26 Reviews

If it's any help to anyone, I've found that if you simmer this syrup for about 10 minutes, stirring all the time, it does thicken up and there's no need to add any thickener to it. It keeps better without cornstarch.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robyn win November 28, 2006

Finished off my store-bought syrup yesterday and needed a cup of hot chocolate this afternoon. This turned out great. I let it boil a little longer (about 3 minutes) constantly stirring it. It turned out a good consistency. And it made a delicious cup of hot chocolate. Won't be buying syrup again. Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntMare February 13, 2008

Thanks for a great recipe! I used a different brand of cocoa powder and it still tastes great. After reading reviews stating that the syrup was too thin I reduced the water to 3/4 of a cup. The syrup came out a bit thicker than Hershey's when cooled... perfect as an ice cream topping or a dip for fruit.. .and still easy to use for chocolate milk. Thanks again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Tracy- December 10, 2010

Tried this today -- excellent! I let the mixture boil for more than 1 minute as I wanted a thicker final product. On a lower flame under a careful eye, it was perfect! I added under 1 tsp. of instant coffee granules for a little kick.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MalkaChaya April 16, 2006

Great substitute! Cheap, fast, easy and no corn syrup. We've tried this in milk, over ice cream and straight from the spoon. Tastes just like Hershey's syrup. Maybe not as thick as the original, but thick enough for us. Thanks, Mindi, for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 10, 2005

This recipe is the same as the one we used in a cafe where I once worked (only in that case we were using 8 cups cocoa powder--so imagine the mess when we let that boil over, which we did sometimes!). We used it to make hot cocoa and mochas. I made the recipe today and added 1 T instant coffee to add a little more intensity. A solid recipe, one that delivers what it promises. As the previous reviewer said, it thickens as it cools, so don't think you are in error when you first take it off the stove.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB May 04, 2005

I love this syrup!! It's easy to make and you can thicken the consistency by adjusting the water content. I don't mind it's thinner, since I usually put the syrup in drinks. Tastes yummy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel September 29, 2012

I made this the day before yesterday. I have not tried the final product yet; but I want to warn anyone who makes this recipe not to make the mistakes I did! First, I made the mistake of using a pot that was too small. It looked like it would be big enough; but this stuff can really puff up when it starts to boil. I also made the mistake of heating the syrup too fast on a gas stove. So, it ended up boiling over all of a sudden and making a huge mess! So, I turned off the burner, put the syrup in a bigger pot and reheated it more slowly this time, letting it come to a gentle boil, and stirring it until it had thickened. After my second try, it seemed to work out alright. And I look forward to using the finished product. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire August 19, 2011

This recipe is great! One thing to keep in mind though is that the syrup is extremely thin and watery looking before it cools. Once it cools it will be more like store bought syrup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
techfun February 13, 2005

Simple and delicious! I've made this 3 times already. We use it over lowfat vanilla frozen yogurt or ice cream since the syrup is very low in fat. Very rich tasting. A little goes a long way. I cook it for about 8-10 minutes at medium heat for a thicker syrup, just make sure you stir it constantly so it doesn't burn or stick to the pan. This recipe makes about 1 1/2 cups of syrup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Watkinslady30 March 04, 2009
Hershey's Chocolate Syrup