Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hill Country Peach Custard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hill Country Peach Custard Pie

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2009

      Very good. I made this for a family dinner and everyone really enjoyed it. My BF's father said that he had some the next day for breakfast and that he liked it even better chilled. I did use heavy cream instead of milk to give it more of a custard consistency. Also, I added 1 tsp. of vanilla as others suggested, however next time I would leave that out because I think it gave it a little too much sweetness. Delicious easy recipe, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Nothing real fancy about this homely little dish, but we will be adding it to our permanent repertoire. An extremely easy to make dish. I switched the quantities of sugar and milk...used one cup of milk and 1/3 cup sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. We subbed a large can of drained mixed fruit cocktail (didn't have any fresh peaches) and added a little vanilla (just because).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      Miss Annie thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's easy to make and varies really well. I didn't have any peaches so I substituted with raspberries, blackberries, blueberries & strawberries. I also added a pinch of nutmeg and cardamon. It was was so good tart & sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2004

      This was so cool! I'd never had a pie like this before. I used canned peaches because it's not peach season here and it was so tasty. I can't wait for the fresh ones to try this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This was a fantastic tasting pie. It was so simple to make. Thanks for posting this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I'm not a custard fan, but my inlaws are German and they all loved it and had seconds. I added some vanilla and 2 T of cornstarch as I really like my pies to set up well. I subbed almond milk for the dairy. I only used 3 cups of peaches since I didn't have a deep-dish pie pan. As it was, it filled up the pie pan perfectly so more peaches would have overflowed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This pie was pretty yummy. I found that I needed to cook it a lot longer than it said to get it to cook through. It may partially be my fault because I kept checking to make sure that my crust wasn't over-browning, and once it got pretty dark, I covered the pie loosely with foil. It was okay warm, but I liked it much better the next day after it had chilled in the fridge. I used canned peaches and it was just fine...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This is VERY good. I used 2/3 cup milk, 1 tablespoon of cornstarch & 1 teaspoon of vanilla because I wanted it to be more custard. We will be making it again!Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      This was very good. I used a graham cracker crust, 4 eggs and a splash of cream and vanilla. DH wasn't that crazy about it, but my nephew and I really liked it. I had too much filling for my pie pan, so I baked it separately and liked it more than I did with the crust. This is so different - a nice change for those of us who love custard. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      I love this recipe because it is so easy and it tastes awesome. Last time I made it I used 4 fresh peaches, 4 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, and 1/2 cup of blackberries. Sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Wow this one is easy. Good pie, but, I think it may need a top crust since the custard inside of mine all bubbled over and I lost so much to my oven pan. Also, I used more peaches than called for (since so many fruit recipe's allows for this) and I think that may have contributed to the problem. It tasted wonderful though and want to try it again with my few variations. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      I have made this pie twice now using canned peaches. My husband's new favorite dessert. We like it with a 16oz. can. I also use baking splenda in place of the sugar. I'm glad that I tried this recipe, thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Easy, quick, good, inexpensive. I made this with apricots, but I think just about any fruit could be used. I can't wait til peach season to try it with fresh peaches. Canned fruit worked very well though, and I wouldn't hesitate to use it. Thanks for a good, simple one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      Thought this was a very good pie. I used canned, drained peaches since they are not in season right now and 1 tsp. of vanills. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      I'd never had a fruit/custard pie before, so I didn't know what to expect from this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised with the results. Made as directed, using fresh peaches spritzed with a little lemon juice to keep them from getting icky. The custard and the peach flavors really went very well together, and this was so simple to make. I will definitely have this one again. Wonder how it would taste with mango? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hill Country Peach Custard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2093.0
     
    Calories from Fat 567
    27%
    Total Fat 63.0 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 20.9 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 569.3 mg
    189%
    Sodium 973.9 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 357.5 g
    119%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 264.8 g
    1059%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites