110 Reviews

I loved the cake! I like the idea that I could make it with ingredents that I have on hand. My daughter said home made tastes so much better than a box. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because the frosting seemed runny. The frosting tasted good, just runny. Next time I will either put less milk or add more powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim January 11, 2011

Thia is a perfect cake that is a chocolate lovers dream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
THERESA W. January 06, 2011

5 stars! We can only speak for the cake part, as we used a different frosting, but the cake was very moist and yummy...and not overly sweet! We halved the recipe and used part in a loaf pan (for a small birthday cake for a family member), and the rest for cupcakes. The cake baked for 25-30 minutes, and the cupcakes in about 15. It was perfect, and we will definitely use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy December 18, 2010

This cake was pretty good! It was moist and chocolatey, but not too rich. I made a chocolate cream cheese frosting for it and put it in the fridge to chill. I like cold chocolate cake with chilled frosting :))))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RN4IttyBits September 21, 2010

Very good basic chocolate cake! I thought it could have used a little "something", though. Next time I think I'll add a little cinnamon, and maybe take someone's else suggestion of using freshly brewed hot coffee in place of the boiling water. Overall, a very good cake I will be making again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. September 06, 2010

Wow! This was delicious. Made it for my friend's 30th birthday party and there wasn't a crumb left.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogmaxine August 15, 2010

Really yummy!!! The cake is not too sweet and the icing is rich and delicious. The perfect combination!! I cooked in a 9x13 pan and poured the icing on top while it was still warm enough to spread out naturally. Thanks so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
septfair July 26, 2010

The BEST chocolate cake recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollyanne23 June 07, 2010

This cake is heaven. Oh my goodness. It stays moist for days, and is so deliciously chocolatey... mmm. Perfection. Can you tell I'm in love? lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OLJ May 31, 2010

This was outrageously good!! I added a teaspoon of pure espresso powder to the recipe, and baked the cake in two 9" round cake pans. The cake was moist and rich, and the frosting took it over the top! Mmmmmm...delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit April 21, 2010
Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting