Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Chocolate Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Chocolate Syrup

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2006

      If it's any help to anyone, I've found that if you simmer this syrup for about 10 minutes, stirring all the time, it does thicken up and there's no need to add any thickener to it. It keeps better without cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Finished off my store-bought syrup yesterday and needed a cup of hot chocolate this afternoon. This turned out great. I let it boil a little longer (about 3 minutes) constantly stirring it. It turned out a good consistency. And it made a delicious cup of hot chocolate. Won't be buying syrup again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Thanks for a great recipe! I used a different brand of cocoa powder and it still tastes great. After reading reviews stating that the syrup was too thin I reduced the water to 3/4 of a cup. The syrup came out a bit thicker than Hershey's when cooled... perfect as an ice cream topping or a dip for fruit.. .and still easy to use for chocolate milk. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Tried this today -- excellent! I let the mixture boil for more than 1 minute as I wanted a thicker final product. On a lower flame under a careful eye, it was perfect! I added under 1 tsp. of instant coffee granules for a little kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Great substitute! Cheap, fast, easy and no corn syrup. We've tried this in milk, over ice cream and straight from the spoon. Tastes just like Hershey's syrup. Maybe not as thick as the original, but thick enough for us. Thanks, Mindi, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2005

      This recipe is the same as the one we used in a cafe where I once worked (only in that case we were using 8 cups cocoa powder--so imagine the mess when we let that boil over, which we did sometimes!). We used it to make hot cocoa and mochas. I made the recipe today and added 1 T instant coffee to add a little more intensity. A solid recipe, one that delivers what it promises. As the previous reviewer said, it thickens as it cools, so don't think you are in error when you first take it off the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I love this syrup!! It's easy to make and you can thicken the consistency by adjusting the water content. I don't mind it's thinner, since I usually put the syrup in drinks. Tastes yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I made this the day before yesterday. I have not tried the final product yet; but I want to warn anyone who makes this recipe not to make the mistakes I did! First, I made the mistake of using a pot that was too small. It looked like it would be big enough; but this stuff can really puff up when it starts to boil. I also made the mistake of heating the syrup too fast on a gas stove. So, it ended up boiling over all of a sudden and making a huge mess! So, I turned off the burner, put the syrup in a bigger pot and reheated it more slowly this time, letting it come to a gentle boil, and stirring it until it had thickened. After my second try, it seemed to work out alright. And I look forward to using the finished product. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      This recipe is great! One thing to keep in mind though is that the syrup is extremely thin and watery looking before it cools. Once it cools it will be more like store bought syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Simple and delicious! I've made this 3 times already. We use it over lowfat vanilla frozen yogurt or ice cream since the syrup is very low in fat. Very rich tasting. A little goes a long way. I cook it for about 8-10 minutes at medium heat for a thicker syrup, just make sure you stir it constantly so it doesn't burn or stick to the pan. This recipe makes about 1 1/2 cups of syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Super!!! I have made this before but not reviewed it. Made it again today! Never fail recipe! My boys wanted chocolate milk today and we cannot have the regular Hershey's Syrup (with all the junk in it.) Thanks Mindi for posting this and saving our day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This is just like the Hershey's Chocolate Syrup, and make it whenever the store bought kind runs out. It is also a lot less expensive to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      It's good but it need little bit more thick like a tablespoon of flour

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      We gave it a 5 for taste and a 3 for consistency, a little too thin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was a quick easy recipe. The only thing was that I wished it was a bit more thicker, perhaps next time I will add a wee bit of a thickner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      My DH has had a craving for a flavored frozen coffee and since we are iced in I had to come up with one on my own. Your syrup worked great and everyone enjoyed it! Thanks. I will use often since I don't buy chocolate syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Microwaved this (due to clean pan shortage).It does thicken a bit upon cooling. Used it in a banana chocolate smoothie. It worked fine. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      Excellent substitute for store-bought syrup. I liked this better than actual Hershey's syrup, although I must admit I used Ghiradelli cocoa instead of Hershey's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      Delicious! Recipe came in handy when my own Hershey syrup ran out. I just cooled it and filled the squeeze bottle back up. Made my 9 yo daughter a chocolate shake with it tonight too. Worked out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Perfectly acceptable substitute. Not as sweet as another I've tried and every bit as good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Chocolate Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    80%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 20.0 g
    80%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites