Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb-Roasted Butternut Squash and Sausages Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb-Roasted Butternut Squash and Sausages

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2009

      I must say I really didn't think I would like this but was willing to try it. I have been trying to find a butternut squash recipe that I liked for years now and finally this is it! I love it! Not only that, my dh, who hates squash, rosemary, and time, loved it enough to ask me to make it for his office's Thanksgiving meal. My 10 yr old son wanted me to make it again for supper the next night since we didn't have any left over. Usually, he hates leftovers. Even my 13 and 8 yr old daughter loved it. If it counts, my 8 month old ds couldn't get enough either. I did add an onion as suggested. I was another that forgot the balsamic vinegar step. Will try it next time. Oh, and the sausage I used was Walmart's Artichoke, Mozzarella Chicken Sausage. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used 1 tsp of dried for each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      We found this to be dry, though the flavors were good. I think I may try again in a while and change the cooking technique a bit to make it more moist. We served with brown basmati rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Love this recipe! I tried it with sweet (chicken apple) and savory (chicken garlic) sausages and both turned out great. Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I've had to be on a dreadful elimination diet, and this was a yummy way to fit the bill. We served it to guests, and they went back for more. I ended up cutting back slightly on the oil, however, as it ended up fairly heavy with the kind of sausage we used.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This was very nice. I made it with what I thought was butternut squash, which turned out to be huge summer squash, and the recipe still worked. Like so many other reviewers, I used dried spices, and I added hot sauce and sea salt. It took about 45 minutes for everything to roast nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Very good - but be sure not to over-roast or the butternut chunks will become too soft and mushy (I made that mistake once). I've used this recipe several times now - it's delicious. The butternut and the sausage are a surprisingly good combination. I used Hebrew National beef breakfast sausage and it was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      I love Butternut squash and frequently use it to make a veggie chili but I wanted something different and decided to try this recipe. I teamed it with the Polenta and my allergies are such that I couldn't really speak to whether that was a winner but this combo is quite good. Like others, I used dried herbs about a 1 tsp each, except for Rosemary, where a little less goes a long way. I shared this recipe with friends and my DH thought it was quite good. Cut small enough, the pieces cook through nicely at this temperature and the flavors are very nice. Great fall dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Yum! So easy and so tasty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      So simple and so delicious! It really is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      My New Years promise...to eat better just on the off-chance that my body holds out until I'm 90. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I'd give this more than a 5 if I could. We roast squash all the time and it's good but these simple seasonings (minus the rosemary which i don't care for) made this exceptional. I used a soy vegetarian sausage and my DBF used apple sausage and it was an easy great fall supper. Don't forget the balsamic,it finishes it off perfectly. Thanks much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Oh this was delicious! I didn't have any sausage but just made the recipe with the squash. I used dried herbs as well, just a sprinkling of each evenly over the squash. The house smelled wonderful as it was cooking and the balsamic vinegar was an excellent touch at the end. This was a great way to use the squash from our garden. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous! I made it exactly as listed, and it will definetly be a repeater. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This is a great recipe. It's simple to make and from ingredients that we usually have in our cupboard/garden. DH and DD really enjoyed how the sausage went all puffy in the hot oven. We'll definitely be having it again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was wonderful! I used garlic turkey sausage and dried herbs (didn't have any fresh). It worked out great. Will make again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I just realized that I can do more with butternut squash than just make baby food! This was my first try at a real butternut squash recipe and it was GREAT! I added the onion as suggested in other reviews and think I'll try adding an apple next time. Thanks for a great recipe that the whole family enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Delicious! I added a tiny bit of ginger and an apple, and both I and my roommates loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Very good and easy to make! I had to use dried herbs because I didn't have any fresh, and it still turned out very well. Thank you for a great way to cook butternut squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe. I have made it several times and love it. I have made it as stated, but I have also used frozen squash and dried herbs including Italian Herb Blend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      This tasted so good, and is so easy to make! I've made this a few times now and use dry herbs as that is what I always have on hand (just cut the amount down). I also add a little onion. We tried it with and without the vinegar and liked it both ways. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb-Roasted Butternut Squash and Sausages

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.1
     
    Calories from Fat 240
    53%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 136.2 mg
    45%
    Sodium 1184.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites