Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hoisin Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hoisin Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2011

      Great and easy, with a good flavor. I used tamari soy sauce, peanut butter, and honey. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Perfect! Due to several allergies, I couldn't use the hoisin we had. This was so easy to tweak for our needs! Used black bean paste (i just opened a can of black beans, drained and pureed) and used a dash of jalepeno sauce. I subbed rice vinegar for white. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      My local asian store was closed by the time I got there tonight and I was in dire need of hoisin to make Char Siu Bao for pork buns. This recipe is extremely close to the real thing. I doubled the recipe and found out halfway through that I was almost out of black bean sauce (go figure!) and had to use half black bean sauce and half peanut butter. It was right on the mark. Thank you thank you for saving my hide tonight!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      I needed this for Mongolian Flank Steak from Cuisine Lite as I couldn't find it in the store. I've made another recipe on here also before and both taste a little differant, I've never had the real thing so can't say which is closest but both are good. I did make a couple of small changes, added a teaspoon of powdered ginger and then heated it all in the microwave for 1 minute - that not only helped to melt, so blend everything together easier but seemed to thicke it just enough to the consistancy I was hoping for. Loved that it made only 1/2 cup as I didn't have a lot left over to store. I used peanut butter and the full amount of siracchi hot sauce and it was perfect, not hot at all. Very nice recipe GW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      This has worked great in a pinch for a couple recipes. Love that one can find anything on this site! This worked great in Mou Shu Chicken Wraps ( Mou Shu Chicken Wraps ) and I always have these ingredients on hand. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Thanks so much for posting this! I was a little shy on hoisin making my ribs tonight and this saved me...tasted just like the hoisin I had and made the just right amount I needed. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I'm impressed! My DH doesn't really care for Asian but my kids loved it so I always had a bottle in the fridge and one in the pantry. They have left home so I found myself with no hoisin, first time in 20 years. I couldn't believe it! I just made this up and it is fantastic. I used black bean sauce, bead molasses and rice wine vinegar. Without the peanut better for sweetness I added 1T brown sugar. It was perfect. Thank you. Can't wait to spring this on my kids when they visit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I don't believe I have ever eatin hoisin sauce but I needed this for a beef stew recipe that is here on food.com I tasted it after it was done and thought is was pretty good (with nothing to campair it to) and did use it in my stew (which was amazing) thanks for having this available for me when I was in need of it and had none!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      Very tasty; good substitute for the commercial sauce. I used black bean paste and honey. I did find that the recipe made only half a cup. I will definitely use this again when I don't have hoisin sauce on hand. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hoisin Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 759.3
     
    Calories from Fat 454
    59%
    Total Fat 50.4 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8754.9 mg
    364%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 43.1 g
    172%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes