Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heritage Bread and Butter Pickle - Pickled Cucumber and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heritage Bread and Butter Pickle - Pickled Cucumber and Onions

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2009

      OK - right now this review is based on ease of preparation since you should leave them sit for 2 months. However I would like to clarify the metric/imperial units for those of us in the US attempting this one. I used 2 cups of vinegar (although I wimped and used cider not malt), 3/4 cup sugar, and approximately 6-7 cups of sliced cucumbers (after all 'large' is relative). I based my cuke quantity on similar recipes with that much liquid. I will update this review once I taste test - that would be around Halloween!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      These bring back childhood memories. Try them on toast and peanut butter...YUMMMM. Just downright delicious - and that's from a food snob.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Made these last summer with the end of my cucumbers. Subbed cider vinegar for the malt, but otherwise made as written. Opened yesterday for my first taste - delicious! These had a nice mild sweetness, and the amount of onion gave them a savory note too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      YUM! these look so good I can hardly wait 'til the end of October!! I can tell just by looking they are gonna be delicious and it will be hard to wait. They are hiding in a cool dark place (: And so easy to make, I got 6 pints, used walla walla sweet onions and two huge cucumbers. This is the first time I have used Splenda in pickles, so sampling the result should be interesting! See ya in October!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I have a similar recipe that goes over really well. Except that my recipe calls for one green pepper thinly sliced. Give it a try I think you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I cheated and opened the first jar only 3 weeks after making them.. The jar didn't last an hour. Best pickle recipe I have made so far, with such simple ingredients.. time efficient too. This one is a keeper and I'm making another batch this morning. Thankyou :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Finally got up the courage to make this recipe, & although (in all honesty) I haven't tasted them yet, I KNOW (from past experience with this chef's recipes) that these will turn out to be some of the best tasting bread & butter pickles I'll ever taste! But, the taste test isn't until the middle of July, & if YOU need an immediate pickle fix, I suggest you try one of her other quick pickle recipes! [Made & reviewed as a bonus recipe for one of my teammates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #16]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      We had our picnic chicken, we had our coleslaw, we had the chips. But no pickles. "Where are the pickles, Andi?" Dennis asked while he was rooting through the canning cupboard. "Dennis, you ate the last jar in February....and we don't have anymore left." I replied. I thought about it for a second.....hmmmmm, I remember FT putting something about a quick pickle with onions that maybe I can put together so we can have it least for the weekend to enjoy. I had already cut up cucumbers and onions from the luncheon the other day, so I had plenty for two jars. I followed this exactly to a tee, except I threw in about 5 little pieces of red pepper flakes ...well just for the heck of it. Now they are canned and ready to go but alas, I don't think they will last until the next picnic. Yummy FT! Made for the occasion of FT's *Birthday* May 5, 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heritage Bread and Butter Pickle - Pickled Cucumber and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (2017 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.0
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    46%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10493.5 mg
    437%
    Total Carbohydrate 117.2 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 93.1 g
    372%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites