Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ho Ho Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ho Ho Cake

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2002

      YUMMY!!!! I love the filling in this. And I think that by making 4 layers you get more of the flavor of the cake the way it's supposed to be. It was easy to make. Try this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      i love making a version of this in a jelly roll pan. I divide up the cake in quarters. i then spread the cream filling in between three layers. Top it off with the final quarter, and frost. I have also, tried this using orange and banana cakes. They were wonderful. Everyone at work and home raves about the cake. Thank-you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This was a great recipe. I usually make cakes from scratch, but this one probably needs a cake mix as they're a bit firmer than a moist scratch cake. I did like another reviewer and made it in a jelly roll pan. It was a cinch to cut it in 4 and frost the different layers. I used Fudge Frosting and HIGHLY recommend that with this recipe. It tasted just like a ho-ho. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This cake is excellentas is and my family loved it. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I made the cake last week, but I used the 'Betty Crocker Whipped frosting'---"Whipped Cream" flavored frosting in a container for the filling. It was absolutely fantastic and tasted just like the filling in the recipe. Also saved me alot of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      (Nov. 15, 2007)I didn't realize that I hadn't rated this. I used dark chocolate cake mix and dark chocolate icing. I nuked the icing to pour it over the cake. I didn't need all of the icing so next time I'll take some out first. I made it in July for a family members birthday. I had two more birthdays in August and they both wanted this cake. This was seriously good and seriously chocolaty. I have a feeling this will be the birthday cake of choice for many years. Thank you for a family favorite. (added) This is the cake to make when you forget you mil's birthday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      I went with the suggestion of betty erickson and made a 4 layer cake which reduced the baking time to 15-20 minutes and made for a very tall cake. I also liked the suggestion of Rachie P & would substitute fresh brewed coffee to bring up the chocolate flavor in the cake next time. The recipe directions were on point and the filling turned out great, kids & DH loved their Valentine's Day cake. I used the Fudge Frosting recipe and if/when I make this again, I would make a ganache over the entire finished cake for a nicer presentation. I really don't care for store bought frosting and heeded the "regret" of other reviewers in having done so. Thanks for sharing, these would make nice cupcakes with the filling piped in too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      I made this for my sisters birthday. Very delicious! I made it in a 10X15 and divided it into four layers for a layer cake like some others suggested. It worked great. I needed two cans of frosting though. If I had more time I would have made homemade frosting. Either way the cake was enjoyed by all! I had made a similar Ho Ho cake recipe years ago but the filling in this one was much better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      This is a delicious cake. My husband was wary... we consider ho-hos to be fairly mediocre. After trying one of these he declared it to be dangerous and claimed I was trying to kill him w/ tasty baked goods. The only change I made was to use butter flavored shortening cause 1) it's what I have on hand and 2) I think ho-ho filling is kind of bland and could use the help of buttery goodness. I lied, I also made them into little cupcake layer cakes instead of one large cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This was good - not earthshatteringly good, but pretty good. Maybe because hohos are not my favorite hostess treat. I added about 3/4 cup of marshmallow fluff to the goo because that's the main ingredient in the copycat Hostess cupcake recipe I have. I also added some more salt to the filling because of reviews that said it was tasteless. Otherwise made it according to directions. Kids liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This cake knocked it out of the park! I had my doubts as I was making the filling. When you first start mixing the ingredients together, it looks like a lumpy mess. The shortening and liquid is totally separated, but the longer you mix it, the creamier it becomes. The cake tastes just like a Ho-Ho.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Aaaaahhhh OMG I am obsessed with this recipe now!! I made a big mistake and made this for a coworker's birthday while I was on a diet :( Oh well, it was worth it! I actually made cupcakes and piped the filling into them like a hostess cupcake. Heaven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      really good filling, great way to dress up a cake mix, 4 layers are ideal as it make sit really moist, made day before is even better :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This is a good recipe; my only complaint about it was my own fault - I used a can of frosting as specified in the directions and truly regretted it. Otherwise, the cream filling was really tasty. The only deviation from the recipe was that I used fresh brewed coffee in the cake in lieu of the water (brings out the chocolate flavor). I used unwaxed dental floss to slice my cakes in half - worked like a charm. I will try this again since it turned out so pretty, but will frost it with a chocolate buttercream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I made this cake on January 27, 2010 for National Chocolate Cake Day! I used Dark Chocolate Cake for the cake and Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing for the frosting. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      hey everyone, i have 6 teenage boys and they love this.. I took it to work the other day just to be nice . All 100 plus gal wants the recipe . i have changed some stuff like one time I skip layer and put home made raspberry jam with the cake omg it was great. This is a hit every where i go . I have to bring this cake . Thank you so much for this great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      I made this for Xmas last year. I forget to rate it. I was very good, The kids loved it. I f you have trouble with the icing being grainy just keep beating it with a mixer you will get the consistency you want. Will definately make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      This cake taste great. My family loved it. I used another receipe last time but this one was much better. The key is to use a electric mixer not a hand mixer and mix the filling for the amount of time specified. I agree that it is very hard to cut the cake but I like the way it looks when it's round vs square.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      The cake was AWESOME!!! The filling on the other hand for me was a big grainy mess. I actually melted the shortening, sugar and milk in a saucepan, let it cool then added the rest of the ingredients listed. This definitely helped with the grainy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I made this today, doubled the filling and put a couple globs of fluff in it. Took it to a family dinner, everyone loved it, and most had seconds, definately will be making this again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I made this for DD's birthday cake. It was so good. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ho Ho Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 433.4
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    53%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 47.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 426.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 34.7 g
    138%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dark chocolate icing

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites