Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2009

      I made this for my DD's birthday (who takes after her chocoholic mom) and I have to say it was decadently delicious and rich. The only thing that disappointed me is the dense and thin layers. I was hoping for a fluffier, higher cake, but we weren't disheartened with the flavor. I added a layer of chocolate ice cream between the layers, froze it and made the fantastic frosting to cover the whole she-bang. I also used 1/2 cup coffee plus 1/2 cup water. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Cake: great taste. I had some trouble with the cake sinking in the middle, but I live at high altitude and always have trouble with cakes. Frosting: DELICIOUS! The whole package: I baked the two layers, cooled them, and filled the sunked part with vanilla ice cream. I then filled an empty, lined cake pan with chocolate ice cream and froze that. Then I assembled the cake with the ice cream layer(s) in the middle, froze it again, then frosted it. Everyone agreed it was the best ice cream cake they'd ever had. If you try this, be prepared to frost FAST, or the ice cream on the edge of that layer will start melting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      We really loved this recipe especially DH - he said it was excellent! I usually shy away from scratch chocolate cake recipes because they tend to be a bit dry, but this one certainly isn't dry. I followed Soozee's suggestions and used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted butter in the batter, used hot coffee in place of the water and added 1 tbsp light corn syrup to the frosting. I was really really pleased with the flavor, texture and moistness of this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I absolutely LOVE this recipe; my grandmother has been making this cake for as long as I can remember but she/we frost it withcream cheese frosting for a cake that is completely irresistable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      since it didn't say if you should sift the flour or not- I went ahead and sifted, made it in a 9x13 pan and cooked 35 minutes. it turned out perfectly. I used a little more milk for the frosting and it was very creamy. took it to a work potluck and it was a hit! thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This is the BEST Chocolate cake I have ever tasted! I made this for Thanksgiving, it was prefered over a bakery Choc. cake. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Mmmm....I made this and brought some to work for the girls and it got rave reviews. I got the recipe from the back of the cocoa box, but was glad to see that someone posted it here to share. Yummm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I love this recipe!! I have made it many many times and it always turns out. If you had a problem with the cake falling in the center maybe your oven is a little bit off and it needed to bake a few extra minutes ( we used to have that problem) it has nothing to do with the batter being thin. Which reminds me, the batter will look just like hershey's syrup when you are pouring it into the pan- all rich and smooth and yummy! I usually forget where I put the print out of this recipe but not to worry it's on the hershey's cocoa cans! So back to my point, make this cake and make it as soon as you can you will not be disappointed! It's so deep dark and fudgy you will think you went to heaven! I have not yet made the frosting yet ( usually use canned) but I will update tomorrow once I do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I was in a hurry this morning making cupcakes for my son's school. I found that I didn't have any store bought frosting and searched out frosting recipes. This frosting recipe is out of this world! It took me just a few minutes to prepare and the taste is so rich and chocolatey. As easy and delicious as this is, I see no reason why I would ever need to buy store bought frosting again. Thanks for posting! UPDATE 10-20-08: Originally I only made the frosting from this recipe, but I made the cake for my daughters birthday and it is out of this world! Unbeatable chocolate taste - very moist and rich tasting. You have a 10 star recipe here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I have made this Hershey's cake for years. It's my go-to chocolate cake recipe. I like it unadulterated, but sometimes it's nice to add a bit of toasted coconut, maraschino cherries, a sprig of mint, or crushed peppermint. If wanting to make a 3 or 4 layer cake, try using fishing line or unflavored dental floss to make thin layers. Try this chocolate cake, it's the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      My husband loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Very easy yet very yummy chocolate cake. I used it for the Ho Ho cake and it turned out great. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      OMG!!!!!!This is sooooooooooooo awesome,I made my 1st cake(from scratch) lastnight & there's only 4 pieces left.I will be making this again. Thank You for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      My son asked me if he could pick out a recipe we could make. He loved this. It is definitely chocolaty. I did not make the frosting but the cake is oh so good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Great and EASY recipe - very elegant with a simple gnache topping. EXCELLENT cake for use in a Demarle or silicone type cake pan. We use it for all chocolate lovers' birthday. Be sure to blend the hot water with a spoon. If you beat it ends up looking like a sponge cake. Thanks for posting, I lost my copy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I love this cake! I do, though, have to alter it for high altitude so it doesn't fall (there are instructions on the internet for high altitude baking in general). I also line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and use oil and flour on the parchment paper and sides of the pan. It turns out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I'm just rating the frosting but the cake sounds wonderful too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I have been making this recipe for a very long time and all I can say is amazingly delicious, easy and super moist. You may think adding so much water is mistake but it is not. I am not a huge fan of any frosting so when I make this cake I simply sift confectionary sugar on top. The cake is trully perfect I simply like to savior this decadent cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I've tried a number of chocolate frosting recipes over the years but always come back to this one, which I can count on being delicious and creamy and "chocolatey". This time I used it to frost cupcakes from Moist Deluxe Dark Chocolate Cake Mix(Copycat-Duncan Hines) and oh, what a hit with everyone who tasted them! Thanks, DiScharf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This is a terrific cake, easy to make and my favourite chocolate cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (2009 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2123
    33%
    Total Fat 235.9 g
    363%
    Saturated Fat 83.2 g
    416%
    Cholesterol 661.5 mg
    220%
    Sodium 5893.5 mg
    245%
    Total Carbohydrate 1013.2 g
    337%
    Dietary Fiber 28.5 g
    114%
    Sugars 753.9 g
    3015%
    Protein 69.4 g
    138%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites