28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I must say I really didn't think I would like this but was willing to try it. I have been trying to find a butternut squash recipe that I liked for years now and finally this is it! I love it! Not only that, my dh, who hates squash, rosemary, and time, loved it enough to ask me to make it for his office's Thanksgiving meal. My 10 yr old son wanted me to make it again for supper the next night since we didn't have any left over. Usually, he hates leftovers. Even my 13 and 8 yr old daughter loved it. If it counts, my 8 month old ds couldn't get enough either. I did add an onion as suggested. I was another that forgot the balsamic vinegar step. Will try it next time. Oh, and the sausage I used was Walmart's Artichoke, Mozzarella Chicken Sausage. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used 1 tsp of dried for each.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kahlanne November 19, 2009

We found this to be dry, though the flavors were good. I think I may try again in a while and change the cooking technique a bit to make it more moist. We served with brown basmati rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen December 06, 2010

Love this recipe! I tried it with sweet (chicken apple) and savory (chicken garlic) sausages and both turned out great. Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilpunkin October 22, 2010

I've had to be on a dreadful elimination diet, and this was a yummy way to fit the bill. We served it to guests, and they went back for more. I ended up cutting back slightly on the oil, however, as it ended up fairly heavy with the kind of sausage we used.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Meehan March 14, 2010

This was very nice. I made it with what I thought was butternut squash, which turned out to be huge summer squash, and the recipe still worked. Like so many other reviewers, I used dried spices, and I added hot sauce and sea salt. It took about 45 minutes for everything to roast nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman August 05, 2009

Very good - but be sure not to over-roast or the butternut chunks will become too soft and mushy (I made that mistake once). I've used this recipe several times now - it's delicious. The butternut and the sausage are a surprisingly good combination. I used Hebrew National beef breakfast sausage and it was good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilharris2001 October 31, 2008

I love Butternut squash and frequently use it to make a veggie chili but I wanted something different and decided to try this recipe. I teamed it with the Polenta and my allergies are such that I couldn't really speak to whether that was a winner but this combo is quite good. Like others, I used dried herbs about a 1 tsp each, except for Rosemary, where a little less goes a long way. I shared this recipe with friends and my DH thought it was quite good. Cut small enough, the pieces cook through nicely at this temperature and the flavors are very nice. Great fall dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ September 24, 2012

Yum! So easy and so tasty!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ayame April 09, 2010

So simple and so delicious! It really is fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andiree December 16, 2009

My New Years promise...to eat better just on the off-chance that my body holds out until I'm 90. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 25, 2009
Herb-Roasted Butternut Squash and Sausages