe, my kids and I LOVE them. I agree with some other comments about the only thing I would want to change if possible is a slight strong smell of yeast. I wonder if cutting back on some would give the same results? Either way, I will make these rather then buy from now on. I use a wooden spoon handle to make the hole and gently stretch the dough outwards from the center and the dough is very easy to manage. Thanks so much Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      I cannot stop eating these! I've had my eye on this recipe for months now but it just seemed too complicated to make (I've never made any bready things before). I finally got up the nerve to make it this afternoon and it was very time consuming but I never knew cinnamon raisin bagels could be so good! Thanks for sharing! I think I've doomed myself to make a dozen weekly ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Awesome. Texture was spot-on though I need to practice forming the bagels some more. Can't wait to try a batch of raisin-cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      These came out yummy and delicious. I've made them twice (always doubling the recipe) with different flavors. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour to make them a bit healthier. I think these will be a staple in my kitchen. :-) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Awesome bagels!!! Worth all the work and waiting. Good news is that they smell only 1/2 as good they taste while baking..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      I'm trying this recipe right now..Dough is rising..I'm excited to see how they come out..I'll write a review when they're all done and my taste tester DH comes home from work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Great recipe! :) The only thing I would change is the very yeasty flavor of the bagels, but that could be because of a measuring error (and is quickly corrected by spreading on some butter--totally masks the yeast flavor). Thanks for a pretty much foolproof recipe! All purpose flour and brown sugar can be used providing excellent results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I have made these twice now, and all I can say is WOW. So easy to make, and such a delicious product in the end! It is a nice treat to have, and my DH quite enjoys it for something different than an ordinary loaf of bread.
      I added an egg to the dough recipe, plus 1/3 cup melted butter, plus I added a dallop of honey to the boiling water to sweeten it up a bit!(I read that somewhere)
      Love this recipe, will be adding it to my main cookbook and also I will be sharing it, I am sure. 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I've made these several times. Usually with seseme seeds. Once with cinnamon and raisins and then my favorite with sun dried tomatoes and rosemary. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

    • on May 18, 2010

      Amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I followed this recipe exactly. I don't know what went wrong. Maybe it's my Wel-Bilt Bread Machine. The batter was much too wet and just poured out. I persisted and did the boiling and baking steps. These were just horrible. I may try again with only 1 1/4 cup water. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe! Being from NY, I miss a good bagel. This recipe was amazing! I made mine "everything" bagels and used poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic powder, dried minced onion, salt & Pepper....they were to die for! Nice crunchy crust with a light bagel inside, brought me back to home, if even for a few minutes. thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Home-Baked Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (2818 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    66%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 472.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites