12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful holiday bread. I make it every year and give some of the loaves to my close friends and neighbors who look forward to this special treat. It is especially delicious served with a hot cup of Christmas tea.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Thombley December 11, 2000

Boo, nut haters! The walnuts in here make this loaf awesome. I only had 1 c. of fresh cranberries, so instead I microwaved 3/4 c. dried ones with 2 Tbsp. brandy & water to cover for 1 min. I also added 1 Tbsp. orange zest, which went well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss_Amy October 28, 2008

Excellent bread. Easy to make. No substitutions needed. If you are running low on fresh cranberries it comes out well with a combination of fresh and dried berries (but the fresh are best, as they give it such a tang). I also once made it with hazelnuts instead of walnuts- very good. To make for a lactose intolerant friend I substituted canola oil for the butter. When fresh cranberries are no longer available, I enjoy this bread year-round with fresh blueberries or frozen cherries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KEM #2 January 21, 2007

Very tasty! I subbed 1/4 c wheat germ for 1/4 c of the flour and used sliced almonds instead of the walnuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish S. November 13, 2007

I made this yesterday and just had my first piece tonight. It is everything that orange cranberry bread should be and with only 2 tablespoons of butter! As an aside, I omitted the nuts- just a personal preference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay December 05, 2006

This is a great recipe. I baked mine in a flute pan and it came out beautiful. It is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryL in Canada November 05, 2009

I was going to post my recipe for cranberry bread until I saw this one- it is the same, except mine has orange zest in it (as another reviewer added). I make it to give away to other teachers at the school where I work. It is always a big hit. My one year old baby LOVES this bread. For him, I make it without nuts since he is not having them yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eesmith5118 November 09, 2008

Shared this bread with co-workers and got two immediate requests for the recipe. It is filled with healthy-for-you stuff and little butter. The tartness of the cranberries adds great flavor. I added a sprinkling of sparkling sugar to the top before baking. Simply sublime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daddy's Girl October 16, 2008

It was very tasty despite the fact that I slightly overcooked it. I omitted the nuts. The prep took me longer than 15 minutes because halving cranberries is not my forte. It was worth the extra time though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatsPoetic January 08, 2008

This was delicious! Smelled wonderful too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilgal November 26, 2007
Holiday Season Cranberry Bread