Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hero Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hero Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2009

      I'd have to agree that the sauce itself lacked something...not sure what. However, this is super easy to whip up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This was delicious! I stuck the bread, meat and cheese combo under the broiler to toast first before adding all the other fixins'. I used turkey and roast beef.I also used salad vinegar. Super easy and the whole family like it. Better than anything the sub shops around here have to offer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      i made on 6 inch hoagie rolls and it was AWESOME!!! My husband had 2 of them. I also toasted the rolls on both sides on a low broil in my oven, then added butter, honey dijon mustard, meat, and cheese, and retoasted in oven till the cheese melted. Then I added all the other ingredients. Will definitely make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I made this exactly as described. My husband hated the sauce to the point that he said the sandwich tasted "off" and he couldn't eat it. I had most of mine and thought it was fine, not great but edible. Sorry, I don't know if it's because we've never had a hero sandwich before but this one just didn't work for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I made up the mayonnaise mixture and used it on individual French Rolls. I don't like alot of spread on my sandwiches so I used about 2 tsp per roll. I followed the rest of the recipe except for the pickles and tomatoes. It was just delicious and we all loved it. I will make this regularly. Thx so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      This was an excellent sandwich recipe, that I find extremely versatile. The mayo mixture was soooo good. I think this would be excellent with Italian meats too - minus the honey dijon. Thanks for this quick and easy weeknight and/or bag lunch recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Now THAT's a Sandwich (with a big S!)!! Used some deli turkey and some nice Swiss cheese. Also used regular Dijon mustard instead of honey dijon. Used small baguettes and made individual sandwiches. Also decided to grill it a few minutes in my George Foreman grill. Thanks evelyn for a wonderful sandwich!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I fell in love with the mayonnaise herb mixture on this sandwich. It really does bring out the best of the other flavors. The tip to butter the bread before spreading with the mustard and mayo worked well, too. I prepared and sampled the sandwich for lunch, wrapped tightly in Saran and stored in the fridge until the next day with no soggy bread at all. Excellent sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      I wanted an easy meal to prepare tonight and am so glad I chose this one! The mayo vinegar mixture was a delightful taste experience. It added a wonderful touch to what would otherwise have been just a plain sandwich. I used deli turkey and ham for the meats. Since I was out of tabasco sauce, I substituted a dash of cayenne pepper. I also used 1 t of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. I served these sandwiches with some tortilla chips and velveeta/rotel dip. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hero Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.9
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    35%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1647.7 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    honey dijon mustard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites