11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a festive look on the table for the holidays. The taste was excellent! Our German guess enjoyed the cranberries. (There are no cranberries in Germany.)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 26, 2001

Wow, after dinner my Mom asked for some of the leftover beans - ha! no leftovers, these disappeared, even the ones not wild about green beans ate these.
So easy, so pretty and so good. I did add a touch more orange zest after draining, was cooking at my Mom's and had forgotten the bacon, beans were still great, can%u2019t wait to try with bacon bits the next time I make this recipe which is a total keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Dayton December 26, 2011

I've made this recipe for the past couple of years, Christmas and Thanksgiving. I use frozen whole green beans and just throw it all in the crockpot and cook it till I need it. The flavors are terrific! Thanks - Derf

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloraandMerriwether March 31, 2009

Enjoyable, easy and festive. I would use half the honey next time and also add the zest (or perhaps more zest) after draining, as most of it ended up washing off through the colander. Like another reviewer, I also used fresh green beans rather than frozen. I used the dried cranberries this time, which worked out fine for me. I added a bit of butter after they were done, which we enjoyed, although they did taste very good without the butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 25, 2008

This recipe was an interesting take on the same old green beans. I loved the colors, this dish is beautiful. I added 3 tbsp of some homemade cranberry sauce to the beans (actually I made Cranberries Grand Marnier, Cranberries Grand Marnier from this site) and that seemed to work better than the dried cranberries, which ended up falling to the bottom of the dish. I also used fresh, steamed beans as opposed to frozen ones. The result was terrific. The salty bacon bits mixed with the sweet cranberries and the orange kick is a much more interesting way to eat green beans than the way I usually prepare them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super-Wife November 06, 2008

This side dish is perfect for the holidays!! Great combination of flavours and oh so pretty!! Used some turkey bacon that I cooked in the microwave before and used dried cranberries. Also used fresh green beans. Thanks Derf! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie December 16, 2007

I made these to have along with our Christmas dinner..quick and easy and pretty to look at too..I used craisins in place of real cranberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 27, 2005

Wonderful combination of flavors and great presentation. This was a big hit at dinner. No flavor was overpowering but all worked well together. I used frozen green beans and only cooked them about 1/2 of the recommended time. They still had a little crunch to them. For the bacon bits, I used 4 pieces of crumbled turkey bacon. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky March 26, 2004

This is a wondeful dish that can be served year round, not just during the holidays. It was very pretty and tasted great too. I used fresh green beans, and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The combination of flavors was excellent. I will definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shiraz March 14, 2004
Holiday Beans With Cranberries