Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Home-Baked Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Home-Baked Bagels

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2010

      These turned out WONDERFULLY!!! I had never tried making my own bagels and these were completely delicious, not to mention easy! As a reference, one Tablespoon equals 1/2 oz. I was afraid I had let them rise too long (after it doubled in size I realized I didn't have time to finish them and I had to throw it in the fridge for a few hours while I ran errands) - but they turned out just fine. I topped half with sesame seeds and half with sunflower seeds. I will DEFINITELY be making these again!! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      So, this recipe is amazing. I've never made bagels before, but I've done this twice now and my bagels are just delicious! They're still soft and chewy the next day (I microwave mine for 30 seconds before I slather on the cream cheese!). The first time I made these, I followed the instructions exactly. The second time, I did a little bit of altering (some based on other reviewers). I do the dough in my bread machine on the dough cycle (laying from the bottom up: warm water, 1 T salt, 2 cups of bread flour, 3 T sugar, the rest of the flour, and then yeast on top). I used brown sugar and this yielded in a chewier and slightly richer "plain" bagel. Also, I boiled my bagels for 40 seconds per a side, brushed with egg whites, and baked them for 28 minutes on one side, and then flipped for 8 minutes on the other (so that my bottoms would be more brown the the tops). I haven yet to make any flavored bagels, but my husband is begging for a sun-dried tomato and I want to try a blueberry one. The dough is sooooo easy to work with!! Thanks so much for sharing Karen!!! I have given up on going out and buying bagels anymore when I can make them so much for so much cheaper (and they're easy!) at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Excellent recipe with great details! I would add, for those of us who have bulk yeast and not in the little packages, that the "2 packages yeast" equals .50 ounces of yeast, or 1/2 oz. :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Totally Awesome! I typically saute 1 onion and then throw that in the food processor so that the onion flavor gets mixed through out. Sometimes I like to add 4 TBS of baking soda to the boiling water, bake and then add pretzel salt so that they are like pretzel bagels!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      The dough for this wonderful recipe made up well in my bread machine. The ounces converted to 3 Tablespoons of sugar and 1 Tablespoon of salt. If you like green olives, 3 or 4 chopped olives in 4 oz of softened cream cheese is a nice option for a spread. I enjoyed preparing and eating these bagels. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      DH wants me to give you more stars! By the time my DS and his tribe ran thru the kitchen, I only had 4 left to photograph. I got 11 bagels and wish I would have made a double batch as you suggested. We topped ours with different combinations to suit everyone's taste. I measured out my sugar and salt after weighing to be about 7 tsp sugar and 1 tsp salt. These are so easy and just fantastic! Thanks for sharing. Brenda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      This was a really EASY, very Yummy recipe. I will say that working with bread is challenging. takes some trial and error. I weighed the flour as I was working with wheat and all-purpose. (150 gram/cup and 130 grams/cup respectively) I liked the way the bagels turned out when I let them boil a little longer in more vigorous water You can watch them plump. I noticed that the ones that had rested after I put holes in them turned out better than the first batch. I also added come molasses to the water 'cause others added honey and I didn't have any. At any rate this was a really good recipe. My sister awoke to lovely smells and a great breakfast. Definitely making it again. Bookmarking it right now

