9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Okay, so here's how it went down: I made something else with zucchini earlier in the week, so I bought extra zucchini to make this. I was grating to make 2 cups....and grating....and grating....(2 cups is only about 2 medium-ish store-bought zucchinis). Two extra cups of zucchini later, I decided I had to double the recipe, which is not too bad, because you can freeze it, give it to friends, play "hide the zucchini bread around the house"... (just kidding on that last one). Anyway, I doubled the recipe, used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of one of the cups of oil, and omitted the nuts and frozen OJ (nuts - family preference, OJ - didn't have any). This bread is SUPER good! My 9x5 loaves took 55 minutes to bake, and I got three 9x5 loaves and one smaller one (I think the pan is some crazy size, like 7 1/4 x 3 1/2). The smaller one took only about 40 minutes. Oh - I sprayed all my pans (which are all nonstick) with PAM, but the bottoms of the breads all stuck anyway (Murphy's law), so I recommend using that spray with flour in it maybe, or lining them with parchment and spraying that, maybe. Otherwise, I will totally use this recipe again. Two cups is only TWO ZUCCHINIS. ;) I'm trying your H.A. banana bread next. Made for the Newest Zaar tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 July 05, 2010

This is a great recipe. I did figure out how to cut some fat and sugar without sacrificing any flavor. Below are the changes I made.<br/>Oil- instead of 1 cup of oil I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup nonfat Greek Yogurt.<br/>Eggs - instead of 3 eggs I used 2 eggs and 2 egg whites<br/>Sugar - instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda<br/><br/>I also sprayed the pan with some Pam and then coated the bottom with a light dusting of Splenda and Cinnamon. The bread came out easily and my family loved it!<br/><br/>Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim.barrett_12497394 October 06, 2014

At almost 9,000' this recipe rocked! My only mistake was being in such a hurry to try it, I didn't wait till it was cool to try to take one out of the pan. The one I was patient with, turned out perfectly! I did add a lot more cinnamon, nutmeg, & allspice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia R. September 04, 2013

I'm not a baker but I have lots of zucchini in the garden and I found this recipe today and went for it. I don't like super sweet so I only did 1.25 cups of sugar and I used half white flour and half wheat flour and I also used half olive oil and half apple sauce and omitted the OJ. I followed the directions and baked it for 45 minutes. It is unbelievably moist and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cokerrygal August 16, 2013

I highly recommend this recipe. I made it twice and both adults and children loved it. I am a 25 year old male who knows little about baking. I am in Denver and the bread baked perfectly. The first batch I felt was too oily and overly sweet, so the second time I cut the oil and sugar down (no more than half) and it was still good; not too crumbly.

I added chocolate chips, and I recommend you use the orange juice concentrate to give it a little zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gemini787 October 07, 2012

I highly recommend this recipe. I made it twice and both adults and children loved it. I am a 25 year old male who knows little about baking. I am in Denver and the bread baked perfectly. The first batch I felt was too oily and overly sweet, so the second time I cut the oil and sugar down (no more than half) and it was still good; not too crumbly.

I added chocolate chips, and I recommend you use the orange juice concentrate to give it a little zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlurie.7 October 07, 2012

Great zucchini bread. I didn't have orange juice con. so used orange oil. Definitely could taste the orange flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 02, 2011

As a low lander Thanks! It seems everything I bake turns out dry. I used your recipe with some adaptions. Less oil and sugar, added applesauce, cloves, ginger, and black pepper. Very good, and still very soft and moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lowlander August 27, 2011

At this time of year, we all have more than enough zucchini. I tried three recipes and this was by far the best. I like that it has been adjusted for high altitude, I hate doing the math). I am at 7500 ft. I threw in a little extra flour.
In order to save time and effort I used the food processor to grate and baked the three loaves one at a time in the bread maker on quick bread setting. The only other change I did, because I had no orange juice and it would have been a waste to buy it. I tossed in a little orange peel (the kind you buy) and did not add any other liquid. It was awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karilong1_8892536 September 04, 2010
High-Altitude Zucchini Bread