21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think a nice addition to this recipe would be buttermilk powder.This is better than storebought which is full of salt & MSG

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Somogirl October 03, 2009

This is definitely a Hidden gem, but I would suggest a bit salty. I might try again but remove either the onion salt or garlic salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HannahBoBana May 30, 2008

Wow this is very good!!! I didn't have garlic or onion salt so I just used Kosher salt. Never ever buying that expensive stuff again. Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kgulley February 18, 2009

I would give this 10 stars if I could, this mix is better than Hidden Valley because it's made fresh. It is absolutely perfect, the flavor is so good. I like the fact that it is a dry mix that you can add to your mayo/milk mix, so you can adjust the seasoning to your liking. Thank you so much for posting, this recipe is definitely a gem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carryberry March 04, 2008

The Hidden Valley Ranch Buttermilk Dressing Mix is my all time favorite dressing, and now I can make it myself! It is amazingly similar. If I'm serving veggies & dip, I mix the spices with sour cream for a thicker consistency. I will be giving out some of this dressing mix in cute little jars for Christmas this year. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tykayles June 29, 2007

This just didn't didn't taste anywhere near HV.<br/><br/>Wish it did thou! Thax for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco June 05, 2013

After trying several others that while good, came up lacking true ranch flavor I tried your blend. I did cut back on the garlic and onion salt (due to b/p issues), but increased with the powders. I loved this! Hubby thought it was better than anything else he's had. Great on any salad, baked potatoes or as a dip for veggies or chips. I used this for our salad last night as well as the sauce for Ranch Chicken Bacon Mushroom Pizza. Thanks Dib's for posting this keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ March 19, 2013

Hi - I substituted all to heck so I'm not going to rate...will try again when I have more of the ingredients. I think I got close! BTW -- I needed 1/2 a packet for a recipe and needed to know how many TBL in a purchase packet and found on the internet there is 3 tbl in a purchased packet - FYI.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 July 19, 2012

Ooooo this is good! I put in fresh parsley and basil from my garden so it's a little like Green Goddess LOL. I made the whole batch of dressing in one shot. If anything it's a little salty, so add salt after tasting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 October 02, 2011

This would have gotten a 5 but just a bit salty. Otherwise after just mixing it up had Hubby try (he is a real Ranch buff) and he declared it quite tastey
Thanks so much for a quality recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pateavenson June 13, 2011
Hidden Valley Ranch Buttermilk Dressing Mix