Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hoisin Five-Spice Chicken Legs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hoisin Five-Spice Chicken Legs

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2012

      I had a bad feeling the sauce was going to burn at that high temp so I tried it at 450 like another viewer had mentioned, I thought I was safe to go about my housework but 35 min later I checked on it and the sauce was burnt char black. I had to remove the skin from the chicken and my husband still ate it but I felt bad it looked horrendous. I see it has some really good reviews so my fault for not checking when I had a bad feeling, and would just recommend that others check often to avoid the same thing from happening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      This is really good, and with only three ingredients! I removed the skin before cooking for dietary reasons before brushing with the sauce and then cooked the legs for 45 minutes at 400 degrees F. I felt the higher 500 degree temperature would dry out the meat too much. I have two pieces left to take for lunch during the week so can't wait to try it cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I doubled the sauce for 6 whole chicken thigh - leg pcs but found it a bit overpowering on the hoison flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      These are SOOOO good! We had our first winter storm this week and I wanted to cook a few things I thought might be as good cold as they were hot. This recipe came up in review, and I thought it suited the situation of possibly being without electricity. Thank goodness we only lost power for about 3 hours. However, this recipe is great. It's tasty, simple, and makes as good a cold snack as it does a hot entree(especially with seasoned rice). It's a definite keeper even for the summer months. I marinated the legs for 24 hours before baking. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Really enjoyed this,next time I will serve it with rice.I served it with potatoes this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Very easy tasty recipe. I think the 500 deg oven was too high though. I marinated the chicken in the fridge for a few hours with half the sauce, then baked at 500 until everything started burning and dropped it down to 450 and basted with the remaining sauce. Thanks for the recipe Tebo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      This recipe was really very delicious. So suprising especially with so few ingredients! I cooked my chicken a little differently. I marinated the chicken in the sauce, making sure to get it under the skin, and then baked them in the oven about halfway, and then finished the chicken on the grill- mostly because my nephew wanted to grill. I used the leftover marinade to brush over when grilling. My chicken pieces were thick and large so that's why I baked them a bit before grilling to make sure they cooked all the way through without charring. Very nice flavor. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      absolutely loved this & the tip about saving half the sauce for half-way through cooking was spot-on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      Delicious! I cooked this recipe in my roaster oven which worked, but I think for the best result this should be cooked in a regular oven. The small space of the roaster oven created too much steam. Still, the recipe was delicous and so darn easy to pepare. This is a recipe that can be mixed and matched with many side dish possibilities. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Mmmmm finger lickin' good!!!!We enjoyed these very much for dinner tonight, love the hoisin, love the 5 spice!! Thanks for posting, we will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      I love these chicken legs. I sometimes leave out the 5 spice powder as we are not too keen on it. I leave them to marinate for at least 5 hours and then grill them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      We used drumsticks and thought they were really good. I worried that the sauce would burn in that amount of time so I used half the sauce and flipped them halfway through then used the rest of the sauce. They were perfect and just at the point where any longer they would have burned so I would recommend that to anyone who thinks their oven will be too warm. I will spray the foil next time because they wanted to stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      Good and different way to make chicken. I used thighs and I think it needs a longer cooking time to be completely cooked, but then again it could be just my tempermental oven that was off. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hoisin Five-Spice Chicken Legs

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.8
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    32%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 90.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 603.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites