Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb-Roasted Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb-Roasted Chicken

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2011

      This is embarrassing, but I made this back in 2008 and have made it a couple of times just never reviewed it! My DH LOVED it but since he's the main carnivore in the house I rarely make it for him. Here are my "private notes" I wrote back in '08: added c. 2tbsp butter to cavity with poultry seasoning, onion powder, and garlic powder sprinkled & a clove of garlic. Added onion/garlic powder to herb mix on exterior. baked 375 until browned then covered and lowered oven to 350

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Very good! I threw some potatoes and carrots in an hour into cooking with 1/2 c water and covered it. The results were fabulous and I had a nice herb flavored broth to serve as gravy. TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      This chicken was absolutely fantastic! I cannot over-emphasize how good this is. I will on occasion buy a roasted chicken meal from the grocery store and it amazes me how moist and favorful their chicken is and I just assume its a packet that they have that make it so good. The secret is the brine and garlic butter rub. Absolutely amazing. A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Delicious. I did brine the chicken and mixed the butter and herbs together then put under the skin and on the top. I always cook my chickens in a clay pot and this was was GREAT. Used some of the left over for Chicken Noodle Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I made this the first time a few years ago and haven't used another recipe since. Its just that amazing. I put most of the spice/garlic butter under the skin and put onions in the cavity. It comes out amazing every time. I don't always brine it, but it does make it more juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      always wondered how chicken breasts could be made flavourful and juicy! i'm a brining convert! really great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Absolutely love this recipe with a great combination of herbs. Only changes I made was reduced the salt and sub'd buttermilk for the water. The chicken came out moist & tasty, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      This is an excellent recipe. I tried it the day after Thanksgiving and it totally exceeded my expectations. After doing a brine for this chicken, I don't want to have chicken any other way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Wouldn't change a thing!! Absolutely delish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      I made this last night and it was ABSOLUTELY delicious!! And super easy too! The changes I made were as follows:<br/><br/>1. I didn't rinse the chicken or pat with a paper towel, etc. after brining, although since there is the added salt, I think next time I will omit the additional 1/2 tsp salt in the herb rub.<br/>2. I put all the ingredients for the herb rub together along with the melted butter and garlic. I rubbed this under the skin of the chicken and on the outside.<br/>3. I used a regular glass casserole dish for baking, put the chicken breast side down.<br/>4. After 15 minutes of cooking, I added onions, red potatoes, celery, and carrots that I had chopped into large chunks, around the chicken in the casserole dish.<br/><br/>I cooked the chicken (approx. 3 lbs) for 1 hr 20 minutes. It looked BEAUTIFUL, was very tender and juicy, had a bunch of natural juices for a gravy, and tasted FANTASTIC. I highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      This was the best roast chicken I've ever made! It was very tender and had a great flavor. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

    • on May 06, 2011

      the ONLY reason that I'm giving this just four stars is because I was admittedly a lazy cook. Instead of using the myriad of herbs listed, I went straight for my poultry seasoning. I did use the lemon pepper, and I also stuffed my chicken with half of a lemon and and onion. I had a bit of a larger bird, so it did take a little longer to roast. Because of this, I covered the breast with foil for the last half hour, to keep it from drying out. It turned out so beautifully, that I was honestly sad to have to cut in to it! So good, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      Awesome! The brine really keeps this chicken moist and delicious. I mixed the herbs together and rubbed them under the chicken skin then basted the skin with the melted butter. The last hour of cooking I began basting the chicken with pan drippings about every 15 to 20 minutes. The chicken was done in 1 1/2 hours and was a real hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This is the first whole chicken I've ever cooked. I thought I overcooked it but it actually turned out very moist. I used a 6 1/2 pound roaster chicken and tripled the butter to 6 tbps and doubled the spices.

      I think it turned out well. It was yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This chicken turned out moist and delicious. I can't believe what a difference brining makes. This is the first time I have used the brining technique and it was quick and easy, and markedly more moist and juicy than any roasted chicken I have ever made! I increased the butter to 4 T. Thanks, elainegl, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I've roasted chicken many many times but have never brined one, until now. The brine adds so much flavor and moisture to the meat. After reading up on brining at several sites I added 1/2 cup of sugar into the mix and let the chicken soak for about 2 hours. I followed this recipe exactly except for the brining method and my dinner was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Awesome flavour, and so simple. I used this on chicken pieces (legs, breasts, etc) and followed the recipe exactly, just adjusting the cook time since I wasn't using a whole chicken. It was so delicious! I am adding this to my favourites list and I thank you for sharing the recipe. My family loved it. Thx Elaine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was my first time roasting a whole chicken, and this recipe was good :] I did not brine the chicken, but I did marinate it overnight. The skin was delicious; although , my boyfriend and I try not to eat the skin! I wish the flavors could have infused in the meat a little more though. The wings were awesome! I did not have any of the dark meat, but boyfriend said he loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Fantastic! This was my first herb roasted chicken ever. My goal was that it would taste atleast close to the restaraunt we order from. And it was much better! Thank you. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand. Went so great! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb-Roasted Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 529.3
     
    Calories from Fat 365
    69%
    Total Fat 40.6 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 175.6 mg
    58%
    Sodium 14645.1 mg
    610%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 37.9 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites