10 Reviews

I loved using the fresh herbs from my garden to make this. I used panko instead of the fresh breadcrumbs. I use a large swai fillet, which was not very thick so it cooked through in the pan without my having to turn on the oven. I did have quite a bit of the coating ingredients left, so I sliced some slender Asian eggplant, coated it, and also pan-fried that. It was a bit more fried food than I usually have but really turned out well - I might do this just with veggies another time. Update: I used the same crust ingredients - without the egg wash - with slices of veal liver - very very nice

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte August 22, 2012

WOW!!! What a great way to dress up plain snapper fillets. I made one change. I had some fresh tarragon that needed using, so subbed that for the basil. Worked fine! I will try again when I have fresh basil. I also think this would be a good coating for boneless chicken breasts!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here February 02, 2009

I needed a quick recipe for tonight and this fit the bill. Made this with two small tilapia fillets. The oven wasnt even ready by the time I was done preparing these fish! Since I am VERY pan frying impared when it comes to fish so I did this all in the oven and cooked for about 12 minutes, flipping the fish half way thru, at a very high heated oven. The fish was wonderfully crispy and spiced perfectly. The pine nuts gave it such a great taste, I plan on using this breading combo on chicken. Also I plan on making this even when I DO have time to make dinner (but when does that ever happen!?).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme April 20, 2007

What a great coating for fish! I put to good use the remainder of my herb garden but used butter crackers in place of the fresh bread for crumbs. This made for a nice, crisp coating for the tilapia fillets that I had on hand. Since the fillet were a bit thin, I didn't bake them off in the oven, though I did keep them warm in there for about 10 minutes while I got the rest of the dinner ready. We had these with sliced, sauteed potatoes and steamed broccoli for a very nice meal. Thanks I'mPat for this recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude October 28, 2012

this is good with lemon. i would go a little lighter on herbs next time for me , but to be fair ive been ill all week so there you go try this recipe i made it with cod

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. October 26, 2012

Delicious! I skipped the frying pan and cooked it directly in the oven, brushed with oil, top rack. It came out perfect. Crunchy and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia September 23, 2012

This was delicious!
After the use of the food processor I got a quite green magic powder for the coating of my pangasius filets.
I had to wait longer then expected (my DS was still hot at home) and I had to reduce the heat and simply keep warm. For this reason the fish was not very crunchy but deeelicious.
We had leftovers of the magic green powder. We used that for topping the rice.
Thanks a lot for posting such delicious recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde May 30, 2012

This is a real treat. I used Northern Pike filet and it turned out very tasty indeed, They were done in 6 mins with one turn. You have a winner here Pat. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 07, 2011

I used Talapia and did not have pine nuts so instead I used cashews. I noted one reviewer had success with the oven, so I did same for a healther alternative. 15 min on 450F worked for me, probably the crust is not quite as crunchy, but nevertheless it was delicious. Made for Went to the Market Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini July 30, 2010

This was just lovely! After reading other reviews, I would probably subsitute tarragon or dill for one of the spices, just a personal preference with fish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 09, 2009
Herb Crusted Fish Fillets