30 Reviews

I'd like to offer a few suggestions for this recipe. For a crispier bird, first of all you dont need to cover this or add water >> (the natural juices are enough) Make sure the chicken is entirely coated in your oil/herb mixture. Preheat your oven to about 400 Deg. ,then turn it down to 350 after you put your chicken in. (this will help seal in the moisture) Cook for about 1 1/2 hours and baste with the oil at the bottom of the pan after every 30 minutes. When you see the legs start to separate from the bird, and the top is browned, it's done., And it's still juicy. I added more salt than the recipe stated , also garlic powder AFTER it was coated with the oil mixture. This turned out great with my adjustments.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodFromSicily June 16, 2007

Super moist and yummy. I didnt' use the water but did add some water the bottom of the pan and cooked it with the lid on for 50min then took the lid off for the lsat 10 min and it made a crispy skin. I will definitly use this again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowling April 25, 2010

I used about a 5 lb fryer and followed the instructions exactly. In an hour the chicken was nowhere near done. After re-reading the reviews, I took the foil off to let the chicken brown for 15 minutes. Didn't work. I put the foil back on, making sure to seal it tightly and checked on it 30 minutes later. Still wasn't done. I then resealed the foil and raised the temperature to 400 and cooked it about 15 more minutes at which point it finally was done enough, though not as brown and crispy as I like. I generally don't have problems with my oven, so either I did something wrong (I might not have sealed the foil tightly enough) or the recipe writers idea of a large bird is different from mine. I'm willing to give this a second try (though I'd probably try different spices) and if it comes out any better I'll update my review.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Curtis November 15, 2003

This was an amazing dish. It made everyone happy when the ate it. High calories, but very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barnabus76 November 17, 2013

tried this receipe this evening and to be honest i was not happy with the results.............after cooking it for the hour it said i needed to put it back in for another thirty five minutes and after that it still seemed undercooked.............i read another review and it mentions up the temperature next time so hopefully i will attempt this again in the future and it will turn out better

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GusTovia April 20, 2013

This is so moist and the BEST roasted chicken I have ever eaten! It is even better the next day. Like others, I did not add the water, I just covered the roasting pan with foil. I did not make any other adjustments to the recipe. Thank you for sharing such any easy and delicious recipe!! I just realized I never rated my review (over 1 year later). 5 stars all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
landlocked #2 March 28, 2010

I used the recipe yesterday when I made our little Thanksgiving meal for our son whose home from the service. I liked how simple this was to prepare and the taste was great. I will use the again and try different herbs each time. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 09, 2009

Easy and delicious!! I add fresh herbs that I grow seasonally and throw in a couple of onions. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckimberlycook August 02, 2009

this was my second time roasting a chicken and i'm sorry to report this was not my fave recipe. i used butter w/spices last time and definitely preferred that. This WAS moist and juicy which is why i was generous w/my star rating. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cass and sam March 16, 2009

I also did not add the water or cover it! I only made a 3 and a half pound chicken and had to bake it much longer than stated. However it was definately moist, and had wonderful flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrdaisy103 January 16, 2009
Herb Roasted Whole Chicken