Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Holiday Ham Glaze Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Holiday Ham Glaze

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      DH absolutely loved this glaze. The flavors are strong but not overpowering and it was perfect for the baked ham. I baked a small ham so we halved the recipe and there was plenty left over. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      I tried this recipe with our baked Easter ham and it was delicious. Since we were visiting my in-laws and no rum was available, I substituted orange juice. Also, we had a large ham and I wanted extra sauce to serve with the ham, so I doubled the recipe. Lots of good compliments, and when I was asked how I made it, I told people that it was my Zaar "secret" recipe! Thanks, secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      This has truly a very nice sweet taste prior to putting it on the ham, thanks to the molasses syrup, brown sugar. I did not add the rum! Make sure you WASH or SCRUB the ham before you do anything under cold water, if not your ham will be very salty and ruin the glaze.This also has a very good color along with the taste! You can adjust the amount you use by changing the size of the ham. In my case, I made a small bone in ham, 3 1/3 pound portion. Just put in the weight of your ham and you will not have any waste of the glaze.That way you will not make way to much or too little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Super Ham Glaze, Secret! I used this for our Easter Ham and the combination of flavors proved to be perfect! I didn't have any dark brown sugar so I used light and also used Dijon mustard instead of the spicy. I began glazing 45 minutes before the ham had completed baking and it turned out great! Thank you, Secret for a great recipe that I will be using from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Great flavor. I used this on the Christmas ham and it was loved by everyone. I also used it on a chicken breast for the family member who doesn't like ham and it was really good. I'll be using this on chicken when grilling time rolls around. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This was just what I was looking for in a glaze for my ham! The cider vinegar really adds flavor to the glaze mixed with the other ingredients. I will use this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      AWESOME! That's all I have to say. For YEARS hubby has been telling me he needs "juice" with his ham. I've tried alot of different things, but this is my keeper. We both loved it. I used it for a small ham and used oj instead of rum also. Itleft us "juice" put on the ham (3#)..and drizzle some over the red potatoes. Thank you from the bottom of my cooking heart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Dh and I both really enjoyed this, but we didn't *love* it. Could have been my fault- I used dijon mustard as that's what I had, and rum from the domincan, which might have a different taste. It's yummy, there was just something a tiny bit off about the taste. I'm thinking it was the mustard I used. We're having it with the leftover ham again tonight at dinner:).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      One of the best hams i ever had. Even the kids asked for more. i usually take photos but it was so good i didn't have time. Thank you for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      I LOVED this glaze! The spicy mustard really sets it off nicely. I would have never thought to add cider vinegar but this recipe works. I didn't have any rum so I used some orange marmalade and it was delicious. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Like others, I made some substitutions based on what I had but did make a special trip for the molasses. Definitely worth it - we scraped the bowl. I think it'd be great on any baked or grilled meat. Imagining pork chops...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Fantastic!! I'd have never thought to add vinegar. I did not have rum, so substituted juice from a can of chunked pineapple. Freshly grated cinnamon gave this some real kick! I can think of all kinds of uses for this glaze. Thanks so much for the contribution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Excellent glaze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Very quick and easy. I thought I had everything I needed for this when I started my ham, but it turned out I was out of cider vinegar and had to sub balsamic, and I only had half as much spicy mustard as I needed so had to make up the rest with regular mustard. Still turned out really tasty. I think the only thing that would make it better would be to add the sauce before the ham finishes cooking, so the flavors have a little more time to incorporate. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This was absolutely excellent!! Easy to do, tasty, wow!!! We had been looking for a recipe for a good glaze and I am so glad you posted this! The flavor was so good and the drippings had almost an asian flavor. My whole family loved it! I didn't have dark brown sugar so used light brown and didn't have any rum on hand so left that out. I want to try it again with both of those items. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was OK. I think it depends on what you want in a glaze. For us, it was something to use when you don't know what anyone wants because it wouldn't offend anyone. No strong flavors, not too sweet, etc. But, that also meant it didn't really shine because of the subtlety. So, if that's what you like, this is the glaze for you. I prefer a bit more punch - maybe adding a couple T of apple juice concentrate, a bit of garlic, and a bit more vinegar or mustard would put this into 4 star category for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Perfect glaze for my holiday ham! Everyone raved! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is a delicious ham glaze. I will be using this a lot. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe. The only adjustments I made were adding 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Thank you for a delicious glaze recipe for our Easter ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was a winner!! Used it as a marinade for spiral cut ham from grocery store. Baked 1/2 ham at 350 degrees for 2 hours, worked great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Holiday Ham Glaze

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.3
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    47%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 138.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 15.4 g
    61%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites