Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb-Crusted Roast Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb-Crusted Roast Beef

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2011

      What a surprise to see my own recipe here! It was a winner in a 1998 issue of Taste of Home. To see so many wonderful reviews is truly a honor. Creating recipes is my passion, and knowing so many enjoy it is the best feeling in the world. Thank you for all the wonderful comments.

      Teri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      This was so good... I have never made a roast beef before... i used a bottom round roast... and did some other research on how to cook it. I took it out the fridge and left it on the counter for a hour so it could be room temp. Than rubbed it. I cooked it at 450 for 10 mins and it got a little crust out the outside than turned it down to 300 and cooked till the thermometer read 145.. i had a 2.75lb bottom round roast... let it sit 15 mins and sliced it thin... didnt even need the gravey... Awsome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      This was the most superb roast beef I have ever cooked. I cooked it to medium rare and used the gravy for mashed potatoes. The combination of herbs and mustard used on this roast created a sublime aroma throughout my whole house as it cooked...and the taste was to die for. I've never been able to cook a decent roast until now. This will be the roast beef recipe that I use from now on. Thanks NurseDi for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      This is going to be our standard special occasion roast beef from now on. This was so good that words can't begin to describe it. The herb rub can't be beat. Made lots of delicious gravy too, for our mashed potatoes. Very easy but it tastes like you spent many hours in the kitchen. Classy and elegant. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2002

      I made this delectable roast beef for Christmas Eve dinner. Wow, is all I can say. I cooked it to a nice medium-rare. The meat was so tender and the seasonings made the most scrumptious gravy I have ever tasted. My family and I are so greatful for this recipe. Will be used many more times in the future. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This roast was fantastic! My 11 year old son, halfway through his plate, announced, "You should make this again some time." We all agreed that it was a big-time keeper! I may not cook mine as long next time or will put a little water in the pan just to keep it a bit more moist, but the flavor was great. I added rosemary to mine (after reading a review that also used it) and used a stone ground Dijon mustard. For the gravy I scraped off some of the crust, added Worcestershire (since a lot of my drippings burnt to the pan), and used cornstarch to thicken it -- I just don't like the flavor flour adds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      great! added fresh rosemary

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      As the other reviewers said, this roast smells heavenly! I used a smaller, 1 kg roast, and cooked it to 145 degrees. I like my roast medium rare, but I still found that to bee too rare. I think I will wait until it hits around 160 next time. I will also fiddle with the gravy ingredients next time, as I found the mustard flavour to be a bit overpowering. But overall, it was a great roast - just needs some tinkering!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I made this amazing recipe the other night for my family. The tantalizing smell nearly drove us crazy as we waited for the roast to cook! This is the only way I will prepare roast beef from now on! I used fresh herbs instead of dry and I used a bone in ribeye roast-AMAZING!!! YUMMMMM!! :) Michele

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We loved this! I made a mini-roast (not sure what cut I had, but it was only 2 or 3 pounds) - just used a meat thermometer and watched it till medium. We enjoyed the blend of flavors, and although there seems to be a lot of ingredients at first glance, it took hardly any time to throw together. I'll be making this again for sure (probably next time we have company!). Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      made this last night for a dinner party. was so simple and very delicious. the gravy was outstanding, the flavors really came out. i used cornstarch to thicken my gravy as we had a guest with gluten allergy. all my guests raved about this, so this is defintely a keeper. next time, i may use tenderloin and a meat thermometer(which i did for this also and it turned out perfectly)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      So Delish! I actually cooked mine a little longer because I like mine medium-well. It was terrific and the gravy I made from it was outstanding! Everyone in my family ate until they couldn't move!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This turned out GREAT! I've always cooked roast in a crockpot and wanted to try something different for Christmas Eve. Everyone raved about it and the gravy was exceptional! Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I followed your recipe exactly and had no problems. I cooked the beef to a nice medium rare (145 degrees) and found that it was a tough. The flavor was great, but next time I will try using a nicer and more tender cut of beef for this recipe than a rump roast. It also makes great sandwiches the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This recipe is AWESOME. I made it for my Christmas Eve dinner along with fresh green beans, candied carrots, and garlic mashed potatos. It made my house smell wonderful and my husband was in my kitchen salivating while it was cooking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Truly wonderful. I used a smaller roast, but kept the rest of the amounts the same. Divine smelling, visually appealing, and also delicious. 5 stars without a doubt!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Absolutely agree that the lemon is way too much, wasn't too bad for my first attempt, although I couldn't "rub" the herbs on as the mustard mixture formed a very thick layer on the meat, so I just "sprinkled" and it worked fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Wow! This is the best roast beef I have ever had. I made it exactly as the recipe specified, and thought it was perfect. The smell while this was cooking was amazing! I used the leftovers to make French Dip. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This recipe was tasty and smelled wonderful cooking. I used garlic olive oil and ommitted the garlic cloves. Like other reviewers, we too found the lemon/mustard too tangy. Next time I make this I personally would reduce or omit the lemon juice. Loved the herb rub though! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      EXCELLENT! Though my husband prefers everything to stay 'basic' forever in a day, I like a change and this did the trick! DH loved it! The roast was tender & tasty! I paired it with salad, cauliflower, broccoli & mashed potatoes. It won rave reviews - so thank you for a marvelous dinner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb-Crusted Roast Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.0
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    55%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 153.1 mg
    51%
    Sodium 765.7 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 43.0 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes