Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hollandse Erwten (Split Pea) Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hollandse Erwten (Split Pea) Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2006

      Not that great, I've had better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      Yes Gerry, this is absolutely great! My family says it's the best split pea soup I've ever made and I have to agree. Out of necessity I had to make one change....my butcher was out of ham hocks but he suggested his own smoked pork ribs, so I used those and the result was really great! I didn't know what to do with the bacon after removing it in step #6 but my husband solved that problem by eating it. Thanks Gerry, great soup

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      Ah, Dutch pea soup. Went to the German butcher and bought 2 huge ham hocks, and rolled my sleaves up and made your wonderful soup. Tasted the finished result tonight, and can't wait for Erwten soup tomorrow - must keep some for my Dutch housekeeper for Tuesday, she'll love it too. Thank you for sharing this wonderful tasty recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2001

      This is absolutely GREAT.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

    • on February 20, 2009

      The soup is a very easy, hearty meal. I added garlic, fresh thyme, fresh ground pepper and sea salt. This made a great dinner with crusty homemade bread and a simple salad. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Very good! The potatoes thicken the soup and give it nice body. I used a hambone leftover from Christmas. This is a keeper. Thanks Gerry for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Very easy and tasty. Thick and hearty, but healthy and low-fat. I cut the recipe in half and used a little less carrots and a little more celery. It didn't seem like much meat from the ham hock so I added the bacon back in at the end. Next time I would try subbing 2-3 cups chicken broth or mushroom stock for part of the water and add a little garlic, but this was my best attempt at pea soup so far. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      This recipe seemed pretty much like the other split pea soup recipes I've tried, except less salty. I cut this recipe in half. I also pureed some of the soup to make a creamier soup which I liked. If I make this recipe again I will add more meat and not bother to fry bacon. The bacon didn't seem to give it much of a different taste and just took time. I'd also add more salt. This is an average recipe. Not unique or great, but not bad either. Just a comfortable, simple and basic split pea soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hollandse Erwten (Split Pea) Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (671 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 648.0
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    14%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 236.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.9 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 40.5 g
    162%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 40.4 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes