14 Reviews

Okay, so here's how it went down: I made something else with zucchini earlier in the week, so I bought extra zucchini to make this. I was grating to make 2 cups....and grating....and grating....(2 cups is only about 2 medium-ish store-bought zucchinis). Two extra cups of zucchini later, I decided I had to double the recipe, which is not too bad, because you can freeze it, give it to friends, play "hide the zucchini bread around the house"... (just kidding on that last one). Anyway, I doubled the recipe, used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of one of the cups of oil, and omitted the nuts and frozen OJ (nuts - family preference, OJ - didn't have any). This bread is SUPER good! My 9x5 loaves took 55 minutes to bake, and I got three 9x5 loaves and one smaller one (I think the pan is some crazy size, like 7 1/4 x 3 1/2). The smaller one took only about 40 minutes. Oh - I sprayed all my pans (which are all nonstick) with PAM, but the bottoms of the breads all stuck anyway (Murphy's law), so I recommend using that spray with flour in it maybe, or lining them with parchment and spraying that, maybe. Otherwise, I will totally use this recipe again. Two cups is only TWO ZUCCHINIS. ;) I'm trying your H.A. banana bread next. Made for the Newest Zaar tag game.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 July 05, 2010

I'm not a baker but I have lots of zucchini in the garden and I found this recipe today and went for it. I don't like super sweet so I only did 1.25 cups of sugar and I used half white flour and half wheat flour and I also used half olive oil and half apple sauce and omitted the OJ. I followed the directions and baked it for 45 minutes. It is unbelievably moist and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cokerrygal August 16, 2013

I've made this twice so far. It has come out awesome both times. I am not a very precise measurer and even still the bread has come out perfect. I omit the optional orange juice and did not add nuts. Both times I have taken the extra step of squeezing out most of the liquid from the zucchini. Not sure if this is necessary but the bread has come out great so I'll keep doing it. This last time I used this recipe, I took the bread out 2 mins prior to being done and spread a small amount of butter on top. SO GOOD.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbdupont14 May 21, 2016

I was very disappointed in this recipe. It was very dry and flavorless...I have lived in Co for 4 years now trying many recipes online and have yet to find one as good as I can bake at sea level. Bummer....Still looking for my beloved Zucchini bread that is dark and moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonniespiker March 26, 2016

I've been baking zucchini bread since I was a kid. I used my moms recipe until one day I lost it. I tried hundtrds of zucchini bread recipes and none have turned out. I am 37 years old and have been trying to make a decent zucchini bread since I was in my Teens I have finally found one that is much more than decent! I love it! It has great flavor. It turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April S. September 13, 2015

This recipe works so good in Colorado!! I didn't change a thing except for add a cup of chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dkmtmom September 07, 2015

Does tjis work for high altitude like in Colorado?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marthadominguez300 August 17, 2015

This is a great recipe. I did figure out how to cut some fat and sugar without sacrificing any flavor. Below are the changes I made.<br/>Oil- instead of 1 cup of oil I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup nonfat Greek Yogurt.<br/>Eggs - instead of 3 eggs I used 2 eggs and 2 egg whites<br/>Sugar - instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda<br/><br/>I also sprayed the pan with some Pam and then coated the bottom with a light dusting of Splenda and Cinnamon. The bread came out easily and my family loved it!<br/><br/>Thank you for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim.barrett_12497394 October 06, 2014

At almost 9,000' this recipe rocked! My only mistake was being in such a hurry to try it, I didn't wait till it was cool to try to take one out of the pan. The one I was patient with, turned out perfectly! I did add a lot more cinnamon, nutmeg, & allspice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia R. September 04, 2013

I highly recommend this recipe. I made it twice and both adults and children loved it. I am a 25 year old male who knows little about baking. I am in Denver and the bread baked perfectly. The first batch I felt was too oily and overly sweet, so the second time I cut the oil and sugar down (no more than half) and it was still good; not too crumbly.

I added chocolate chips, and I recommend you use the orange juice concentrate to give it a little zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gemini787 October 07, 2012
High-Altitude Zucchini Bread