22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

EXCELLENT. So easy and very very good. I didn't have buttery crackers, so i went went some other crackers on hand, sort of a sesame flavor. That... coupled with the parmesean was a wonderful mixture of flavors. I put a little egg in with my butter to thicken it up a bit for easier assembly of the crackers on the fish. One tip.. when coating the fish with the crumbs, i found it easiest to put the crumbs on a plate, dip the fish in the butter, place it on the crumbs.. and then pile a heap of crumbs on top of it. If you try to dredge the fish in the crumbs and flip it around, they crumbs won't stick. Maybe this is common knowledge.. but I didnt know it at the time. Happy cooking!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Matt January 12, 2009

This was yummy! I used frozen cod fillets, also brushing the soft butter on with a pastry brush. I think the not completely melted butter helped the crackers stick. Used roasted vegetable flavor Ritz, added italian seasoning mix and Peccorino as that is what I had on hand. 15 min at 400 followed by a quick zap under the broiler. Very good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 December 17, 2010

Delicious! I used some nerdy organic brand of butter crackers and it was awesome (I loved just eating the baked on crumbs from the crust...) and super easy. Thanks for the recipe! ETA: I used Goldfish crackers this time and they were so yummy! ETA2: I made this again tonight and think I overcooked the cod at 15 minutes. I'm not very experienced at cooking fish, so I wonder if I should reduce the heat when the filets are thinner?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 24, 2010

Made as a prize for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, we had 2 recipes we considered our all-time faves for cod fillets. This recipe has joined them now in a 3-way tie. Other than adding some lemon pepper & using Ritz crackers, I made the recipe as written, but did amend the prep. I am not very good at getting uniform coverage w/the dip & coat method, so as a matter of routine I brush 1 side of fish fillets w/soft butter using my pastry brush, apply the coating & then flip the fillets right in the baking dish to repeat the process for the top surface. No muss, no fuss & a quick-fix all done right in the baking dish. The coating mixture enhances the flavour of the cod & cook time was spot-on to result in a moist & tasty fillet. I served it w/garlic, butter & parslied potatoes + a cucumber salad & DH pronounced it an excellent meal. Thx for sharing this certain to-be-repeated recipe w/us. *Yum* !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 17, 2009

Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and went to go get the cod out of the freezer and I had only one piece. So I used mahi mahi, seasoned the fish a little and dipped in in the butter and ritz crackers with the seasonings. I did spray a little olive oil on top to ensure browning and DH gobbled his down with smiles. Served it with spinach (minced garlic and thinly sliced shallots) in the micro and rice pilaf. Made for the TOTM Diabetes Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf November 04, 2011

DELICIOUS! Made it for a very late night, last minute dinner. It very simple to put together, easy clean up, and the flavor is out of this world.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. McDreamy September 04, 2009

Delicious! I used panko crumbs instead of cracker crumbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fronie July 25, 2009

Definitely more than 5 stars for this one!! :) I used Ritz crackers but otherwise followed the instructions. My recommendation would be to check for doneness at 15 minutes. I used thinner cod fillets as well, and ours were perfect at 15 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy June 21, 2014

Delicious! Seasonings and timing is spot on. A repeater for sure. Served ours with oven fried potatoes and oven cooked carrots for a simple supper that we appreciated after a busy day. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal December 05, 2013

I used Panko, because I didn't have crackers. It was awesome!! My husband really loved it, too! (After cooking @ 20", I turned my oven to broil for a couple of minutes to brown the panko.) Thank you for such an excellent recipe, KateL.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirakomaru September 10, 2013
Herb-Coated Cod