9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really can't rate the flavor yet but I am sure it will be 5 stars. Made 2 of these, 1 for gift giving and one for myself. They are really pretty bottles and so quick to put together. The second picture is 2 days after and they are turning a very nice pink. I am going to take another pic on the weekend after it sat for 7 days. Can't wait to try this in a nice salad. Thanks for sharing ellie_ UPDATE: Yep definitely a 5 star. The color was gorgeous when it finished sitting and the flavor was absolutely delicious over a salad. I definite vinegar to make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny February 21, 2010

Just a comment - I haven't made this yet, but since Rosemary stalks can be used as skewers, one could put two stalks of Rosemary in this - one with leaves and one without, and skewering the cranberries. That would eliminate that bamboo skewer that has no other purpose! Just an idea!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digigirl July 13, 2006

I made this just in time to include some in a gift basket for my parents at Christmas. Like Jude said, it is just gorgeous...Mom and I both loved that red sparkle in the bottles. I don't know what all my parents have tried it on or in yet, but I've used it in a number of things that called for vinegar and either rosemary or cranberries with excellent results. I don't have very much left so I'll have to keep it in mind to make again when my rosemary comes on this season. Thank you for sharing such a simple and delightful recipe Ellie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn February 28, 2004

This vinegar is awesome! It looks SO beautiful and festive in the decorative bottles that I've steeped it in and I can't wait to give them as gifts to my 'foodie' friends. I used two generous, bushy sprigs of rosemary and one skewer of cranberries per each decorative bottle (bought at Container Store). Oh...the vinegar is as tasty as pretty, I used it in a vinaigrette for our salad last night and it was great! Thanks so much ellie, this is a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude November 16, 2003

This is such a great holiday gift idea. I have lots of rosemary growing at my house, so I used it both for the addition to the vinegar but also I threaded the cranberries on it. This gives a nice, slightly curvy effect. As it sits the color is turning light red and I'm sure it will taste great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 28, 2012

This is so pretty! I haven't used it, so I cannot rate on that. I can rate on the fact that the bottles I gave as gifts were adored! Thank you for the wonderful idea. I will be making this again next year, and will be sure to save a bottle for myself too. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe - Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 27, 2008

This is really easy to make, for gift giving or keeping! I used the suggestion from Digigirl, and used a stem from the rosemary for a skewer. I make herbed vinegars often for gifts, and this one is going in my collection. My photo is right after making, but it does turn pink as it ages. Makes a nice vinaigrette for spinach salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey December 23, 2007

i started this last night and come back and add comments

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. December 03, 2011

Put this together before the holidays, and have it sitting on the counter. I had a decorative vinegar bottle, so it looks pretty -- just sitting !! Have used it in many things, calling for a "splash", or where I thought a "splash" would enhance. Thanks for posting, ellie !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney January 30, 2010
Holiday Vinegar