13 Reviews

I had a bad feeling the sauce was going to burn at that high temp so I tried it at 450 like another viewer had mentioned, I thought I was safe to go about my housework but 35 min later I checked on it and the sauce was burnt char black. I had to remove the skin from the chicken and my husband still ate it but I felt bad it looked horrendous. I see it has some really good reviews so my fault for not checking when I had a bad feeling, and would just recommend that others check often to avoid the same thing from happening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. February 16, 2012

This is really good, and with only three ingredients! I removed the skin before cooking for dietary reasons before brushing with the sauce and then cooked the legs for 45 minutes at 400 degrees F. I felt the higher 500 degree temperature would dry out the meat too much. I have two pieces left to take for lunch during the week so can't wait to try it cold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard January 29, 2011

I doubled the sauce for 6 whole chicken thigh - leg pcs but found it a bit overpowering on the hoison flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay June 29, 2008

These are SOOOO good! We had our first winter storm this week and I wanted to cook a few things I thought might be as good cold as they were hot. This recipe came up in review, and I thought it suited the situation of possibly being without electricity. Thank goodness we only lost power for about 3 hours. However, this recipe is great. It's tasty, simple, and makes as good a cold snack as it does a hot entree(especially with seasoned rice). It's a definite keeper even for the summer months. I marinated the legs for 24 hours before baking. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP January 05, 2008

Really enjoyed this,next time I will serve it with rice.I served it with potatoes this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie December 06, 2007

Very easy tasty recipe. I think the 500 deg oven was too high though. I marinated the chicken in the fridge for a few hours with half the sauce, then baked at 500 until everything started burning and dropped it down to 450 and basted with the remaining sauce. Thanks for the recipe Tebo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill June 09, 2007

This recipe was really very delicious. So suprising especially with so few ingredients! I cooked my chicken a little differently. I marinated the chicken in the sauce, making sure to get it under the skin, and then baked them in the oven about halfway, and then finished the chicken on the grill- mostly because my nephew wanted to grill. I used the leftover marinade to brush over when grilling. My chicken pieces were thick and large so that's why I baked them a bit before grilling to make sure they cooked all the way through without charring. Very nice flavor. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinatheBrat August 29, 2006

absolutely loved this & the tip about saving half the sauce for half-way through cooking was spot-on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoe B-N June 12, 2006

Delicious! I cooked this recipe in my roaster oven which worked, but I think for the best result this should be cooked in a regular oven. The small space of the roaster oven created too much steam. Still, the recipe was delicous and so darn easy to pepare. This is a recipe that can be mixed and matched with many side dish possibilities. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ April 21, 2006

Mmmmm finger lickin' good!!!!We enjoyed these very much for dinner tonight, love the hoisin, love the 5 spice!! Thanks for posting, we will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 13, 2005
Hoisin Five-Spice Chicken Legs