16 Reviews

I have been looking for a new chocolate cream pie recipe and based on the reviews I thought I would try this one. The pie came out great and the entire family loved it, I did make some changes to it however which would expxlaine the 4 out of 5 star rating. I used 5 tablespoons of Hershey's Cocoa powder since I didn't have any bakers chocolate in the house, I added it to the milk mixture cooking on the stove. I also only used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. The pie set up wonderfully and was so rich and creamy. This will be my go to recipe from here on out. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom November 26, 2010

A very sublime chocolate pie! I poured through practically every recipe on Zaar before choosing this one. This was similar to a family recipe that I love (except I was looking for it to set up better). Your recipe had 1/2 cup more milk, 1/2 ounce more choc., 2 more tbs. cornstarch, and 3 tbs. flour. What a difference these extras made! The texture was PERFECT (I've never had a cream pie set up so nicely) and the flavor was much creamier. I used a pre-made choc. crumb crust and it worked great. Thanks Sharon, for another winner! Roxygirl

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado November 24, 2009

I followed the recipe to a "T" and it set up perfectly. I used Chef shapeweaver's Peanut Butter Cookie Crumbs Pie Crust (Peanut Butter Cookie Crumbs Pie Crust) It was a very rich combination and whipped cream on top is a must!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom November 28, 2014

I was disappointed with this pie.
Reason Why: To much corn starch, to many eggs, too much chocolate. The directions are not right either.
The reason the pie turns out lumpy is because you Never mix the sugar with the milk. Always always Mix all the dry ingredients together. While you heat up the milk add all the dry ingredients together mixing it really well with a whisk. Then after its heated up take your eggs and mix them in a separate bowl then add some of this hot mixture to the beat up eggs whisking the whole time.
At the very end Add butter vanilla and whisk it into the pudding mixture.
If I ever make this again. I will only use 2-3 Tablespoons of Corn starch, 2 eggs, 1 oz maybe 1.5 of coco.
This stuff turned out like glue.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greeneggs.nham November 29, 2010

my mom found this recipe in an old hershey cookbook the secret to it is making the filling a couple days before you serve it and refridgerate it in a covered dish. a day or two in the fridge makes the filling really rich a chocolate lovers delight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hersheyfan November 19, 2010

I love desserts, especially chocolate desserts, so I have pretty high expectations and while this was good, in my opinion, it just wasn't great. The amount of cornstarch made it really firm, too firm and the flavor was just so-so for me. It was fun to try but I doubt I'll make it again. Really interesting history behind this though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life March 18, 2010

I made two and the first turned out very lumpy, my fault rather than the recipe. Make sure the ingredients don't burn to the bottom of the pan while heating or else you'll end up with a lumpy pie. I used a whisk to stir the second batch like crazy and it came out great. I also substituted 1/4 cup of the milk with 1/4 cup of Irish cream liquor + a little more vanilla and it came out wonderfully strong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AShultz November 25, 2009

Good chocolate pie. I did have a little trouble with the mixture being lumpy. Next time I would put the yolks into the milk and mix before adding to the dry ingred. I may add a little more chocolate next time as I don't think I used enough. I made Graham Cracker Crust for the crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 12, 2009

This was one of the easiest chocolate cream pies I have ever made. I made it for Easter and it was VERY well received. The only thing I did different was use 3 oz of unsweetened chocolate, but only because I didn't want to have the 1/2 left! Will keep this one and use it over and over again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jkcmwolff April 14, 2009

This was a great pie and well received.Definitely I will make again.Anyone interested in Canadian history check out The 5 cent war story...it is amazing how kids take up their rights when it is of something of interest to them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellbee February 08, 2009
Hershey's Hotel Chocolate Cream Pie