38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thatbobbygirl you've done it again! Great recipe. I was a skeptical about the baking soda and baking powder (I've never heard of this before) but the zucchini turns out so flavourful and fluffy. Even my son, who would never TOUCH zucchini, had a second serving! but then again, i think it's becuase he didn't recognize it was zucchini since it's all mushed up with his favorite cheddar. Great dish to get your kids to eat their veggies! Thank you so much for sharing (btw, love your long intro; very entertaining!) :0)))

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight May 20, 2002

Oh, dear. I liked the intro also, and wish I liked the recipe as much. I think the problem was in the directions—maybe another shibboleth for us experienced cooks. I drained the zucchini in a colander after cooking, then returned them to the pan and mashed them, and added the rest of the ingredients. (The directions didn't say what to do with the margarine, but I melted it, which seemed reasonable.) Unfortunately, "fluffy" isn't how I'd describe the result—"mooshy" or "gloppy" would be. I think what she meant by "drain and mash" was "drain and mash in a colander, pressing every bit of liquid out." That would leave you throwing a good bit of your zucchini down the drain, but would probably make it solid enough to bake up "fluffy." It would also give a boost to the cheese; one cup of sharp cheddar hardly made any impression at all on the volume of zucchini I had left after just draining.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Ann L May 28, 2002

If stars were given for the most interesting ( and longest ) commentary, you would deserve a 6. As a long time resident of a town where people lock their cars at night to avoid having the back seat filled with Zucks by midnight dumpers, I can appreciate your mother's situation. The Zucchni is just so darn easy to grow, and oh how we all hate to throw away food !!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Hilbrich May 19, 2002

Wow, so good. Almost reminded me of a cheese omelet. I imagine you could use broccoli, cauliflower, etc. with just the same great results. This was so good, I couldn't stop eating it. This is one I'll make again and again. Thanks, Bobbygirl, for sharing your family's recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna in Michigan July 28, 2002

What a winner! My daughter gobbled this up so quickly - and before she had even touched anything else on her plate. I loved the flavor combination and thought this was a unique way to serve this sometimes too plentiful veggie. This would be great for a potluck. Thanks!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 13, 2003

This is a great recipe! It did take longer than the stated time both times I made it. But it was worth the wait!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Wood July 07, 2002

this would be a great dish for a brunch. i reduced the recipe by half and cooked it in an 8 inch square pan. it came out light and fluffy and moist and i enjoyed the mild zucchini taste. i will make this again-next fall when i'm overrun with zucchini and tired of zucchini bread!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinn in tbay January 21, 2003

I have taken this yummy dish to many potluck functions. It always disappears and I get many recipe requests! Not many people guess that it's full of zucchini!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatDebbieGirl January 02, 2003

WOW! My kids went crazy over this! My daughter is very picky, especially with veggies, and I am always looking for a way to "hide" them in her meals. I have found a new favorite for her! It was really easy to make too! I achieved "fluffy" results with mine too, so maybe I did something wrong if it was supposed to be more like a custard, but it was wonderful nonetheless! Thanks ThatBobbieGirl! -CG

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl August 12, 2002

I made this with the zucchini and loved it and when I read donna's review suggesting broccoli or cauliflower I thought perhaps eggplant would work also. Well I made it with eggplant and it was wonderful. I love eggplant & I'm always looking for new ways to make it. This recipe not only taste great and is easy to make but is versatile. Thanks again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan n.y. February 24, 2003
Hide the Zucchini