Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hoagie Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hoagie Rolls

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2010

      No doubt, these hoagie rolls are the real thing. Made them the 1st time today, turned out fantastic. Even my daughter liked them! If yours came out to dense or to small, I suggest on the following: Don't skimp on the yeast, the proofing really helps later with the rise since we use the oil. Really thorough kneading helps as well. Make sure you dough is easy to knead, if not add warm water. Let it rise, let it rise....cover with lid (yeast does not like draft from the A/C) in a warm place 80 F until at least double or more of the original volume. I took the 18 count recipe, halved the ingredients and made only 8 rolls of it instead of nine (easier to divide) and rolled them out to about candy bar size "logs". Let it rise again, 80 F, no draft, until more than double the size 30-40 min - then in pre-heated oven. Giving the rise enough time, temperature and no drafty air is really the key. LOVE THEM ...will be a staple, for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      This is going to be my go-to sub sandwich roll recipe from now on! I did it the lazy way though using my bread machine to do a dough cycle. I halved the recipe and used 4 1/2 cups AP flour with 2 TB olive oil since that's the only oil I had on hand, but loved the taste so I'll make it with olive oil again definitely. After the dough cycle finished, I did the thing with slitting the tops and letting them rise on the pan for another 20 minutes covered in paper towels. (I'm ghetto.) I also wanted a little variation, so I put sesame seeds on one roll, poppy seeds on another, and garlic granules on another...you can put nearly anything on the tops for variety really. I baked them for 15 minutes at 400F, perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This is my favorite bread recipe! I usually make 16 rolls (it's just easier to divide). If you place them far enough apart on the cookie sheet, they will get a nice crust. If you put them on with sides barely touching, you get rolls that are softer. I bake these into hoagie rolls for hubby's fav French Dip or I make dinner rolls with the dough and bake in a lasagna pan. To make the bread more flavorful, I double the oil and steep herbs or garlic in it while I'm proofing the yeast. Add flour until the dough is no longer sticky, but still really pliable. If you over knead, you WILL get tough bread! Thanks for a great basic recipe, Hansen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Great recipes. I scaled the recipe to 10 rolls and followed recipe using King Arthur unbleached bread flour. I added a few shakes of garlic/herb/cheese mixture and put the whole batch into bread machine. It did not need all of the water (again, using the scaled amount)- just enough to let mass of dough in bread machine come together in a cohesive, slightly moist mass that forms a ball around the bread machine paddle. It rose beautifully and was a terrific base for meatball sandwiches. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      These rolls are so good! I divided the recipe in half and made the dough in my bread machine. I sprinkled the tops with garlic salt before I baked them. They came out perfectly crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. I'm making roast pork sandwiches with au jus. I can't wait to dip them in the sauce! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Went exactly by the recipe except made 16 rolls. Weighted out 8 cups of flour (1,000g) and incorporated into the dough and used another 1/2 cup while kneading the dough. 110° water in the amount called for was used. The rolls were baked in 2 ovens. One oven took 16 minutes and the other took 19 minutes so check your rolls as you cook them. The rolls turned out great - light and fluffy on the inside and crusty on the outside. They were used for grilled bratwurst and homemade sauerkraut sandwiches with Dijon mustard. I will definitely make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Love these rolls! This recipe is so easy. I made it without any changes the first time and they were great. Since then I've tweaked it with my usual bread recipe changes (a little potato flour, a little vital wheat gluten), but that's just to put my own spin on it. These rolls are my favorite for sandwiches, especially Italian beef. For anyone who has trouble making bread I cannot recommend highly enough to weigh your flour and not to use measuring cups (125 grams or 4.41 oz of flour per cup).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      These are delicious! I sprinkled some parmesan cheese and garlic powder on top before baking. I decided to make sausage and peppers for dinner and had no rolls, and I remembered that I had this recipe saved. Nothing is better than fresh bread! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Easy to make, excellent texture and flavor despite my using old yeast packets%u2026 creating smaller, denser, flatter rolls than I was hoping for%u2026didn%u2019t want to waste, and since my Husband loved them regardless, I will definitely use this recipe again (with the good yeast!). Love these rolls!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Delish and easy! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      These were very good, and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      Cooked these last night and was confused on the "fold over" part but let the does rise again for another 30 min. Punched it down and created the rolls and let it rise the 20 min as in the recipe and the family scarfed them down. I originally made them for leftover turkey sandwiches but they all put varied things into them and loved them. Excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I've made these a few times, but something is lacking..something very minor. Maybe I will add sesame or perhaps some garlic powder (?). I will keep trying, because this recipe is worth keeping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I made these with my bread machine on the dough cycle, did half all purpose and half wheat flour, and cut the recipe down to 4 rolls. I'm new to making bread but I thought these were very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2014

      I used the bread machine on "dough" cycle to mix, knead and complete 1st rise. Halved the recipe for just the two of us and subbed Bob's stone ground whole wheat flour for half of the AP flour. I live at higher altitude, so I've only recently gained any confidence with baking breads - these hoagie rolls turned out great! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I love that I can bake delicious hoagie rolls and save money by not having to buy expensive baked goods at the grocery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2014

      Oh my goodness. I have to tell you that I was nervous upon mixing as it was still so sticky when I removed it from the dough hook. I needed another 1/2 cup into the dough, but was still very sticky. This makes an enormous amount of bread. I have tried recipe after recipe and had been continually disappointed, but this one is amazing. I made 8 hoagie buns, a dozen dinner rolls and 6 hamburger buns. They are all delicious, but the dinner rolls are amazingly light and fluffy!! I will forever use this recipe. I also put water in the bottom of the oven but think the key is the longer you let them proof the second time is key. Love love love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      I made half this recipe with minor changes. I used 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup water, making 4 sub or hoagie rolls, adapted this recipe to a no knead method, mixing one day, baking the next with no kneading. Photo being approved, to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      These are extraordinary! Just what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      Excellent! Very light and so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      Bread perfection, even though they didn't come out quite the right shape. When my wife was asked what would go good on these delicious rolls, she responded, "Another one!"<br/><br/>Will definitely make again, probably in the next week since they're already being wolfed down by my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hoagie Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.9
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    13%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 390.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes