57 Reviews

What a surprise to see my own recipe here! It was a winner in a 1998 issue of Taste of Home. To see so many wonderful reviews is truly a honor. Creating recipes is my passion, and knowing so many enjoy it is the best feeling in the world. Thank you for all the wonderful comments.

Teri

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeriLindquist March 27, 2011

This was so good... I have never made a roast beef before... i used a bottom round roast... and did some other research on how to cook it. I took it out the fridge and left it on the counter for a hour so it could be room temp. Than rubbed it. I cooked it at 450 for 10 mins and it got a little crust out the outside than turned it down to 300 and cooked till the thermometer read 145.. i had a 2.75lb bottom round roast... let it sit 15 mins and sliced it thin... didnt even need the gravey... Awsome

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyLuvzCookin October 24, 2008

This was the most superb roast beef I have ever cooked. I cooked it to medium rare and used the gravy for mashed potatoes. The combination of herbs and mustard used on this roast created a sublime aroma throughout my whole house as it cooked...and the taste was to die for. I've never been able to cook a decent roast until now. This will be the roast beef recipe that I use from now on. Thanks NurseDi for another wonderful recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess August 31, 2003

This is going to be our standard special occasion roast beef from now on. This was so good that words can't begin to describe it. The herb rub can't be beat. Made lots of delicious gravy too, for our mashed potatoes. Very easy but it tastes like you spent many hours in the kitchen. Classy and elegant. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaB April 02, 2003

I made this delectable roast beef for Christmas Eve dinner. Wow, is all I can say. I cooked it to a nice medium-rare. The meat was so tender and the seasonings made the most scrumptious gravy I have ever tasted. My family and I are so greatful for this recipe. Will be used many more times in the future. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna Naquin December 28, 2002

This roast was fantastic! My 11 year old son, halfway through his plate, announced, "You should make this again some time." We all agreed that it was a big-time keeper! I may not cook mine as long next time or will put a little water in the pan just to keep it a bit more moist, but the flavor was great. I added rosemary to mine (after reading a review that also used it) and used a stone ground Dijon mustard. For the gravy I scraped off some of the crust, added Worcestershire (since a lot of my drippings burnt to the pan), and used cornstarch to thicken it -- I just don't like the flavor flour adds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy of 3 (DH included) December 30, 2010

great! added fresh rosemary

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oishi August 06, 2010

As the other reviewers said, this roast smells heavenly! I used a smaller, 1 kg roast, and cooked it to 145 degrees. I like my roast medium rare, but I still found that to bee too rare. I think I will wait until it hits around 160 next time. I will also fiddle with the gravy ingredients next time, as I found the mustard flavour to be a bit overpowering. But overall, it was a great roast - just needs some tinkering!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian WesternGirl November 23, 2009

I made this amazing recipe the other night for my family. The tantalizing smell nearly drove us crazy as we waited for the roast to cook! This is the only way I will prepare roast beef from now on! I used fresh herbs instead of dry and I used a bone in ribeye roast-AMAZING!!! YUMMMMM!! :) Michele

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelekf October 31, 2009

We loved this! I made a mini-roast (not sure what cut I had, but it was only 2 or 3 pounds) - just used a meat thermometer and watched it till medium. We enjoyed the blend of flavors, and although there seems to be a lot of ingredients at first glance, it took hardly any time to throw together. I'll be making this again for sure (probably next time we have company!). Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 April 14, 2009
Herb-Crusted Roast Beef