42 Reviews

I made these exactly as posted, with no added nuts or marshmallows. They are moist and delicious! We loved them. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 09, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed these brownies, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore March 08, 2010

Wonderful and easy to make brownies. I liked not having to sift all the dry ingredients together! I like the versatility as well; tonight I purchased some miniature marshmallows for the next time, which I'm hoping is soon! Thanks, Roberta Hughes, for posting this classic. Made for Best of 2009 Cookbook Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 21, 2010

Fantastic brownies. Like many of the other reviewers, we began making these years ago from the recipe printed on the back of the cocoa package. They are a family tradition that my teens are now baking on their own. This recipe is so popular that it is included in Jean Anderson's "The American Century Coobook - The Most Popular Recipes of the 20th Century." Over the years I have tried all types of extra "stir-ins" such as chocolate chips, raisins, various nuts, M&M's. chopped candy bars, marshmallows, etc. Thanks for sharing Roberta Hughes :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast July 28, 2009

Fantastic recipe! While I don't eat chocolate, my husband loves it - and his comment on these brownies was, "these are EVIL!" This is definately one I'll make often - easy and amazing! **Update** I've made this one five times since posting the review for regular meetings I attend - and they always beg for the same thing again! Great recipe - I throw in different kinds of chocolate chips and/or nuts to change it up - AWESOME recipe! **Update #2 - This time I made them "rocky road", baking them as normal, then adding 3 cups of mini marshmallows and 1 cup of chocolate chips to the top, and returned them to the oven for 3-5 minutes to slightly melt them. WONDERFUL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen June 06, 2009

Very good brownies! I was jokingly teasing my fiance that he should make me something sweet. Knowing that he rarely steps foot in the kitchen I didn't think it would happen. Surprisingly, he said if I could find a recipe simple enough for him, he would make them. BINGO! This was the winner. They couldn't have been easier and they tasted great. Thanks Roberta!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 May 21, 2009

OMGGGGGGG, these are the best brownies i ever tasted, I mixed mine all by hand, didn t want to overbeat and they would come out cakey, they came out perfect , like a brownie should be..... thank you for posting Roberta Will be making these AGAIN and AGAIN

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
germie3 March 19, 2009

My family thought it was absolutely the Best Brownies ever. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
creativebeauty January 09, 2009

Used this recipe for years in my family. I was glad to see it on here; I had lost the recipe to my mother when she moved. We would make brownie sundays, (an oven fresh brownie, scoop vanilla ice cream, peanuts, and hot fudge topping) such a sinfully delicious treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliaLane November 16, 2008
Hershey's Best Brownies