8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used minced onions instead of a regular onion. I also used chicken broth. It was a great, different side dish for us. Everyone enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 02, 2008

We loved this!! I used shredded mozzarella in the mix and topped with swiss cheese slices. Toddler, Hubby, and I all thought it is one of the best lentil dishes we have had. We get 500 calories for dinner so I paired it with Broccoli Slaw Broccoli Slaw for a fresh veggie on the side. AWESOME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alisha.mills March 09, 2013

This is really good and easy! Was a great side dish for roast chicken. I used mozzarella, but think Swiss would have worked better, so will use that next time. The herb ratio was just right for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey September 14, 2008

I tagged for Zaar Stars. I'm trying to get more lentils in my family, but having a hard time! 2 liked this, 2 didn't. I really liked it. I added some TVP for added protein and upped the broth a bit. Used the stated amount of seasonings, except less pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. Also used mozzarella. Thanks Engrossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead May 12, 2008

Yum. We had this for dinner tonight. I loved it and DD liked it. Thanks for a wonderful, vegetarian entree.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario May 05, 2008

I had this dish as a side to Salmon Steaks with Strawberry Sauce. I am not normally a lentil eater, however this particular dish was extremely palatble. The textures and subtle herbal blend was very satisfying. I was impressed by the flavors brought to brown rice by the additon of broth, herbs, lenntils, and chesse. I would make this dish for my very picky sister and I'm positve she'll enjoy it. We had the dish with Monterey Jack instead of swiss. I think the change was a small one however I'm going to try it with the swiss the next time I have it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kymber _71 March 02, 2008

I made this last night with our salmon dinner and it was a huge hit! I did use red lentils which I added in the last 25 minutes. The only change I had to do was use monterey jack cheese in place of the swiss as it was what I had on hand. Delicious - the family is already asking for this again! I cooked it for 1 hour and 25 minutes at 350 in my oven and could probably back it off another 10 minutes or more. Obviously, red lentils cook faster than some others but this timing was fine. **Made for February Beverage Tag 2008**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva February 28, 2008

this was a great side dish that could probably be a main course with some added mushrooms and extra veggies. great flavor and easy to make.i used the vegetable stock and swiss cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia November 28, 2007
Herbed Lentils and Rice