Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herbed Lentils and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herbed Lentils and Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2008

      This was wonderful and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used minced onions instead of a regular onion. I also used chicken broth. It was a great, different side dish for us. Everyone enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      We loved this!! I used shredded mozzarella in the mix and topped with swiss cheese slices. Toddler, Hubby, and I all thought it is one of the best lentil dishes we have had. We get 500 calories for dinner so I paired it with Broccoli Slaw Broccoli Slaw for a fresh veggie on the side. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This is really good and easy! Was a great side dish for roast chicken. I used mozzarella, but think Swiss would have worked better, so will use that next time. The herb ratio was just right for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I tagged for Zaar Stars. I'm trying to get more lentils in my family, but having a hard time! 2 liked this, 2 didn't. I really liked it. I added some TVP for added protein and upped the broth a bit. Used the stated amount of seasonings, except less pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. Also used mozzarella. Thanks Engrossed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Yum. We had this for dinner tonight. I loved it and DD liked it. Thanks for a wonderful, vegetarian entree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I had this dish as a side to Salmon Steaks with Strawberry Sauce. I am not normally a lentil eater, however this particular dish was extremely palatble. The textures and subtle herbal blend was very satisfying. I was impressed by the flavors brought to brown rice by the additon of broth, herbs, lenntils, and chesse. I would make this dish for my very picky sister and I'm positve she'll enjoy it. We had the dish with Monterey Jack instead of swiss. I think the change was a small one however I'm going to try it with the swiss the next time I have it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I made this last night with our salmon dinner and it was a huge hit! I did use red lentils which I added in the last 25 minutes. The only change I had to do was use monterey jack cheese in place of the swiss as it was what I had on hand. Delicious - the family is already asking for this again! I cooked it for 1 hour and 25 minutes at 350 in my oven and could probably back it off another 10 minutes or more. Obviously, red lentils cook faster than some others but this timing was fine. **Made for February Beverage Tag 2008**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      this was a great side dish that could probably be a main course with some added mushrooms and extra veggies. great flavor and easy to make.i used the vegetable stock and swiss cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herbed Lentils and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 401.4
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    23%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 27.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 745.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 12.7 g
    50%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites