Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      Very good basic chocolate cake! I thought it could have used a little "something", though. Next time I think I'll add a little cinnamon, and maybe take someone's else suggestion of using freshly brewed hot coffee in place of the boiling water. Overall, a very good cake I will be making again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Wow! This was delicious. Made it for my friend's 30th birthday party and there wasn't a crumb left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Really yummy!!! The cake is not too sweet and the icing is rich and delicious. The perfect combination!! I cooked in a 9x13 pan and poured the icing on top while it was still warm enough to spread out naturally. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      The BEST chocolate cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This cake is heaven. Oh my goodness. It stays moist for days, and is so deliciously chocolatey... mmm. Perfection. Can you tell I'm in love? lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was outrageously good!! I added a teaspoon of pure espresso powder to the recipe, and baked the cake in two 9" round cake pans. The cake was moist and rich, and the frosting took it over the top! Mmmmmm...delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      It was so moist and delicious! I used a large pan and maybe should have cooked it longer, but it definitely wasn't raw. I'd recommend something more dense for a fondant cake (which is what I used the recipe for). It still turned out great, just had to work with it a little more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      this is one of the best cakes i have ever had...and the frosting is AMAZING!!!! simply AMAZING!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Awsome cake. Made 3 layers, cooked for 25 mins and made the frosting too, it all turned out really well. When I want a good recipe, the reviews are SO helpful in deciding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This is my all time favorite cake recipe ever!! My DH hasn't let me buy another boxed cake mix since the first time I made this recipe! We even love to make it without the frosting! The cake is sweet and moist all on it's own. Glad to see it posted in here, I usually get the recipe from the back of the Hershey's cocoa can, but this time I bought generic. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This is a great make-ahead cake. I made the cake layers a week in advance and froze them. I made the frosting 3 days in advance and refrigerated it. I assembled the cake the day before serving it and it tasted like a freshly baked cake. I used the suggestions of replacing the 1 cup of boling water with 1 cup of hot coffee and I added 1 tablespoon of light corn syrup to the frosting to give it a gloss. Everyone loved this cake. It is of course very chocolatey so do serve it with vanilla ice cream or a glass of cold milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on November 27, 2009

      Delicious! Made for Thanksgiving dessert and everybody loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is a fabulous cake - I have been making them in cup cakes, and they are so YUM! Would highly recommend, as they deliver on flavour being moist, rich and chocolatey, but so easy to make as well. I LOVE easy to mix cakes!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This was the perfect cake! Moist. Rich. And VERY chocolatey! GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I've made this many times now and it's delicious. Moist and rich. I have made with eggs and also with Ener-G Egg Replacer since my son is allergic to eggs. Turns out great both ways. We also LOVE the frosting. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Plus a whole lot more. The cake is light yet dense and moist. and aoh so chocolaty. The frosting is DIVINE. I cut the recipe in half to make just one layer BUT kept the full frosting recipe and it was perfect. I did not add all the milk but then I didn't measure the icing sugar perfectly either. It is sweet but not that icky icing usgar sweet. I am drooling just writing this. This is major keeper for me and going ii my Divine recipes of 2009 cookbook. Made for Pac Fall 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Rather than using regular milk or an egg, I used Almond Milk and Energ-G egg replacer because I'm Vegan. I also halved the recipe. It tasted great and was very moist. I don't know why but it fell flat in the middle? I think next time I'll bake it longer because the middle stuck to the pan..don't know what that's about either. Overall, great taste and very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Made for my husband's birthday, Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      This was a delicious and so-easy-to-make cake. I prepared it for my daughters twelfth birthday. She loved it. I used all butter (melted) rather than the vegetable oil. We didn't use the frosting recipe, since she wanted a vanilla frosting instead. We used #55965. I look forward to trying this frosting the next time I make this cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (2009 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2123
    33%
    Total Fat 235.9 g
    363%
    Saturated Fat 83.2 g
    416%
    Cholesterol 661.5 mg
    220%
    Sodium 5893.5 mg
    245%
    Total Carbohydrate 1013.2 g
    337%
    Dietary Fiber 28.5 g
    114%
    Sugars 753.9 g
    3015%
    Protein 69.4 g
    138%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes