Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Old Fashioned Rich Cocoa Fudge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Old Fashioned Rich Cocoa Fudge

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2011

      this is the best Fudge recipe ever. My dad made this for many many years and taught me to make it. I have been making it now for about 50 years.. It always takes my stove 45 min at least to get it to the soft ball. Do not stir to much while cooking.. We bring it to a small boil and keep it boiling. use ONLY A WOODEN spoon..(.Check your candy thermometer before to see if it is accurate by boil water and see if it boils at exactly 212. then you know if your candy thermometer is right.) We always also checked candy by dropping a small spoonful in a cup of very cold water when we thought it was done. it would form a small ball with your fingers. Then you knew it was done. We never let our set as long as these directions. Cooled in a pan of cold water about three to five min and then beat with a wooden spoon only till it loses its shine. This is no doubt the best candy in the world.. my son gets ever year at Christmas time.. at his request. :) ..This is a hard candy to make but well worth the effort..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This is a post script to my review. Add a big handfull of walnuts with the butter and vanilla at the end of the cooking portion not after it is cooled down as that will bring the temp down and make the fudge grainy instead of creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This is a hard recipe to do if you have never made candy before.The soft water test can be a little tricky because the ball has to come together first to make a true ball but at the same time not too hard in feel and touch because then the fudge can become hard and crumbly. Use cold water to test candy in for water test. We always add 1 TBSP Karo syrup to cooking potion to keep candy from turning too hard from over cooking. And 1/4 cup peanut butter when adding vanilla keeps it from being too sugary. pour on buttered dinner plate it does make it thin but so good this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      I love this recipe; however, the version on Cooks.com has the taste I remember from childhood. Instead of whole milk, it calls for 1 c. evaporated milk and 1/2 c. water. If you are following this recipe it is easy to overbeat; it should just be beaten until it loses some of the gloss - not for 10-15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      TIPS FOR NEWBIES MAKING THIS:

      I just made this for the first time yesterday. My first batch went..horribly. I ruined my pot and had to buy a new one.
      My second batch came out absolutely perfect!

      1. Use the lowest heat possible, even if it will take a long time to reach a boil, you will not burn your fudge.

      2. Use a candy thermometer, but don't rely on it. Test for softball stage the old fashioned way (recommend searching for videos of this so you can see). My candy thermometer was off by about 20 degrees even though I tested it beforehand, and testing frequently for softball stage really helped. It did not take long at all to reach softball stage, maybe 12 minutes for me.

      3. Cooling (for me) only took an hour

      Those were my biggest mistakes.

      Happy fudge making!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      My favorite fudge recipe since I was a kid - I do not like the easier marshmallow fudge. It is a little tricky, but well worth it. I finally bought a thermometer, but use the soft-ball test too. The slow boiling to proper temp is critical (don't try to bring up temp too quickly). You have to learn to cool and beat to the proper stage also (practice makes perfect). My one tip would be to not use too small a pan - I use a 4 or 5 qu dutch oven so the fudge mixture is not too deep when cooking. This large pan also reduces the splatter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      My mother always made this. I was so excited to find the recipe on-line. I must say, following the directions to the "T" worked excellent. I used a candy and digital thermometer, and even tried the softball test when it reached temp. All three were in agreement.
      Soft Ball, take a small teaspoon of the fudge and drip it into the cold water. The cold water will set the fudge, remove the fudge and see if you can roll a soft ball in between your fingers.

      As for the Butter USE REAL BUTTER, Margarine will not work. Also when this recipe came out milk was Whole Milk. Im not sure the reduced fat versions will work.

      Electric Stove. Had my stove know set between 6 and 7.

      Add Butter and Vanilla at the end when removing from heat. Do not stir in till it has cooled.

