47 Reviews

Delicious! I actually substituted fried chicken wings for the oyster crackers, and then instead of the Ranch seasoning and other flavorings I dipped them in hot sauce. Then I ate them dipped in Bleu Cheese dressing. A real keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian C. May 13, 2015

These are delicious! The only reason I am giving them 4 stars and not 5 is because I think that there is too much oil. I will do about 1/2 the amount of oil next time and see how it turns out. Otherwise, I will be making these again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. June 21, 2011

This is a five star recipe. I fix this a lot of the holiday's. I use 3/4 cup of oil. Everyone always loves eating it. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn July 12, 2012

These are super tasty ... I cut back on the oil (used 1/3 cup of canola) and they are great. I think next time some parmesan might be a good addition too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
willywally5 December 20, 2010

Just like I remembered! I omitted lemon pepper, added dill weed and lots of parmesan, and baked till the crackers were almost brown. Thanks for posting a childhood memory. I love these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e February 22, 2010

I made this per the directions above and it was terrible! Nothing like the great snack we used to enjoy. After throwing the whole batch away, I realized you need to use butter instead of oil. Especially if you are using it to make the oyster crackers. I made a second batch, with butter, and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alicia L. October 02, 2015

I followed anonymous' advice, but instead of using fried chicken I used beef ribs because I don't really like chicken. I didn't have any blue cheese on hand so I used soy sauce. I don't think I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunkiepunk May 15, 2015

Love them. Used 1/2 cup oil and baked at 250 for about 30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 June 26, 2013

For years, per another recipe, made these w/o baking them overnight in an airtight container with the amount of oil listed in this recipe. However - after trying the recipe directly from Hidden Valley's site with ONLY 1/4 C. Oil - they actually taste better & probably are healthier without all the excess oil. They turned out great, as is - with the exception of cutting the oil to 1/4 C. The seasonings stick to the crackers just like they do w/the excess amount of oil. Otherwise I would have given them 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khari January 12, 2013

What is the definition of a "warm oven"?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockamama October 21, 2012
Hidden Valley Ranch Oyster Crackers