Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2008

      I'm just rating the frosting but the cake sounds wonderful too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I have been making this recipe for a very long time and all I can say is amazingly delicious, easy and super moist. You may think adding so much water is mistake but it is not. I am not a huge fan of any frosting so when I make this cake I simply sift confectionary sugar on top. The cake is trully perfect I simply like to savior this decadent cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I've tried a number of chocolate frosting recipes over the years but always come back to this one, which I can count on being delicious and creamy and "chocolatey". This time I used it to frost cupcakes from Moist Deluxe Dark Chocolate Cake Mix(Copycat-Duncan Hines) and oh, what a hit with everyone who tasted them! Thanks, DiScharf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This is a terrific cake, easy to make and my favourite chocolate cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      What a decadent and delicious cake! I made this for little sister's b-day and we couldn't have been more pleased! My cake fell a little after I took it out of the oven, but it smelled and tasted wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I think this is a decent cake recipe. I made it into cupcakes and thought the batter was unusually watery, but it worked out ok. I didn't think it was particularly rich, but it was fluffy and soft. I would prefer a cake that was more intensely chocolate, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Not really sure what the other reviewers issue was, but this cake is SO good. It comes out perfect, everytime! Hence the name, Perfectly chocolate cake. It's moist and has a wonderfully rich chocolate flavor. Never had a problem with it sticking to the pan either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I followed the instructions to the letter. Both parts of the cake stuck to the pan like glue. Cake was completely destroyed when removed from pan. I recommend NOT cooling the cake in the pan for any amount of time. Better yet, don't make this cake at all because it doesn't taste any better than cake made from a mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This recipe is really great! I used whole wheat flour, and I didn't use Hershey's brand cocoa powder. Also, I used vanilla soy milk in the frosting, and instead of sugar I used succanat. It worked out perfectly! I made the Hoho cake recipe using this cake and frosting. It's our family's new favorite. My husband is asking for it for Valentine's Day and my son is asking for it for his 4th birthday- in two months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I have made this cake many times. It is delicious. I have frosted this cake with chocolate mousse -- another hershey recipe and used raspberry filling for inbetween the layers. It is awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Pretty much everything I was going to say has been said. This is a very moist, rich and delicious cake. The highest compliment I have gotten on it is from a lady who described it to a friend as cake like your grandma used to make. Coming from a Southern cook, I take this as a huge compliment. I used the unsalted butter, not the oil in mine, and otherwise made it just like the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This is by far the best cake I have ever had!! Very moist and chocolatey and rich. You will be DYING for a glass of milk while eating this. I made both the cake and the frosting, and they were both absolutely perfect. This is a cake you will want to make over and over again, because it is truly amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      EXCEPTIONAL recipe!!! We loved this cake & the frosting was perfect,too. Definitely a favorite! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I'd never made homemade cake before, and I got rave reviews with this! I didn't use the frosting though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is the only chocolate cake recipe we are allowed to use in my house. I'm not kidding! I made a different cake for my DH on his last birthday. Big mistake. He wouldn't eat it and pouted for weeks. We sometimes make two layers and freeze 1/2. It's even goood without frosting. Just top with real whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This is the only cake that i will serve and the only cake my family will eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Made into cupcakes - they caved in (despite the oven door never opening until they were ready to come out). Batter was just too thin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This is the best chocolate cake ever. I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa :) Yep, OMG YUM! I needed a chocolate cake recipe instead of a boxed cake called for in the cake I was making. (ho ho cake-11799) Seriously, this made the best cake EVER. I warmed the frosting (also made with dark cocoa) and poured it over the four layer cake. To die for! THANKS A MILLION FOR POSTING! I will never make another chocolate cake recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      This is my all time go to chocolate cake! It is awesome!! I've used it for all of those desserts that call for chocolate cake mix. :) I use canola oil instead of vegetable oil. Glad to see it posted!! Super moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I really don't normally care for chocolate cake because it is too dry. Well! I made this for my dear grandmother's birthday party because she does prefer chocolate cake. This is a moist cake that is perfectly sweet. Believe me, it will be your favorite chocolate cake. Wondeful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (2009 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2123
    33%
    Total Fat 235.9 g
    363%
    Saturated Fat 83.2 g
    416%
    Cholesterol 661.5 mg
    220%
    Sodium 5893.5 mg
    245%
    Total Carbohydrate 1013.2 g
    337%
    Dietary Fiber 28.5 g
    114%
    Sugars 753.9 g
    3015%
    Protein 69.4 g
    138%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes