28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this with chicken and noodles tonight. Took me 10 minutes longer to cook than recipe stated. I think it needed fresh herbs instead of dried and a little more cheese. I double checked the recipe when I noticed it didn't require salt? I didn't add it but MAN did it need it. A little sprinkling on each piece did the trick. Used greek yougurt.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat #2 September 30, 2010

A really good quick bread. I was pressed for time and melted the butter instead of cutting it in; it came out just fine, so will keep doing that!. I omitted the sage otherwise made as stated. I used an 8 inch square pan and it came out just right in 38 min. Half of it is now in the freezer :) Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 03, 2010

Salt needs to be in this recipe; the other reviewers are correct. This bread is flat without salt. I sprinkled REAL SALT on the bread when I had some by itself. When served with tasty meat, it may not be necessary. The bread looks and smells nice; it needs salt in the ingredients list.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tipton38071 November 14, 2012

You were so lucky the restaurant handed out the recipe. We are so lucky you shared it here. I made this pretty much as written. Cut back on the baking powder by about 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Used a nice tangy Greek yogurt and a sharp cheddar. Completely forgot about the poppy seeds. Oops! That won't happen next time. I'll make this often. Can imagine adding a handful of finely chopped kalamata olives and the green onions others have suggested. Thanks very much for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 29, 2012

Great tasting bread that can be enjoyed with many things. I used 1/2 unbleached AP flour and 1/2 whole wheat, med. Cheddar and sour cream for the yogurt (the only yogurt in the house is vanilla which didn't seem like a great choice, lol) and I added two sliced green onions (I had two to use up and this just seemed a natural for them). This made a wonderful late Sunday brunch along with veggie sausage patties and and an organic free range egg. Simple to make, the inside is very soft and tender with a nice crust. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 28, 2010

My husband LOVED this and he does not usually share my enthusiasm for bread...really tasty al on its own! Yes, add salt and reduce the baking powder. I used fresh herbs, just chucked in whatever was growing in the garden, and it worked great. As already stated, sift the flour and don't overwork your dough-the cheese and yogurt will make it quite dense.<br/><br/>Very delicious recipe. I will be making this over and over, I'm sure.<br/><br/>Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momo UK July 01, 2014

Yum! So good! Buttery quick bread that's probably too easy to make. Used plain Greek yogurt and added 1/2 t salt as suggested by other reviewers. Only used 1T poppy seed on top. Would be delicious with any meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 16, 2013

This bread is very easy and quick to assemble. It's also very tasty! I followed some reviewers suggestion and cut the soda and the baking powder to a half and added 1 teasp. salt. I used the herbs that I had on hand and sub. parmesan gouda cheese. I had to bake 1 hour.
My bread turned a bit too dense but still very tasty! I guess that the secret to a fluffy bread is to sieve the flour and not to overmix. I am improving ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roseclar January 01, 2013

Yum! Added a pinch of salt after reading the other reviews. Also added a little garlic and green onion and left out the sage (taste preference). I baked it in my Pampered Chef Mini Loaf pan and got 3 loaves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajean May 30, 2011
Herb & Cheese Quick Bread