Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Holiday Potpourri Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Holiday Potpourri

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2002

      Me and my BH loved this stuff. It smells so good and its all natural. I am also going to make this for Thanksgiving and Christams. The aroma of this made you just want to go over and dip you out a cup of it like tea (of course we didn't) but it sure smelled wonderful. I am going to heat it up again tonight when I get home. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that will make any house smell warm and cozy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      Beautiful, natural, aromatic, perfect for the setting in cooler months and easy on the pocket potpourri! This was simmering on my stove this evening, giving out its mesmerising and tantalising aroma, as the sun went down and there were these pink clouds floating across the sky, the naughty zephyr playing with my loose strands of hair, me on the international telephone line talking to my BF - Danny, and the moon rising to her crowning glory- perfectly romantic moment! My heart let out a sigh and I just wished I had Danny(The love of my life) here with me to "smell" this rather than on the telephone... Thank You so much(with all my heart!) for sharing this. This sure radiates all the warmth in your soul across the many miles :) I have plans to use this to make my microwave oven smell fresh as an orange now onwards - I'll just pour this magical creation into an oven-proof bowl, start my oven and let it move in it for a few minutes, "wow"- Now I got to get going to do just that! "Mmmmmmmmmm"! I'll make these for X'mas gifts this year, you're wonderful to share this - a zillion thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I doubled the recipe, started it on the stove and when it warmed up I spooned some into heated fondue pots that I placed all around the house. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2004

      Ohhhh....My. My 2 year old twins and I just made this to welcome their Daddy home after traveling for business for 1 month. Its easy, and smells so good. I can cover and refrigerate, and rejuvinate it tomorrow! Thanks, Diggy, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      I have a mini crockpot and kept it full of this wonderful stuff all season. I also found that when out of oranges apples work nicely and a few juniper berries were a nice addition as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I had some little oranges that were looking a little past eating but I didn't want to waste them. This was perfect! I've added a few other ingrediants as I've experimented several different times. (allspice, nutmeg, ginger, salt) It's as easy as pie and smells just as nice! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      The aroma is pleasant, but predominantly of cloves--almost overpowering. Next time I will use less. Still a very nice potpourri--thanks Miss Diggy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      One of my co-workers gave this gift with everything included in a nice holiday bag and instructions. This little treat was nicer than a christmas card and was the best way to start my holiday season! I use it every year and have now spread the cheer. Its inexpensive and a nice bit of cheer to spread around. Everyone will love it...I promise! Happy Holidays! (and I think this year I will spoon some out when its good and fresh and try a bit)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Last Saturday was one of those chilly and rainy days and this was just the perfect thing to change the mood in the house.Wonderful smell !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      This was just wonderful. I was able to keep the one batch going for a few days on and off. Comfort aroma...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      I heat with wood and always have a kettle on the stove to add a little humidity. I often add a cinnamon stick and cloves, but this combination is really special. I even had 5 year old kids commenting on how nice my house smells, so that, I think is a real compliment!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2002

      This was wonderful. The aroma through the whole house reminded me of Christmas pasts spent with my loved ones. This will forever be a tradition in our household. It took seconds to prepare and all natural ingredients is such a bonus. Forget the packaged stuff. This beats all of them. Many thanks Diggy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Really enjoyed the aroma of this. Put in a pot on the woodstove and made the entire house smell good. I did commit the grave error of leaving it on the stove when I went to bed and forgot to add water. Needless to say had a scrubbing nightmare. ha ha! Will be making again without the scrubbing this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Now here we have a long over due review - my printout has it as April 15 2004! That I still make this one says it all! This is very good at holiday time but use versions of it year around. I do go light on the cloves and come spring add more fruit. I use large crock pots and keep them in several locations in the lower level - makes for a gentle wafting of fragrance that drifts up making for a delightful fresh fragrance that is totally natural. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Too much clove in this recipe for my taste, however i love the concept and will do it again, just a different variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I made this last Christmas and will again today. It is a wonderful way to have a holiday aroma with company. I just keep adding more water until the smell seems too weak. I didn't have a bay leaf this time, so sprinkled in a bit of powdered bay leaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

    • on December 15, 2006

      Great Holiday Scent! I prepared as directed and let it simmer in my little red teapot on the stove! DH laughed and said that smells good enough to drink! I love the aroma! I will definitely "keep this on the back burner"! Thanks Miss Diggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      This gives off such a fabulous aroma. Very Christmas-y and worked perfectly in my small crockpot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      Wonderful pleasant aroma from this recipe. I use this year around. Very simple to make and it's also easy on your budget. I keep the ingredients in this recipe handy usually and when I feel I gotta have a aroma in the house I just assemble it together and put on the stove to simmer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Holiday Potpourri

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.6
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    30%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 67.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 17.2 g
    69%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites