Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Hotel Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Hotel Chocolate Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      A very sublime chocolate pie! I poured through practically every recipe on Zaar before choosing this one. This was similar to a family recipe that I love (except I was looking for it to set up better). Your recipe had 1/2 cup more milk, 1/2 ounce more choc., 2 more tbs. cornstarch, and 3 tbs. flour. What a difference these extras made! The texture was PERFECT (I've never had a cream pie set up so nicely) and the flavor was much creamier. I used a pre-made choc. crumb crust and it worked great. Thanks Sharon, for another winner! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      I followed the recipe to a "T" and it set up perfectly. I used Chef shapeweaver's Peanut Butter Cookie Crumbs Pie Crust (Peanut Butter Cookie Crumbs Pie Crust) It was a very rich combination and whipped cream on top is a must!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I was disappointed with this pie.
      Reason Why: To much corn starch, to many eggs, too much chocolate. The directions are not right either.
      The reason the pie turns out lumpy is because you Never mix the sugar with the milk. Always always Mix all the dry ingredients together. While you heat up the milk add all the dry ingredients together mixing it really well with a whisk. Then after its heated up take your eggs and mix them in a separate bowl then add some of this hot mixture to the beat up eggs whisking the whole time.
      At the very end Add butter vanilla and whisk it into the pudding mixture.
      If I ever make this again. I will only use 2-3 Tablespoons of Corn starch, 2 eggs, 1 oz maybe 1.5 of coco.
      This stuff turned out like glue.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I have been looking for a new chocolate cream pie recipe and based on the reviews I thought I would try this one. The pie came out great and the entire family loved it, I did make some changes to it however which would expxlaine the 4 out of 5 star rating. I used 5 tablespoons of Hershey's Cocoa powder since I didn't have any bakers chocolate in the house, I added it to the milk mixture cooking on the stove. I also only used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. The pie set up wonderfully and was so rich and creamy. This will be my go to recipe from here on out. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      my mom found this recipe in an old hershey cookbook the secret to it is making the filling a couple days before you serve it and refridgerate it in a covered dish. a day or two in the fridge makes the filling really rich a chocolate lovers delight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I love desserts, especially chocolate desserts, so I have pretty high expectations and while this was good, in my opinion, it just wasn't great. The amount of cornstarch made it really firm, too firm and the flavor was just so-so for me. It was fun to try but I doubt I'll make it again. Really interesting history behind this though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I made two and the first turned out very lumpy, my fault rather than the recipe. Make sure the ingredients don't burn to the bottom of the pan while heating or else you'll end up with a lumpy pie. I used a whisk to stir the second batch like crazy and it came out great. I also substituted 1/4 cup of the milk with 1/4 cup of Irish cream liquor + a little more vanilla and it came out wonderfully strong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Good chocolate pie. I did have a little trouble with the mixture being lumpy. Next time I would put the yolks into the milk and mix before adding to the dry ingred. I may add a little more chocolate next time as I don't think I used enough. I made Graham Cracker Crust for the crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This was one of the easiest chocolate cream pies I have ever made. I made it for Easter and it was VERY well received. The only thing I did different was use 3 oz of unsweetened chocolate, but only because I didn't want to have the 1/2 left! Will keep this one and use it over and over again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This was a great pie and well received.Definitely I will make again.Anyone interested in Canadian history check out The 5 cent war story...it is amazing how kids take up their rights when it is of something of interest to them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Had this for dessert tonight. Taste Great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This is the second chocolate pie that I've made recently and they both tasted gorgeous! I'll probably keep this recipe though as it doesn't need condensed milk which I can't get here. This is such a good recipe and it can be whipped up out of nowhere in such a short amount of time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Best we've ever had!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This was a great cream pie. We all really enjoyed it. For the crust made "Classic Pie Crust, Idiot Proof Step-By-Step Photo Tutorial". I used dark swiss chocolate and spread whipping cream on the top. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Mine came out really, really lumpy. I had to strain the pudding part through a colander to get all the chunks out. I stirred the entire time it was cooking. I let my husband eat the cake-like substance at the bottom of the pan and we agreed it tasted just like Mom's pudding cake. So all in all the flavor is good but due to the lumps I will revert to my old recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      This pie is ok. The flavor is pretty good, texture was weird to me. I think you might want to consider amending the recipe to emphasize constant stirring once you add the egg/milk/cornstarch mixture back to the pan, as it lumps up if you take your eye off it for a SECOND. Overall it's pretty good if you want a more solid pie, but I like mine a tad more mousse-y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Hotel Chocolate Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.9
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    46%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 80.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 335.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    100%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes