9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think this makes a delicious side to almost any meal. These hoecakes were easy to whip up and cook on the griddle. They were light and delicious. I ate some with just butter and some with honey...both were yummy! The green onion was a nice touch. I think they would be really good with some green chiles also. Thanks for another great recipe, PaulaG. Made for Best of 2010 Cookbooks Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 February 18, 2011

These tasted delicious. However, I had some difficulty flipping them because they were so fragile. I finally switched from my cast iron skillet to a nonstick pan, with better results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc July 20, 2012

Delicious! We loved how it got a nice crispy outside, with a good flavor, and a light texture. I drizzled ours with honey just before serving. It made a great brunch with South Beach Diet Sausage Veggie Breakfast Muffins. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 25, 2010

Another tasty treat from Paula. Wow, were these good. I had never tried them before, so wasn't sure what to expect. A lovely light tasting pancake with an awesome flavor. These were incredible served plain with Chicken Semur and steamed rice. They really were excellent, they sopped up the tasty gravy beautifully, even my picky dh had two. Into my keeper box this goes, can't wait to try it with BBQ chicken and crispy pork. Thank you so much for sharing. Made for Pac 2010 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 19, 2010

Had along with fried chicken and we woofed them down in no time! We put butter on ours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherylsprague68 May 15, 2008

What a fun recipe! I served them with sticky fingers and a tomato salad. We weren't quite sure how to serve them, so I topped mine with sour cream and more green onion, and for hubby I served drizzled with a bit of molasses instead. The best thing about this recipe is that you can serve a "bread" side with dinner that's made from scratch and is super quick. Thanks for posting Paula, made for PAC. Please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup April 28, 2008

Outstanding. I was non traditional and served them with sour cream (low fat) lol easy and delicious, a great lunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba February 02, 2008

So good and easy the only thing I thought was missing was some cheese. Maybe next time I'll add some. Served with chilli. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally December 10, 2007

These are outstanding! We just loved them - great flavor and easy to make! I did serve them with chicken, just not barbecue, but they were delicious. No leftovers! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 November 10, 2007
Hoecakes