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I've never made anything with a yeast dough before, and this was totally doable. Took way less than 35 minutes in my gas oven though. Also, I added a bit of water to the egg wash so it brushed on smoother and I added a bit of brown sugar to the boiling water based on other recipes I had read. Thanks for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      These bagels turned out super yummy! It was my first time making homemade bagels and I like some others used part whole wheat and part all purpose flour. I also added some dried basil, oregano, and crushed red peppers to the dough and they are savory and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      My son and I made these today. I have not worked much with yeast/bread type recipes, but these are as easy to make as everyone is saying. We made half plain and half garlic and cheddar. My son had to leave before they were done, and the first thing he did when he go home was eat two of them. We are already planning our next baking session and other flavors we are going to try. Thanks Karen for this easy delicous recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      These bagels are delicious!! I never attempted to make my own bagels before, now I do not think I will be buying them anymore!! I added 2tsp minced garlic and 1 tsp onion flakes and made them garlic onion with the onion powder on top, served with herb garlic cream cheese and YUMMY!! :):) Fabulous recipe thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      These bagels taste very good, especially fresh from the oven. I only wish that they toasted better. I made them with 50% whole wheat flour. (Which could account for the difference of opinion) Also added cinnamon and raisins. I will definately try again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Today is the third time making these delicious bagels in two weeks. They are pretty easy to make too. I followed wifemomflorist lead and used 3 T sugar and 1 T salt. I let them raise more than double this time and cooked them 45 sec. on each side. They are wonderful fresh from the oven. I used egg sub and it worked fine. I have done both sesame seed and poppy seed for the topping. My DH just loves them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      5 stars for a great recipe! I never even considered makeing my own bagels but saw this & though, why not! They came out GREAT! The only thing I will do differently next time, I won't make the holes as big. I thought they may rise more and they didn't. They got a little bigger but the hole size stayed the same as I made it! Also, I used minced onion, poppy seed, garlic salt, sesame seeds and sea salt for 8 then a few salt bagels and poppy seed plain. I was amazed how easy this dough was to work with, held up fine with simmering and everything! I am not a baker either! My daughter ate 2 after school. I bet these would be great with non-conventional toppings. I am thinking, rosemary, parmesean, sage oh the possibilities!! BTW another reviewer said they were hard. I did not fins them hard, you just need to be home for a few hours. The rising time for me was almost 2 hours, so if your gonna be home, no biggie! Thanks Karen for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This is an awesome recipe! Here in Argentina its impossible to find bagels anywhere so now I can make my own!!! The only thing is that I had to take them out of the oven after 20' Thanks for the Receipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      These were amazing! My first attempt at making bagels, & I was SO impressed. I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the white (made them just 2 Weight Watchers points each!), & I made the dough in my bread machine. I sprinkled poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic flakes and onion flakes on top to make Everything bagels; next time, I'll put garlic and onions in the dough to flavor it throughout. I put cinnamon & sugar on two, and my husband grabbed one as it came out of the oven. He loved it, & I loved my warm Everything bagel. Delicious!! No more store-bought bagels for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Super easy and fabulous tasting!!! I have made these every week now for about six weeks and my four kids can't get enough. Easy to shape but it did take a few tries for them to look respectable! The work is totally minimal for a yeast dough! I boil for 30 seconds on each side as we like them a little chewier and bake at 350 for exactly 18 min, flip, then another 18 min.Comparable to our local bagel shop. I freeze these, after they are baked, in individual ziplocs and the kids put cream cheese on them for a quick, nutricious breakfast. I thaw the frozen bagels for 20 secs in the micro then toast. Delicious! These are a regular staple in our house. Thanx;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      You're the best. I'm from Portugal and we don't have bagels in my hometown (just frozen ones, nothing special), and I tried them when I lived in England. This was my 3rd try, the first two (diferent recipes) came out a little softer than rocks. :) Delicious, delicious. Had to convert everything to metric system but came out great. My wife was amazed, gave some to my next door neighbours and they loved them. Now, just got to find different ways to make them. If anyone can help me with this you're welcome to send me messages. Thank you again, for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      i would've gave the full 5 stars but i had to add a lot of extra flour as i was kneading the dough. i also wasn't sure what type of yeast to use so i used 1 refridgerated block of it. and i let it rise for about 45 minutes. they still came out wonderful! i sprinkled some onion and salt on a few for a little variety. my dad said they were the best bagels he'd ever had! it made 13 small bagels about 70g each.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      I used this for my first attempt at bagels, they were great. I am on a very low sodium diet (<2000mg a day) and commercially prepared foods are mostly offlimits to me any more but I like bagels. I only used 1/4 tbs salt and they still came out good. I can have bagels again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Home-Baked Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (2818 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    66%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 472.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites