Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herbed Roast Chicken for Crock Pot (With Bonus Stock) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herbed Roast Chicken for Crock Pot (With Bonus Stock)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2009

      I'm sorry but my family didn't like this at all. The combination of thyme and citrus is just weird.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      DELICIOUS! I made as written except I did not include lemons because I wanted my stock for chicken and dumplings. My chickens were 4 pounds and the chicken was cooked at 2.75 hours! I love the flavor of the chicken and the broth. Thank you for a great recipe, gourmetmomma! Made for the Think Pink Tag Game In Honor of Breast Cancer Awareness, October 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Taste wise I would rate this a "4" - don't usu rate things a "5" unless it WOWS my family; however, with the bonus stock this recipe produces, it earns an extra star! This was very good the first night as roast chicken, the leftovers I used with Chicken Cheese Lasagna. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I sent this to my husband to make while I was out of town, and it was delicious. Easy and very flavorful. The stock is a great bonus, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was very good. I used an orange instead of lemon. Used dried herbs and I used season salt instead of regular. Very moist and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Gourmetmomma, hubby and I loved how moist this came out. Amazingly so. Inexpensive also, you get the roast chicken meal, the stock for soup, and chicken for another meal. I used a slow cooker liner so the clean up was convenient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I had trouble getting the lid down on my crockpot with a 6lb "oven stuffer" roasting chicken. Tin foil to the rescue, but because the lid was loose and fussed with, it took about 5.5 hours to cook by the meat thermometer. The meat was moist, tender, and well-flavored, even falling off the bone (wings at bottom of crockpot) Next time, I'll test-fit the bird and either break the back or use fewer veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Delightful recipe! Instructions were so very easy to follow! My chicken was moist and flavorful; the stock richly flavored. As well as using the lemon under the skin, I put some the cavity along with some more onion. After 5 hours in the slow cooker, I lifted the chicken out to a pan and roasted on high heat for 10 minutes to brown it up. That also gave me a great pan sauce started. We ate most of the chicken for dinner last night and I let the stock simmer until this morning. After it cools, I plan to freeze it in ice cube trays then transfer to a freezer zipper bag for easy access. This is a *great* recipe that I will come back to over and over again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This is a really fantastic easy recipe to make, I actually used a small 8 lb turkey and I didn't use the lemon because I wasn't sure how that would flavor the gravy I was planning to make with the juice of the turkey. I did however use everything else and got a great flavor in my turkey. It was fabulous! I ended up cooking it about 4 hours and then went to put in the liquid but there was already so much from the turkey I didn't need anymore. I did end up putting the turkey under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp it up, it was quite delicious and I will use this recipe again as it makes a fabulous meal! Thanks gourmetmomma for a fabulous Fall Pac 2007 recipe. I won't forget this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This is now my favourite crock-pot recipe. I have a BIG slow cooker and I tend to do all my cooking overnight for freezing. I did a double recipe on low for 8 hours and woke this morning to a fantastic smell and lovely, melt in the mouth chicken. I popped one of the chooks into a hot oven for 20 min to brown it, and have used the other for 3 recipes using cooked chicken. Mmmmm, lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herbed Roast Chicken for Crock Pot (With Bonus Stock)

    Serving Size: 1 (484 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 835.3
     
    Calories from Fat 539
    64%
    Total Fat 59.9 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 2039.0 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 58.6 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites