Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hide the Zucchini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hide the Zucchini

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      Thatbobbygirl you've done it again! Great recipe. I was a skeptical about the baking soda and baking powder (I've never heard of this before) but the zucchini turns out so flavourful and fluffy. Even my son, who would never TOUCH zucchini, had a second serving! but then again, i think it's becuase he didn't recognize it was zucchini since it's all mushed up with his favorite cheddar. Great dish to get your kids to eat their veggies! Thank you so much for sharing (btw, love your long intro; very entertaining!) :0)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Oh, dear. I liked the intro also, and wish I liked the recipe as much. I think the problem was in the directions—maybe another shibboleth for us experienced cooks. I drained the zucchini in a colander after cooking, then returned them to the pan and mashed them, and added the rest of the ingredients. (The directions didn't say what to do with the margarine, but I melted it, which seemed reasonable.) Unfortunately, "fluffy" isn't how I'd describe the result—"mooshy" or "gloppy" would be. I think what she meant by "drain and mash" was "drain and mash in a colander, pressing every bit of liquid out." That would leave you throwing a good bit of your zucchini down the drain, but would probably make it solid enough to bake up "fluffy." It would also give a boost to the cheese; one cup of sharp cheddar hardly made any impression at all on the volume of zucchini I had left after just draining.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2002

      If stars were given for the most interesting ( and longest ) commentary, you would deserve a 6. As a long time resident of a town where people lock their cars at night to avoid having the back seat filled with Zucks by midnight dumpers, I can appreciate your mother's situation. The Zucchni is just so darn easy to grow, and oh how we all hate to throw away food !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      Wow, so good. Almost reminded me of a cheese omelet. I imagine you could use broccoli, cauliflower, etc. with just the same great results. This was so good, I couldn't stop eating it. This is one I'll make again and again. Thanks, Bobbygirl, for sharing your family's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      What a winner! My daughter gobbled this up so quickly - and before she had even touched anything else on her plate. I loved the flavor combination and thought this was a unique way to serve this sometimes too plentiful veggie. This would be great for a potluck. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      This is a great recipe! It did take longer than the stated time both times I made it. But it was worth the wait!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      this would be a great dish for a brunch. i reduced the recipe by half and cooked it in an 8 inch square pan. it came out light and fluffy and moist and i enjoyed the mild zucchini taste. i will make this again-next fall when i'm overrun with zucchini and tired of zucchini bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2003

      I have taken this yummy dish to many potluck functions. It always disappears and I get many recipe requests! Not many people guess that it's full of zucchini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      WOW! My kids went crazy over this! My daughter is very picky, especially with veggies, and I am always looking for a way to "hide" them in her meals. I have found a new favorite for her! It was really easy to make too! I achieved "fluffy" results with mine too, so maybe I did something wrong if it was supposed to be more like a custard, but it was wonderful nonetheless! Thanks ThatBobbieGirl! -CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I made this with the zucchini and loved it and when I read donna's review suggesting broccoli or cauliflower I thought perhaps eggplant would work also. Well I made it with eggplant and it was wonderful. I love eggplant & I'm always looking for new ways to make it. This recipe not only taste great and is easy to make but is versatile. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This recipe makes eight servings. I gave one to my husband and I had seven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I thought this recipe could use a little more flavor and a little more substance, but my beloved devoured 3/4 of the pan! I decided to grate the zucchini instead of going through the bother of boiling and then mashing it, then I salted it and let it drain for about 20 minutes. Definitely a good recipe for using up an abundance of zucchini, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      This is probably the tastiest way to use up those extra zucchinis! I had one of those 2 lb overgrown monstrosities, which I grated, sprinkled with a little garlic salt and let it drain in the colander while assembling the other ingredients. I also used a pouch of Biscuit and Baking mix (about 1/3 of a cup) to substitute for the dry ingredients/butter, and 2 diced red bell peppers. I baked for about 55 minutes to an hour or until the center was set becasue my zucchini was not precooked. Let me tell you, my mother and sister were not glad when I told them I was bringing zucchini, but they sure didn't complain after tasting this! In fact, I think my mom will be making a space in the garden for zucchini next year! Thanks for great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I'm sure this is good as a side dish but it just didn't make the cut as a main vegetarian entree. I was looking for new recipes to vary our menu but this was a bit too bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I make this dish all summer long with fresh picked zucchini, it is delicious! The only addition is French's French Fried Onions added to the top during the last 4 minutes in the oven. My whole family enjoys this dish. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I'm giving you five stars just for the story, which was well written and I loved it! But sounds like the casserole is good too and I'm pasting that into my "recipes to try" file for next summer. I have some frozen shredded zucchini but may have to make some adjustments to use it for this recipe. Because it tends to turn so watery once it's been frozen, I'm thinking it might mostly disappear in the boiling water. Thanks for such a good presentation of the recipe. She was one smart lady, your mom, and typical of women of that era who, rather than threaten the husband with his life if he grew any more of those d** zucchini, chose to make the best of it with style and grace.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      A great use of some local zucchini. While the family zuch hater didn't love it, he actually ate it. A nice side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      I made this just as written except for the addition of onion powder (which I add to just about everything) and the DBF and I both really liked it. I like to make dishes true to the recipes for the first time in order to review them but I can think of lots of ways to change this up for variety. It's a great base to add other veggies (I'm thinking roasted red peppers) and other herbs and spices (I think I might add some nutmeg next time).You should know that the 30 minutes prep time includes the 15 minute boiling which is actually cook time in my opinion. I ALWAYS take longer to cook than recipes state and I took less this time....it's a quickie dish with great results. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Not only did my family all hate this recipe, they had a great time making fun of me for trying to "hide the zucchini". I used extra sharp cheese and my only change was adding garbanzo flour instead of white flour. The result was very bland, and mushy/soggy. I will eat the rest of it because even though it isn't yummy it isn't offensive. I had it today for lunch, and even when cold it was the texture of soft mashed potatoes. If I did make it again I would drain the zucchini, put it back in the pan to mash it, then put the mash back in the colander again to drain some more. I would also be sure to taste it before adding the egg so I could get the seasoning right.

      I'll bet if I peeled the zucchini and followed the recipe then put the result in a bowl and whipped it up I would have "not potatoes"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hide the Zucchini

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.9
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    62%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 87.8 mg
    29%
    Sodium 328.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites