Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / High-Altitude Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    High-Altitude Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2011

      DELICIOUS!!! Baking at altitude can be frustrating but this bread turned out perfect. We absolutely LOVED it. My mods - added 1/2 c. choco chips and a tiny splash of vanilla. Also, cooked a little longer than instructed. Anyone that has struggled with baking at high altitude MUST give this recipe a try... it's AWESOME =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Amazing High Altitude mix! I moved from low altitude to Vail, CO (8000ish) and NONE of the recipes worked! This is an all around favorite! Everyone asks for double chocolate chips (I use minis) and I sprinkle the nuts on top, so that even those who don't want to eat the nuts can enjoy it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      It was perfect! We live in CO, and this banana bread recipe was fluffy and moist...not too rich, not too blah. Almost, almost as good as my Grandma's...but it is Grandma, and she is unique ;-) (I tried to replicate her recipe, and it turned out hard as a stone!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Very good banana bread! Just moved to Utah from Oregon, so big elevation change. Glad to find good recipe that works up here! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This is a very nice recipe. I almost always have leftover bananas. For some crazy reason, buying 5,382 bananas always SEEMS like a good idea at the time, doesn't it? I doubled the recipe, using 5 medium-size bananas, but then I realized I didn't have enough sugar for that (I didn't actually have enough for ONE recipe), so I used Splenda to make up for the rest of the white sugar, and brown sugar (unpacked) for the other 2/3 cup. I did use the cinnamon as well. Oh, I also used half a cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of part of the butter when doubling the recipe, too. I actually melted the 4 Tablespoons of butter before I mixed it in, because I find that when I just soften it (even if it's SUPER soft), it has butter chunks in the batter, and I'm not a fan of that, really. SO... otherwise, everything else: instructions, baking temperature, and baking time were right on. Sorry I messed with it kinda, but I love trying different banana bread recipes, and I'm glad I tried this one, thanks! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This bread has a very great taste. I used 3 small bananas. I used only 1/3 cup sugar. And I used the cinnamon. After 50 minutes in the oven, the bread was cooked through. I let it in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes and then removed it. And the smell when cooking was amazing. Thanks The Wallaces :) Made for Holiday tag

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      This was a first time I have ever made banana bread. It turned out great. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Thanks so much for this great recipe. Makes moist, delicious banana bread at 5280.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      Made this recipe in Colorado and it turned out decent. Nothing special. I even added chocolate chips to jazz it up. It cooked well, but wasn't very moist. I tried the minimum bananas, perhaps next time I should try the maximum to get more flavor. All around a solid bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      Perfection! Moist, flavorful, and satisfying. And to those who read the "too salty" comment. I couldn't even taste the salt at all! <br/><br/>Also, I added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips to the mixture and it complements the bread very well.<br/><br/>Will be making this for family very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      I live at 10,500 ft above Breckenridge and this recipe is fantastic! I had to add 15 min to the bake time but otherwise no other modifications. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      This was a great recipe for Wyoming baking! The bread was perfect. However, I did make some adjustments. I creamed together the wet ingredients in the mixer then I sifted together the dry ingredients and slowly added them to the mixer. I added vanilla extract ( just a few drops) and a little extra cinnamon. When It came out of the oven, I added a brown sugar crumble to the top. ( Mix together 4 tbs softened (NOT MELTED-JUST SOFTENED) butter and 1/2 cup brown sugar and mix by hand or slow on a mixer...you want it to be clumpy and mostly brown sugar, the butter acts like a glue to keep the clumps chunky... and sprinkled it over the top. I then added homemade carmel drizzle (to make carmel- take label off a can of sweetened condensed milk that was and placed in a crock pot fully submerged in water and cooked for 8 hours, add water as needed) . It was a sweet treat but was DELICIOUS and everyone loved it. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe! I have some tips though: USE A FOOD PROCESSOR! It makes it so much more easily. What you do is to first pulse together the wet ingredients. Then add the dry ingredients and pulse until it just becomes well combined. Add your nuts, chocolate chips, or other "extras" in your last 2 or 3 pulses. Voila! <br/>Other adaptations: I've added a little ground nutmeg sometimes, used a combination of white and brown sugar instead of purely while sugar, and combinations of whole wheat and white flour instead of just while flour. This is a very flexible "forgiving" recipe that allows for experimentation and use of whatever extras you want to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      This is my go-to banana bread recipe. I sometimes make it without eggs by substituting extra banana and baking powder. This recipe is always a hit at work and the kids like it with chocolate chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      Yum! I too live in Colorado and this recipe is perfect for high altitude. It stays moist and was soo delicious. I made three loaves in one weekend for my family and they lasted about 48 hours. I also added chocolate chips to mine which we all LOVED. Thank you for this awesome recipe. (oh, and I left out the cinnamon)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Finally, a banana bread recipe for high altitude. No more hocky puck banana bread. This was delicious. I added milk chocolate chips and a splash of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Best ever! The cinnamon makes it very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      I recently moved to Colorado from Virginia, and this was my first attempt at some high altitude baking and it was a huge success! I was skeptical, but the banana bread was moist, tasted delicious and had just the right consistency. It didn't rise much, but it was perfect in every way. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and omitted the cinnamon. Thank you so much for making my first baking experience in Colorado such a delicious success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Absolutely the best banana chocolate chip bread that I have made in Wyoming. We live at 9,000 ft in southern Wyoming and I have the hardest time cooking with propane. Usually my breads come out with a caved in spot in the middle. This bread is worth every 5 star rating that is gets. Keep those recipes coming Wallaces! You have made my life a lot easier when it comes to baking. Cudos to you and Food.com.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      I have made this recipe twice because I wanted a good high altitude banana bread recipe. I don't know why no one has mentioned it but this bread is SALTY and i think that 3/4 teaspoon is too much salt!!! I made it first with the cinnamon and it was gross with too much salt and the overpowering cinnamon. I tried it again with no cinnamon and still too salty! I live at 6,500 and it rose okay but 50 minutes was too long too cook it as it came out too dry. I looked it at 40 minutes and it was done but still on the dryer side not moist at all like a banana bread should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for High-Altitude Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (701 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1883.6
     
    Calories from Fat 521
    27%
    Total Fat 57.9 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 32.8 g
    164%
    Cholesterol 494.1 mg
    164%
    Sodium 3018.7 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 315.4 g
    105%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 162.8 g
    651%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites