Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb Roasted Whole Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb Roasted Whole Chicken

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2007

      I'd like to offer a few suggestions for this recipe. For a crispier bird, first of all you dont need to cover this or add water >> (the natural juices are enough) Make sure the chicken is entirely coated in your oil/herb mixture. Preheat your oven to about 400 Deg. ,then turn it down to 350 after you put your chicken in. (this will help seal in the moisture) Cook for about 1 1/2 hours and baste with the oil at the bottom of the pan after every 30 minutes. When you see the legs start to separate from the bird, and the top is browned, it's done., And it's still juicy. I added more salt than the recipe stated , also garlic powder AFTER it was coated with the oil mixture. This turned out great with my adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Super moist and yummy. I didnt' use the water but did add some water the bottom of the pan and cooked it with the lid on for 50min then took the lid off for the lsat 10 min and it made a crispy skin. I will definitly use this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      I used about a 5 lb fryer and followed the instructions exactly. In an hour the chicken was nowhere near done. After re-reading the reviews, I took the foil off to let the chicken brown for 15 minutes. Didn't work. I put the foil back on, making sure to seal it tightly and checked on it 30 minutes later. Still wasn't done. I then resealed the foil and raised the temperature to 400 and cooked it about 15 more minutes at which point it finally was done enough, though not as brown and crispy as I like. I generally don't have problems with my oven, so either I did something wrong (I might not have sealed the foil tightly enough) or the recipe writers idea of a large bird is different from mine. I'm willing to give this a second try (though I'd probably try different spices) and if it comes out any better I'll update my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      This was an amazing dish. It made everyone happy when the ate it. High calories, but very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      tried this receipe this evening and to be honest i was not happy with the results.............after cooking it for the hour it said i needed to put it back in for another thirty five minutes and after that it still seemed undercooked.............i read another review and it mentions up the temperature next time so hopefully i will attempt this again in the future and it will turn out better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is so moist and the BEST roasted chicken I have ever eaten! It is even better the next day. Like others, I did not add the water, I just covered the roasting pan with foil. I did not make any other adjustments to the recipe. Thank you for sharing such any easy and delicious recipe!! I just realized I never rated my review (over 1 year later). 5 stars all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I used the recipe yesterday when I made our little Thanksgiving meal for our son whose home from the service. I liked how simple this was to prepare and the taste was great. I will use the again and try different herbs each time. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Easy and delicious!! I add fresh herbs that I grow seasonally and throw in a couple of onions. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      this was my second time roasting a chicken and i'm sorry to report this was not my fave recipe. i used butter w/spices last time and definitely preferred that. This WAS moist and juicy which is why i was generous w/my star rating. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I also did not add the water or cover it! I only made a 3 and a half pound chicken and had to bake it much longer than stated. However it was definately moist, and had wonderful flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This recipe gets stars for being the most moist chicken I've had in a long time, which makes me think it's a very good preparation method. However, after an hour of cooking as directed, the chicken was not done, the skin was still wet and yellow and not at all crispy. I added two pats of butter and two crushed garlic cloves inserted beneath the skin, and substituted beer for water. My chicken was 4.28 pounds and I ended up cooking it for about two and a half hours. I removed the foil for about the last 15 minutes, in an attempt to crisp up the skin, but only the top got crisp. It also seemed a tiny bit lacking in flavor to me. This wasn't a big deal to me, as I'm using most of the chicken to shred for enchilada casserole and was only cooking for myself, but if I'd been serving it as a main dish, I'd have been disappointed. Next time, I will use more herbs and take the foil off for the last half hour of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This is a great way to prepare chicken - very flavorful. to the listed ingredients, I added the juice of 1 lemon and 3 cloves of pressed garlic. The resulting bird was delicious! I found that 1 hour was not even close to the correct cooking time. I used a 5 pound chicken and had to cook it for at least 2 hours before the juices ran clear from the cavity. (I think my chicken was quite a bit larger than what was intended when you posted this recipe.) This was so tasty, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I found that the cooking time was not enough. My chicken was not a 100% cooked around the bone. And the skin was not crispy after I removed the foil. But after another 30min it was delicous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Our chicken turned out really tasty. Followed FoodFromSicily tips for cooking the chicken. I did double the spices so I could rub some of them under the skin. I did use 2 fresh garlic cloves (crushed) and placed them under the skin. I rubbed the outside with olive oil before putting the spices on. The skin came out a nice brown and crunchy( just like I like). Thanks for sharing this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This was good juicy chicken but I was dissapointed with the skin, after an hour I took the foil off and cooked another 30 minutes to brown, it did brown but was not crispy at all so I turned on the broil and let it go another 15 minutes, it did get darker but never did get crisp. We did like the flavours and it was nice and juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Thanks for posting this recipe. I popped it in the oven today, added a few extra spices and a little beer. Since the chicken was just over 4 pounds, I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and I left it in the oven for 2 hours. The meat fell off the bones, delicious and juicy. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      This is a lovely way to roast a chicken. The herbs are perfect for poultry. I added some salt and pepper inside the cavity, and some on the outside. The chicken was moist and had a comfort food taste. I thought the chicken browned up nicely. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      usually 30 min per pound of chicken remember with the bone in it takes longer to cook.i ust some other seasonings but it came out great . i also did added any water but BEER it was awesome.if you use the beer take some of the liquid about half way through cooking time add about a half of cup beer and use a brush to brush it over the chicken. gives it a great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Made this exactly as food from sicily suggested and it was delicious...... thanks theresa for the recipe and thanks food from sicily for your great tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      We love this recipe. It takes a bit longer in my oven to get a crispy skin, but it is always moist and juicy. As a variation, I sometimes add BBQ sauce at the end, uncover and get a delicious BBQ crispy "crust". Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb Roasted Whole Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (376 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 963.2
     
    Calories from Fat 721
    74%
    Total Fat 80.2 g
    123%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 266.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 57.2 g
    114%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites