Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herbal Ice Cubes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herbal Ice Cubes

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2007

      A friend of mine has been telling me to freeze herbs forever, but I was never inspired to do it until I saw your pictures. I just put my first batch in the freezer, and it was SO easy. I started about 3 cups of water boiling as I started mincing (I made three ice cube trays). I quickly packed the herbs into a tablespoon measuring spoon before transferring them to the ice cubes trays. This will let me use one cube per tablespoon, and I'll know exactly how many to take out of the freezer. Then I used a half cup dry measuring cup to scoop water out of the pot, so no mess and no water all over the counter. I'll never throw away wilty fresh herbs again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I've been growing & harvesting my own herbs for a few years. I've read it's better to blanch you herbs, however, until I saw your recipe I didn't realize how easy it is to do. I used a herb mincer & bar-size ice cube trays (those tiny ice cubes). I used a wine cork to pack down herbs, poured on the water & froze... vola! I like how green the herbs stay & they're easier to pop into my cooking. Thanks so much for sharing, now I can't wait for spring to start planting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      Fantastic idea! Just tried the basil that I froze last summer, and it was amazing. I followed Karen67's tip to measure out the herbs before freezing, thereby eliminating guesswork while utilizing. Thanks, ladies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I made these about a month ago, but waited to review until I actually tried it in some recipes. I froze chives and basil and in both recipes the flavors tasted almost fresh picked. MUCH MUCH better than dried! Also I didn't have any ice trays, so I used silicone/flexible mini muffin pan for freezing. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Wonderful solution to my over zealous planting of basil! By trial and error, I found it best to have the water already boiling as I quickly minced & stuffed the trays otherwise the basil darkened. My best batches are still fairly bright green after 1 month in the freezer. Can't wait to try this with other herbs that don't overwinter here in Texas. Thanks for posting this winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      Do you have a microwave version of this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      What a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Thank you for sharing this easy technique. No more (expensive) fresh herbs going rotten and finding their way into my trash can. I tried this with cilantro so far with excellent results! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Thank you for saving me the distress of throwing dried-out or refrigerator-soggy herbs out with the rubbish. This works a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      We did this to our extra herbs because our garden just sprouted like crazy. Our cilantro grew so much - it eventually fell over and out of the pot. Good thing I saved some and used this method. It saves us a ton of money in the long run because we are not using store bought herbs. We paid $2 for the plant and it paid for itself 4x that at least. Thanks for such a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I've been wanting to freeze some of my extra herbs but have never gotten around to doing it. Your photos convinced me to try it. I tried some Italian parsley and basil from the garden and my cubes look fresh and green! Thanks for the inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I have had this recipe saved for ages but finally got around to trying it out. I always end up buying a whole bunch of a herb and never get around to using it all up before it goes off. This recipe has changed that and I will be doing this for now on. I tried it with cilantro and have been popping the ice cubes into soups when needed. Thanks for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      this is a GREAT use for extra herbs. it is now December and i am still enjoying my basil from this past summer. Carla - thanks so much for this wonderful idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I'm so tickled I will have basil in the winter! Thank you! I did basil this time and will do rosemary and thyme next. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      I find that after blanching a quick dip in an ice bath helps to preserve the verdant colors of the herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      The perfect way to preserve that bounty of fresh herbs in the summertime, or anytime! So easy & convenient!! Thanks Carla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Thank you! I have basil for the first time in my small garden. I was worried about what to do with all of it. This works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      Worked like a charm, easily defrosted and ready to use. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

    • on June 20, 2007

      5 stars for an excellent idea for saving the freshness of herbs. Sandi's photo is definiately better than mine, so please keep hers as the default. I always have herbs in my fridge and hate to waste them so this is perfect. Please see my rating system: 5 brilliant stars for a way to not waste herbs and to be able to throw them into soups and stews and drinks at a later date. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herbal Ice Cubes

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites