Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb-Coated Cod Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb-Coated Cod

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2009

      EXCELLENT. So easy and very very good. I didn't have buttery crackers, so i went went some other crackers on hand, sort of a sesame flavor. That... coupled with the parmesean was a wonderful mixture of flavors. I put a little egg in with my butter to thicken it up a bit for easier assembly of the crackers on the fish. One tip.. when coating the fish with the crumbs, i found it easiest to put the crumbs on a plate, dip the fish in the butter, place it on the crumbs.. and then pile a heap of crumbs on top of it. If you try to dredge the fish in the crumbs and flip it around, they crumbs won't stick. Maybe this is common knowledge.. but I didnt know it at the time. Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This was yummy! I used frozen cod fillets, also brushing the soft butter on with a pastry brush. I think the not completely melted butter helped the crackers stick. Used roasted vegetable flavor Ritz, added italian seasoning mix and Peccorino as that is what I had on hand. 15 min at 400 followed by a quick zap under the broiler. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Delicious! I used some nerdy organic brand of butter crackers and it was awesome (I loved just eating the baked on crumbs from the crust...) and super easy. Thanks for the recipe! ETA: I used Goldfish crackers this time and they were so yummy! ETA2: I made this again tonight and think I overcooked the cod at 15 minutes. I'm not very experienced at cooking fish, so I wonder if I should reduce the heat when the filets are thinner?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Delicious! I used panko crumbs instead of cracker crumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Made as a prize for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, we had 2 recipes we considered our all-time faves for cod fillets. This recipe has joined them now in a 3-way tie. Other than adding some lemon pepper & using Ritz crackers, I made the recipe as written, but did amend the prep. I am not very good at getting uniform coverage w/the dip & coat method, so as a matter of routine I brush 1 side of fish fillets w/soft butter using my pastry brush, apply the coating & then flip the fillets right in the baking dish to repeat the process for the top surface. No muss, no fuss & a quick-fix all done right in the baking dish. The coating mixture enhances the flavour of the cod & cook time was spot-on to result in a moist & tasty fillet. I served it w/garlic, butter & parslied potatoes + a cucumber salad & DH pronounced it an excellent meal. Thx for sharing this certain to-be-repeated recipe w/us. *Yum* !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      Definitely more than 5 stars for this one!! :) I used Ritz crackers but otherwise followed the instructions. My recommendation would be to check for doneness at 15 minutes. I used thinner cod fillets as well, and ours were perfect at 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Delicious! Seasonings and timing is spot on. A repeater for sure. Served ours with oven fried potatoes and oven cooked carrots for a simple supper that we appreciated after a busy day. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      I used Panko, because I didn't have crackers. It was awesome!! My husband really loved it, too! (After cooking @ 20", I turned my oven to broil for a couple of minutes to brown the panko.) Thank you for such an excellent recipe, KateL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      This was a wonderful baked fish recipe. It was so nice and crunchy. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Easy. Delish. What more can one ask for? Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and went to go get the cod out of the freezer and I had only one piece. So I used mahi mahi, seasoned the fish a little and dipped in in the butter and ritz crackers with the seasonings. I did spray a little olive oil on top to ensure browning and DH gobbled his down with smiles. Served it with spinach (minced garlic and thinly sliced shallots) in the micro and rice pilaf. Made for the TOTM Diabetes Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      DELICIOUS! Made it for a very late night, last minute dinner. It very simple to put together, easy clean up, and the flavor is out of this world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I can see why it got such great reviews... yummy! great herb combination - I used ritz crackers since that's what I had and used an egg with 1 tbsp water instead of the butter for a little bit healthier side and it still turned out fantastic. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      So easy and we loved that it was kind of low fat. I so enjoy trying these zarr keepers, thanks for a lovely dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      A nice, tasty fish! I enjoyed the crispy coating and served with a nice tartar sauce and potato wedges. Thanks! Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      So easy! I didn't have any crackers, so I used crushed salt 'n' pepper potato chips and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Pretty good for quick and easy fish recipe. And yes, helps make frozen cod taste a little less frozen. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This herb coating was tasty! I used Ritz crackers. I really like the way the textures of the cracker crumbs and cheese work together in this. Thanks for posting! I might try this with a little beaten egg or egg white instead of the butter. Made for please review my recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      This is a very good fish recipe. The butter and the buttery crackers (I used Peppridge Farms as suggested) gave this a nice rich taste and the herb flavoring was right on. I will use this easy to make recipe again - thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Great recipe, used butter and garlic club crackers. Thanks, will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb-Coated Cod

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.6
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    54%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 276.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 21.9 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites