Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb, Lemon and Garlic Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb, Lemon and Garlic Dressing

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2009

      I looked high and low, and couldn't find plain yogurt. So, I used fat free sour cream in it's place. I added fresh chives, parsley and lemon thyme, from my garden. There was a bit of sharpness to it for some reason....probably the lemon juice, so I added 1 tbsp of honey. WOW! I'm absolutely over the moon with it. I used it as a dip for the first zucchini from the garden. Thanks Pat for a very 'inspiring' recipe. I'll try it again as written, if I ever find the yogurt. Made for Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #30.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      I really enjoyed the freedom with herb combinations that this recipe offered me. I used basil, thyme, rosemary and sage. The amount of garlic was just right for me. Although it's not as low in fat, I opted for the creamy Greek yoghurt which I always use. I'm just not prepared to use low-fat cheese or yoghurt. Just LOVED the lemon juice in this. If you want your dressing thinner, as long as you like lemon juice, I suggest that you add a bit more lemon juice. We thoroughly enjoyed this as a topping for Lavender Lynn's Hawaiian Meatballs. Made for1-2-3-4 Hit Wonders 2008. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Pat. It's one I know I'll also enjoy on salads.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This has the potential for a good dressing. I think there is an awful lot of freedom in the choice of herbs, and some combinations will certainly be better than others. I went a little crazy and went out to my garden and took a little bit of everything (parsley, dill, lemon balm, chives, cilantro, basil) because I didn't have much of any one thing except for parsley and I was a bit tired of parsley. I also used 2 pressed cloves of garlic and a thick Greek yogurt. This produced a thick dip-like sauce with a real zingy bite. I think that in order to have more of a dressing-like consistency, that I need to thin it a bit with milk or buttermilk, since I always buy the Greek yogurt. I also need to experiment with combinations of herbs to find one that works for me. Thanks for the inspiration to play with this. I do want to find a good, low-cal dressing that I can make at home and enjoy. More than one such dressing, in fact.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      A very nice dressing, and a great recipe to keep in mind if you have an herb garden. I used tarragon, chives, basil, marjoram, and parsley. I also used Greek yogurt, which is very thick, so I thinned it with a little cream to get the consistency I wanted for a dressing. I like the tang that the yogurt gives it, very similar to buttermilk dressing. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I wanted this to be 5 stars but it was just fine. I did wish to use fresh mint as one of my herbs but could not find any in the couple shops I went to. I used Balkan (thick) yogurt because that is what we prefer, fresh parsley and fresh cilantro, two small garlic cloves (this is the dominant flavour even using small cloves), freshly squeezed lemon juice, sea salt, and freshly ground black pepper. Stiring the Balkan yogurt I use makes it smooth out and thiner plus the lemon juice it was thin enough for the salad I served it on: baby spinach leaves, sliced fresh button mushrooms, etc. Working well together. Made for Went to the Market Tag Game - Winter 2010/11.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Versatility is this dressings middle name. This dressing can not only be used on salads but also makes a nice veggie dip and the flavor of it is very versatile depending on which herbs you chose to use. Made using fat free yogurt and for herbs used chives, thyme and parsley. Served as a dip which was quite tasty with the carrots and cucumber, only so so on the celery. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      The Spring "greens" are just coming into the garden, the soft-winds are blowing from the south and the hint of summer in North America is on it's way. What a great way to celebrate this renewal by enjoying a perfectly glorious tasting dressing on those soft leaves? I followed this exactly, but since I pre-smash my garlic, so I eye-balled that amount. I love yogurt and used the low-fat version as suggested. The herbs I used were oregano, parsley, and a bit of crushed mint. Outstanding and mine was perfect consistency, by topping the salad with just a small tablespoon of dressing. Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* May 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      A nice non fat dip or dressing (I used non fat yogurt). VERY fresh tasting with lots of zip. I used basil, chives and parlsey for the herbs. I subbed lemon pepper for the pepper with great results. I added a little Greek Seasoning as well. Used as a dipping sauce for snow peas and also as a dip for some hamburgers. Made for MAKE MY RECIPE. Thanks, Pat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Made this with non-fat plain yogurt as part of the WW Core program and it made a tangy and flavorful salad dressing. Initially, I felt the garlic was too sharp and overpowered the basil and lemon so I added additional lemon juice and a pinch of pepper and that seemed to have restored the balance. My suggestion would be to use half the garlic (and this is from a garlic lover) and let your imagination run wild with the herbs. Thanks Pat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      YUM, we liked this.. I served it over salad greens, tomato and avocado and it went down rather well. However, I still can't quite convince DH that extra virgin olive oil dressing + balsamico is not the ONLY one in existance and since I like yogurt far better than he does , he will tolerate dressings like this once in a while but not too often. I can see that I will just have to make it for myself and enjoy it ALL :) Please see my rating system, a lovely 4 stars :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb, Lemon and Garlic Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    19%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh herbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes