14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmm, these vegetables are so tasty! I love how the roasting process brings out their natural sweetness and makes them so aromatic.
I made half the recipe but kept the amount of rosemary at 1/2 ts and added about 1/4 ts of dried sage, because I like sage. I needed only 1/8 ts salt, but thats just personal preference. For the veggies I used what was on hand: carrots, brown onions, red bell pepper and tomatoes. I liked this combination a lot but am sure, that the mix you suggest would have been equally delicious. For me the cheese on top made this extra special, it would be a wonderful addition to any fancy dinner like this (I used the swiss option and the lesser amount).
I turned the temp down to 375?F and that was plenty to get a very nice roasted brown at 30 minutes.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, NorthwestGal! Ill add it to my routine, it is so versatile, easy and yummy!
Made and reviewed for one of my babies during PAC Spring 2012.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 23, 2012

WOW!!!...WOW!!!... and Double WOW!!! I made these for New Years Eve.. and The Crowd went WILD!!!... I did however change a few things... I added yellow squash to the mix..added lots more fresh garlic..... lots more fresh rosemary...... and deleted the cheese......
My hats off to NorthwestGal !!!!! YOU ROCK!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meesch... March 31, 2012

Put everything together as listed, then GRILLED in a hole-y basket on the grill, while a pork tenderloin cooked ! The zucchini are producing at full blast, so made that the largest proportion of the veggies. Everything carmelized nicely, and DH and I ate the ENTIRE thing -- which I was planning to have leftovers. Didn't miss the cheese at all. Thanks for posting a nice combo of spices as well -- most I had fresh grown.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney July 06, 2011

These are as decadent as roasted veggies can possibly be! Yummm. Everything caramelized beautifully. I used some thyme AND some oregano - the more herbs, the better! For my vegan family, the cheese was not missed at all. The only other slight change I made was to sprinkle coarse salt on each serving, in place of regular salt. Served with Barbecue Tofu. Made for ZWT 2010, by a member of the Sassy Sailors & Co. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child May 26, 2010

DELISH!! I used swiss cheese and added some asparagus that needed to be used up. I also used fresh herbs from the garden, maybe adding a wee bit more than the recipe calls for. Many times I will "nuke" my potatoes for 2 to 4 minutes (depending on the size, don't let them get too soft) before proceeding with a recipe. That cuts down on cooking time and they are always cooked thru. We thoroughly enjoyed this! Made for ZWT6. Thanks for posting NorthwestGal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 25, 2010

We really enjoyed this! Hubby loves roasted veggies and rosemary, so I knew we had to try this one :) I used mozzarella and oregano and omitted the onion, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. While we really enjoyed the flavors, we both felt that it could use more of the herb mixture. Next time I will double the herbs and garlic. I think the swiss would be better than mozzarella as it has a stronger flavor and would add even more to the flavor. I look forward to trying this with different veggies as you suggested. Thanks for a great recipe! Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway May 08, 2010

This was delicious! I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. The mix of veggies and spices was very nice. I di foolow justcallmetoni's suggestion and cut my potaotes thin so they would cook through and that worked out well for me. Thanks NorthwestGal! Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night August 10, 2009

The flavor combination here was just delicious and enjoyed both for dinner and as an omelet filling the next day. I used fresh herbs as they are in season and straight from my garden. My one caution is to make sure the potatoes are cut fairly small so they cook as quickly as the other more tender veggies. Mine were about 4 minutes from perfect, but I didn't want to ruin the rest of the dish. (Another option would be to start roasting the tubers and add the balance after 5 or 10 minutes. Thanks NWG.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 27, 2009

What a delicious vegetable side dish. I made it along with your Angel Hair Pasta With Roasted Garlic . I used a bit more garlic because we love it so much. I used the exact same veggies you suggested, but will also try it again with others.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* June 25, 2009

Soooo good! We love roasted veggies and they came out wonderfully browned and flavorful. I had just made a run to the Farmer's Market so I had plenty of beautiful bell peppers, zucchini, yellow squash, and both red onions and vidalia onions and let's not forget mushrooms -yum! This dish went so well with my grilled salmon. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry July 14, 2014
Herb Roasted Vegetables