28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Boy do you have a winner of a side dish recipe here! We loved the flavors and the texture of the finished potatoes. I used baby white potatoes and my clay baker in the oven. These are perfect and with the small potatoes (still cut in half) they were finished in just under an hour. I think next time I'll reduce the butter just a bit but that is because of the clay baker. Wonderful side that I served with Chicken With Apricot-Ginger Sauce tonight. Thanks for sharing. Made for Potluck Tag.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 24, 2010

Paula Deen eat your heart out!!! WOW!!! pretty much sums up these buttery delicious potatoes. Going to break a tradition this year and serve a double batch of these potatoes for Easter dinner instead of mashed potatoes and gravy. Thanks for posting this recipe Debby...it's a definite keeper. You and George make a smashing team ;) Made and reviewed for Spring PAC 2010

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 31, 2010

I'd rather give advice about love, but today I'm advertising myself as an expert on potatoes. Couldn't get any easier, tastier or prettier. Any other advice needed, the doctor is in. Made for Potluck Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 08, 2010

These are GREAT!!!! I absolutely loved them....they are exactly as all of the reviews said they would be. I'm so glad that I tried it, as we will definitely be having these again. The skins weren't as crispy as I had hoped they would be, but I'm sure it's my fault because I had to use russet potatoes. I can't wait to try them as written. Made for Potluck Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2SpiceItUp August 11, 2009

Used Idaho potatoes and they turned out really good, crispy and with wonderful flavors. This recipe was posted in 2011 Cookbook of Favorites. Recommended by LifeIsGood. I agree. A definite repeat recipe. Thanks~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB February 15, 2011

How easy is that?! Your husband gets a gold star. These make for delicious potatoes. I loveeeeee the cripsy outsides. Next time, I will check and flip the potatoes after about 50 min. to an hour. I used a dairy-free butter (Earth Balance) this time because we are trying to go dairy-free for a while. I can imagine that the potatoes would be even more decadent with real butter. I might think about lessening the amt. of butter next time. This may be my new favorite way to have potatoes. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 14, 2011

These are as good as it gets--crisp on the outside, rich and creamy on the inside. The seasonings were perfect. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl February 04, 2011

Delicious recipe! I enjoyed this very much. Made for Vegetarian swap-Jan. 2011

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 30, 2011

We loved these potatoes!!! This is the way my dad bakes them and is his speciality.And one of the few things he knows to cook.Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 25, 2010

These potatoes are excellent Acadia. We loved them, my dh already asked for them again. These spuds are crisp and crunchy on the outside while staying tender and light on the inside. The basil and rosemary were a wonderful addition to the potatoes. Thanks for sharing a recipe that I will make again and again . Made for the Comfort Cafe's Coffee Diva.../09 :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 11, 2009
Hockey Puck Potatoes