Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ho Ho Cake or Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ho Ho Cake or Bars

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2005

      was wonderful, made it for a funeral potluck and there were only crumbs left. Thank you for the great recipe. Had a hard time getting the filling to pull together, but found if you beat for 10 min and let it rest for about 5 min. and beat again that you have better luck with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I prefer the bar version made in the jelly roll pan, but the timing needs to be adjusted to 17 minute bake time. The cake mix could also be divided into two 9X13 pans and then double the filling and icing to make two pans. Also, the only way to frost these is with homemade frosting as follows. Melt 3 oz choc with 3 T butter, then mix in 3 c powdered sugar w/1 tsp vanilla. It will be very crumbly. Then mix in about 6 T boiling water until it reaches a pouring consistancy. Pour over top and refridgerate.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      My sister-in-law makes this all the time. She lives in another town, and I was really hungry for this, so I searched here on the Zaar and found this one that is most like hers. I thought it was great. I like the frosting idea on this one as compared to the other recipes that call for melting chocolate chips, margarine and adding raw egg. The raw egg kinda bothered me. This is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I have never given a 1 star before but this was horrible. No one in my family would even finish their first piece. I had to throw it away. Im sorry but I will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      Excellent recipe! Tastes just like a "Ho Ho". I made it for my husband's birthday. the whole family raved and my mother requested that I make it for her birthday. Thanks for the recipe-fun way make chocolate cake a little more interesting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

    • on August 25, 2004

      My family loved this cake!!! Tastes just like Ho Ho's and soooo easy to make! I took the cake out of the pan, sliced it in half and put the filling on the bottom half, put the top layer of cake back on and topped it with the icing. Very very good! Thanks, this is our new favorite cake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      This recipe is a favorite wherever I take it! Kids and kids at heart will love this easy chocolate treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      This cake is really tasty and I've enjoyed serving it to little kids at my home in Muscat, Oman. Always makes them happy and ask for more:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ho Ho Cake or Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.6
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    58%
    Total Fat 43.3 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 56.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 566.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.0 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 49.6 g
    198%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes