33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DELICIOUS!!! Baking at altitude can be frustrating but this bread turned out perfect. We absolutely LOVED it. My mods - added 1/2 c. choco chips and a tiny splash of vanilla. Also, cooked a little longer than instructed. Anyone that has struggled with baking at high altitude MUST give this recipe a try... it's AWESOME =)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food bee April 08, 2011

Amazing High Altitude mix! I moved from low altitude to Vail, CO (8000ish) and NONE of the recipes worked! This is an all around favorite! Everyone asks for double chocolate chips (I use minis) and I sprinkle the nuts on top, so that even those who don't want to eat the nuts can enjoy it. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eamidon February 11, 2011

It was perfect! We live in CO, and this banana bread recipe was fluffy and moist...not too rich, not too blah. Almost, almost as good as my Grandma's...but it is Grandma, and she is unique ;-) (I tried to replicate her recipe, and it turned out hard as a stone!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Airforcewife14 January 16, 2011

Very good banana bread! Just moved to Utah from Oregon, so big elevation change. Glad to find good recipe that works up here! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goducks! August 23, 2010

This is a very nice recipe. I almost always have leftover bananas. For some crazy reason, buying 5,382 bananas always SEEMS like a good idea at the time, doesn't it? I doubled the recipe, using 5 medium-size bananas, but then I realized I didn't have enough sugar for that (I didn't actually have enough for ONE recipe), so I used Splenda to make up for the rest of the white sugar, and brown sugar (unpacked) for the other 2/3 cup. I did use the cinnamon as well. Oh, I also used half a cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of part of the butter when doubling the recipe, too. I actually melted the 4 Tablespoons of butter before I mixed it in, because I find that when I just soften it (even if it's SUPER soft), it has butter chunks in the batter, and I'm not a fan of that, really. SO... otherwise, everything else: instructions, baking temperature, and baking time were right on. Sorry I messed with it kinda, but I love trying different banana bread recipes, and I'm glad I tried this one, thanks! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 July 07, 2010

This bread has a very great taste. I used 3 small bananas. I used only 1/3 cup sugar. And I used the cinnamon. After 50 minutes in the oven, the bread was cooked through. I let it in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes and then removed it. And the smell when cooking was amazing. Thanks The Wallaces :) Made for Holiday tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 08, 2010

I live in Colorado at 9000 feet. I tried this for the first time today. I added chocolate chips and pecans, to the recipe. The recipe is PERFECT! The recipe is so nice and moist, and delicious. Worked perfectly for me up here, as it was written. I would give this 5 of 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowboyocala April 08, 2015

I live in colorado so wanted to try this recipe.....turned out wonderful....so tasty, I added choc chips and walnuts....hubby loved it.....this recipe is a KEEPER....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tami L. January 09, 2015

This was a first time I have ever made banana bread. It turned out great. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KayteAnen M. October 19, 2014

Thanks so much for this great recipe. Makes moist, delicious banana bread at 5280.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe J. August 27, 2014
High-Altitude Banana Bread