Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2011

      Thanks for posting this recipe! I use it all the time. I even used it to make a cake shaped like Lightning McQueen from the Cars movie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Moist and delicious! Made a wonderful birthday cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Fantastic!! Moist and awesome! Followed the cake and icing recipe for hubby's birthday cake and it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      I think this is the cake I usually make and I got it off the Hershey's cocoa tin. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This is the chocolate cake my mom has been making forEVER. It is sooooooooo good. I made one with chocolate chips (which was great even w/o frosting) and one without chips. YUM! Totally quenched my chocolate cake craving and much faster than most recipes I've seen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      It's perfect chocolate cake !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This is the most moist cake I have ever made! Thank you so much for sharing! I ran out of powdered sugar and had to substitute granulated sugar, so it didn't come out the way it should have, but it was still very delicious!! My family loved it and it was so simple to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This is a recipe that my Mother-in-law has had for years and it's been a staple at birthday parties for years. Last year I made it for my side of the family and I have been ordered to make it for every party. It really is one of the most yummiest cakes ever! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Really great chocolate cake!! I loved being able to make a "from scratch" chocolate cake with ingredients I already had on hand. My cakes looked beautiful as I took them out of the oven, then each ended up sinking a bit in the middle. I'm not sure why. That is the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars. The frosting was the star. Oh my gosh, it was delicious! Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Originally, I made cup cakes. A lot of cup cakes, with a touch of cinnamon in batter. Delish!!! So was the icing. About runny icing, it firms up as it cools. Best ever taste and texture for both cake and icing. Today I made a sheet cake, vanilla with orange zest. Wonderful and used the chocolate icing, delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Really good chocolate cake! I used another brand of Cocoa and sprinkled hazelnuts over the top and tasted amazing. I used skim milk for both cake and frosting, and butter for the frosting. I took the cake to the Swiss Club Family Day (my boyfriend's family are Swiss, and you all know Switzerland makes the best chocolates on Earth) and everybody liked it (the cake was gone in seconds). My boyfriend fell in love with the frosting. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Yummy!! This is exactly what i was looking for. I didnt make the cake but the frosting was even better than canned. The recipe doesnt say when to add the vanilla extract so i just threw it in when alternating the milk and sugar. I also added about a cup of peanut butter and about a quarter cup extra of milk. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I loved the cake! I like the idea that I could make it with ingredents that I have on hand. My daughter said home made tastes so much better than a box. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because the frosting seemed runny. The frosting tasted good, just runny. Next time I will either put less milk or add more powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Thia is a perfect cake that is a chocolate lovers dream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      5 stars! We can only speak for the cake part, as we used a different frosting, but the cake was very moist and yummy...and not overly sweet! We halved the recipe and used part in a loaf pan (for a small birthday cake for a family member), and the rest for cupcakes. The cake baked for 25-30 minutes, and the cupcakes in about 15. It was perfect, and we will definitely use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This cake was pretty good! It was moist and chocolatey, but not too rich. I made a chocolate cream cheese frosting for it and put it in the fridge to chill. I like cold chocolate cake with chilled frosting :))))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Very good basic chocolate cake! I thought it could have used a little "something", though. Next time I think I'll add a little cinnamon, and maybe take someone's else suggestion of using freshly brewed hot coffee in place of the boiling water. Overall, a very good cake I will be making again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Wow! This was delicious. Made it for my friend's 30th birthday party and there wasn't a crumb left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Really yummy!!! The cake is not too sweet and the icing is rich and delicious. The perfect combination!! I cooked in a 9x13 pan and poured the icing on top while it was still warm enough to spread out naturally. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      The BEST chocolate cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (2009 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6366.4
     
    Calories from Fat 2123
    33%
    Total Fat 235.9 g
    363%
    Saturated Fat 83.2 g
    416%
    Cholesterol 661.5 mg
    220%
    Sodium 5893.5 mg
    245%
    Total Carbohydrate 1013.2 g
    337%
    Dietary Fiber 28.5 g
    114%
    Sugars 753.9 g
    3015%
    Protein 69.4 g
    138%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites