108 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the chocolate cake my mom has been making forEVER. It is sooooooooo good. I made one with chocolate chips (which was great even w/o frosting) and one without chips. YUM! Totally quenched my chocolate cake craving and much faster than most recipes I've seen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty G July 16, 2011

It's perfect chocolate cake !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linda G. June 18, 2011

This is the most moist cake I have ever made! Thank you so much for sharing! I ran out of powdered sugar and had to substitute granulated sugar, so it didn't come out the way it should have, but it was still very delicious!! My family loved it and it was so simple to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovetobake7 May 26, 2011

This is a recipe that my Mother-in-law has had for years and it's been a staple at birthday parties for years. Last year I made it for my side of the family and I have been ordered to make it for every party. It really is one of the most yummiest cakes ever! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarefootGardener May 02, 2011

Really great chocolate cake!! I loved being able to make a "from scratch" chocolate cake with ingredients I already had on hand. My cakes looked beautiful as I took them out of the oven, then each ended up sinking a bit in the middle. I'm not sure why. That is the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars. The frosting was the star. Oh my gosh, it was delicious! Thank you. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 20, 2011

Originally, I made cup cakes. A lot of cup cakes, with a touch of cinnamon in batter. Delish!!! So was the icing. About runny icing, it firms up as it cools. Best ever taste and texture for both cake and icing. Today I made a sheet cake, vanilla with orange zest. Wonderful and used the chocolate icing, delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ggholt1_13150611 April 07, 2011

Really good chocolate cake! I used another brand of Cocoa and sprinkled hazelnuts over the top and tasted amazing. I used skim milk for both cake and frosting, and butter for the frosting. I took the cake to the Swiss Club Family Day (my boyfriend's family are Swiss, and you all know Switzerland makes the best chocolates on Earth) and everybody liked it (the cake was gone in seconds). My boyfriend fell in love with the frosting. Definitely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grossen's Girl Chef March 22, 2011

Yummy!! This is exactly what i was looking for. I didnt make the cake but the frosting was even better than canned. The recipe doesnt say when to add the vanilla extract so i just threw it in when alternating the milk and sugar. I also added about a cup of peanut butter and about a quarter cup extra of milk. Delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redmaskito_7337080 January 15, 2011

I loved the cake! I like the idea that I could make it with ingredents that I have on hand. My daughter said home made tastes so much better than a box. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because the frosting seemed runny. The frosting tasted good, just runny. Next time I will either put less milk or add more powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim January 11, 2011

Thia is a perfect cake that is a chocolate lovers dream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
THERESA W. January 06, 2011
Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting