9 Reviews

EXCELLENT cake! Love the flavor and the texture! I don't think I've ever made a pudding cake before- pouring all that liquid on the top?! The baked result, with its thick gooey bottom, is wonderful! Serve it warm- if you serve it cold it is just extremely moist cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn November 08, 2012

Awesome cake! I made 1/4 of the recipe in a 6" round pan, and it turned out very good. The one change I made was to use earl grey tea infused with orange zest, instead of water in the cake batter. I think it adds to the complexity of flavors already present in the cake from the spices and molasses. I would strongly suggest serving this slightly warm with either spiced whipped cream or ice cream - it takes this cake to another level. Thanks Ocean~Ivy, for posting this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi February 13, 2007

I literally cannot say enough about this cake! Was a little nervous as there haven't been 100 reviews on it and I was serving for Christmas dinner. (For me this is taking a chance!) But I could not have been happier with the result. We served warm with some ice cream and real whipped cream. Unbelievable. Wish we had room after Christmas dinner for more! This will be a
Christmas tradition, I'm sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 December 26, 2012

I can only guess that in New Zealand Molasses is very different to where this recipe originated from. This was the most horrible disgusting cake I have ever tried to make. The oven and house just stunk of molasses, and, needless to say, that is all I could taste when I risked testing a crumb of this. Did not even bother giving it to my husband for his fishing burley, it went straight into the bin - what a waste of time and ingredients! But, as the other reviews are so good, there must be something wrong with what I have done. I might possibly try again with Golen Syrup or treacle instead of molasses - unless some-one else has a better idea?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smgould August 17, 2009

Great recipe especially for the holidays !I got it from the "Landolakes"recipe site a year back !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheeba.pillai December 10, 2006

This dessert is soooo good! We had this topped with vanilla ice cream. It is too good to save just for the holidays. I will be including this as part of my regular dessert rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard December 10, 2006

Fantastic cake! I love how this cake makes it's own syrup at the bottom. I served it warm but regret that I did not have vanilla ice cream. I will be making this cake again for Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4TheLuvofWine December 06, 2005

I have tried this cake, for I was just getting ready to submit this very recipe! It is truly decadent in all it's spicy-moist and syrup-y glory. Delicious with lemon or caramel sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley Seashell Princess March 08, 2004
Holiday Gingerbread Pudding Cake!