      Good Luck

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      I make this recipe all the time and never have any problems unless the pan is too small and it boils over. I bring the fudge to a softball stage by testing it in cold water. No thermometer. After it reaches the softball point, I remove from heat and add the butter and vanilla and immediately begin stirring with a mixer. It takes approximately 10-15 minutes before i start seeing wrinkles in the fudge after that I know that it is almost ready to pour into the pan for cooling. Everyone wants me to make this, it is quite time consuming though. Total about an hour. I also make peanut butter fudge this way but instead of the cocoa I substitute 2/3 cup of peanut butter and add it at the end with the butter and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Just made this for the first time and IT IS THE BOMB!!! EXACTLY what mom used to make.<br/>I mostly followed the instructions (after reading some of the reviews posted here). I do not have a candy thermometer, so I just let it boil and started testing it for soft ball every three minutes (used a timer). I watched a couple of youtube videos on how to do the softball test (which was helpful). I only allowed it to cool for about ten minutes before I started beating...only beat for about 5 minutes. I did substitute a mixture of half & half/water for whole milk because I was out of milk! Worked for me! LOVE IT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Oh! My! Goodness! Yummy! I made this with Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa and it was like heaven. My husband said it tasted like truffles from France. Though it was my first time making it, I didn't have any problems. Patience is a virtue when making any kind of confection. I good thermometer is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      My mom used this recipe to make fudge for me as a little girl. Now, home for the holidays, I hinted to her that I would love to have some of "her" fudge. She had this disappointed look on her face & told me she couldn't remember the exact temps and such. Also, to her disappointment, Hershey no longer printed the recipe on their cocoa box/can. She (AND I) were thrilled to find the recipe using a quick Google search.
      She's making it today! I can't wait...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      I agree with some other posts here. My Mom always loved to make this and I couldn't wait to make it. I am pretty good in the kitchen and I followed this recipe to a T and it came out like crap. I used a thermometer AND the hard ball test. It says it takes 2 hrs to cool and after 45 mins it was hardening in the pan. I quickly started to stir it and it was like a tootsie roll. I poured it into the pan and half the recipe is hard at the bottom of my pan. This ought to be thrilling to clean. It was like caramel going into the pan. It has hardened up and tastes nothing like it is supposed to...this recipe needs BETTER DIRECTIONS....BEWARE!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      I just made this in the morning and I have to say it probably the best fudge ever I made. I've used other recipes but this one takes the cake. I used half and half instead of milk ( I only 1% and knew it wouldn't work but I keep half and half for my coffee) and added toasted pecans and walnuts at the end before panning it. Tips for beginners is to be relax and don't hurry the results. slowly bring the mix to boil and don't over-beat the fudge (were its completely matte) and you'll be fine. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Worst recipe instructions ever. Didn't work and tasted horrible.. My grandmother used to make fudge, and this is not how. Don't waste your time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I loved this fudge since I was a kid, I am 63 now and still enjoy making it, I will pass on what my mother told and I always follow make sure to keep sugar low in the pan if any gets to high on the sides and doesn't dissolve it will cause a chain reaction and make it grainy, if she was correct or not I do not know but I haven't had grainy fudge

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I am thrilled to find this recipe. When I was a kid, my mother used to make it, & it never turned out anything but perfect. She'd pour it into a glass pan, then cut into squares when it set up. The squares were about 1/2" deep, not like the fudge you see nowadays, at least that's how she made it. The surface of the fudge was rather glossy from the butter. It is very important to follow the temperature guide. My mother made it without using a thermometer, & didn't use a wooden spoon to stir it. I have never been able to make it to turn out like my mother's, but I am experimenting, and I don't think it should cool for as long as the recipe calls for. My mother died last week, and I wish I had told her that no fudge was ever better. I'd call this "gourmet" fudge when made correctly. I think Hershey's probably stopped printing the recipe on the can because it is difficult to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      This is the fudge recipe my Mother made every year during the holidays - so yummy!! And, everyone (family and friends) always asked her to make her fudge for gifts...and she always did. She also made peanut butter fudge and divinity, but this on-the-cocoa can fudge recipe was All-Time #1 Favorite! She's gone now, so I shall take up the reins and make Mother's Hershey's Cocoa Fudge! I will surprise everyone this year with this "love gift". Thanks for sharing! God Bless!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      WHEN this Fudge is made by an expert -it is awesome.

      After not having it for many years- i looked up the recipe.
      BUT even after following the directions -i ended up with a pan of what can only be described as Tootsie Roll chocolate.I cooked that chocolate for almost an hour to achieve the requested 234 degree temp.
      Then let it set for about an hour and a half -only to return to stir it and find Taffy.
      It was awful - i couldnt even get the spoon through it.
      The taste was nothing like i rememebr .
      SO; im saying,after reading some other post here- i must have over cooked it.Because of the length of time it involves (DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE!) I will not be trying this again.
      If any of you pros at it want to make and sell me a LB. of this Fudge? Send me a note.
      Worth paying for -but not losing your mind for!! ( :

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Now THIS is fudge! I started making this as a teen (many moons ago) and my family calls it "the real fudge" as opposed to anything calling for marshmallows or any other flavor. It does really help to have an accurate thermometer and the corn syrup (1TB) should be used also. When made properly this fudge is not crumbly at all. The cocoa gives it a taste soooo much better than choc chips to us. Just give it a try and you'll be hooked, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      The marshmallow fudge may be my go-to when pressed for time but it isn't REAL fudge. This recipe is the real deal, creamy,chocolatey deliciousness. To those who have problems I suggest using a good candy thermometer and the soft ball water test. Also it's important to pan the fudge right on the cusp of "losing its gloss" Wait even a bit too long and it will crystallize in the pan If you follow the directions your reward is the perfect fudge!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Old Fashioned Rich Cocoa Fudge

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 88.2
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    17%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 23.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes