110 Reviews

I will write my review on this one since there isn't any yet and because you also included the icing recipe. I wanted to make my DH a birthday cake and was willing to attempt my sister's recipe for Choc Truffle Cake, which is an awesome cake but time consuming and I didn't have all of the ingredients at home to make it. I remember making the recipe for choc icing on the back of the Hershey's Cocoa box and thinking at the time that someday I'll try the cake recipe. As I was looking in the cupboard for the ingredients I would need to make my sister's recipe, I looked at the Hershey's Cocoa box and remembered. Time was of the essence and as it turned out, I had all of the ingredients in my pantry to make the Hershey cake. It was simply divine and although my sister's cake is also, this was less work. My DH loved it!! Now I plan on making it for my girlfriend for her birthday, as she adores chocolate. One thing I did different for the icing recipe was, for convenience sake of not having to measure the powdered sugar, I just used the whole box, which if you are able to purchase it, it comes measured as approximately 3 3/4 cup sugar and the added amount was unnoticed and actually probably helped by making a little extra. I also used my potato peeler on a large Hershey's choc bar and used the shaved choc as decoration on the top of the cake. It really added to the presentation of the cake (and it was simple - my sister is a professional and is very creative in decorating - I look for the easy ways to still get an okay result. It didn't look as good as hers would have but it certainly looked decadent). This is an awesome recipe and I will probably use it from now on as "the" recipe for chocolate cake and icing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckambic March 08, 2009

I had to make some high-altitude adjustments (for 4,700 ft.) I reduced the baking powder and baking soda to 1 1/4 teaspoons each. I increased the milk to 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons and increased the boiling water to 1 cup and 3 tablespoons. I used unsalted butter, not oil. The batter was thin almost to the point of being liquid. I increased the oven temp to 375 degrees. The result was the best from-scratch chocolate cake ever! Rich, dark and moist and perfectly matched to the chocolate frosting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beryl S. November 30, 2006

This is the best chocolate cake! I love chocolate cake and have had many but this is the best one. It is moist and delicious and the chocolate flavor is smooth. Excellent! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I didn't make the frosting because the cake is so moist that it doesn't need it. Highly, highly recommended! Also, it stores very well. I just had the last piece today after storing it, on the counter covered with foil, for four days and it tasted just as good as day one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy November 28, 2005

It is very good, and you don't have to be a baker. My family loves it and its almost as simple as out of the box, but far better. Try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvedahl February 07, 2016

I made this cake for a children's party--I needed a cake and cupcakes. I doubled the recipe and it gave me 2 round 9 inch cakes and 24 normal sized cupcakes. I probably could have gotten 26 or 28 cupcakes if I had filled them with less batter. I greased and floured the pan as directed--used a metal sieve to dust the pan with flour, poured out extra. I didn't do anything to the muffin tins, just put in a baking cup. (That was my main question about converting these into cupcakes when I was checking out this recipe!) The result is good, although mine collapsed into the side of the pan instead of giving me pretty, stable, fluffy cupcakes. I think this recipe is def. best as a cake. The batter is very runny, so I should have filled the cups only 1/2 way instead of 3/4. I had MAJOR overfill, but not a huge deal. I haven't tried to get the cakes out of the pans yet but they have pulled away at the sides, I will update if they stick horribly to the bottom of the pan. I ate one for good measure: it has a very mild taste but is super moist! I used half salted butter, half sunflower seed oil, and reduced the salt. Next time, I would try the hot coffee or a sprinkle of cinnamon. The taste is just not extraordinary, but its simple and nice for children.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabijo S. August 01, 2015

Amazing chocolate cake! The first time I made this, everyone couldn't believe how delicious is truly was! I took the suggestions of fellow reviewers: instead of 1/2 cup of oil, I used 1/4 olive oil and 1/4 melted butter. Amazing!!! This cake is so simple to make and the instructions are spot on. I am currently making this for our Christmas dinner tomorrow, everyone is so excited for it! Thank you for my forever chocolate cake recipe! Oh! The chocolate frosting is to die for as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiska1987 December 25, 2014

I have been making this cake for many years. It has never failed me and comes out perfect every single time. I make one of these for Thanksgiving every year, my family expects it. I have sometimes said I was going to make something else like cheesecake, but they want their chocolate cake. It's so easy to make, no creaming butter and sugar together like most cake recipes and regular flour works just fine, no need to use cake flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whirley Mom November 27, 2014

42 minutes in a 9x13. Excellent cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc May 18, 2014

Amazing recipe! The original recipe makes a huge cake but I halved the recipe with a few modifications. I added some good quality chocolate chips, walnuts and used half cup of brown sugar and half cup of white sugar instead of 1 cup white sugar. The cake was deliciously moist and yummy! This is was a pleasure to bake and EAT needless to say. Try the brown sugar and chocolate chips & walnuts- awesomeness guaranteed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sri R. February 14, 2014

Frosting and cake were off the chain good! The frosting was amazing and combined they were definitely a treat enjoyed by all. Nothing left. Thank you for an awesome recipe and taking the time to share. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Domestic Diva December 25, 2013
Hershey's Chocolate Cake With Frosting