Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Herb & Cheese Quick Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb & Cheese Quick Bread

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2010

      Made this with chicken and noodles tonight. Took me 10 minutes longer to cook than recipe stated. I think it needed fresh herbs instead of dried and a little more cheese. I double checked the recipe when I noticed it didn't require salt? I didn't add it but MAN did it need it. A little sprinkling on each piece did the trick. Used greek yougurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      A really good quick bread. I was pressed for time and melted the butter instead of cutting it in; it came out just fine, so will keep doing that!. I omitted the sage otherwise made as stated. I used an 8 inch square pan and it came out just right in 38 min. Half of it is now in the freezer :) Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Salt needs to be in this recipe; the other reviewers are correct. This bread is flat without salt. I sprinkled REAL SALT on the bread when I had some by itself. When served with tasty meat, it may not be necessary. The bread looks and smells nice; it needs salt in the ingredients list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      You were so lucky the restaurant handed out the recipe. We are so lucky you shared it here. I made this pretty much as written. Cut back on the baking powder by about 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Used a nice tangy Greek yogurt and a sharp cheddar. Completely forgot about the poppy seeds. Oops! That won't happen next time. I'll make this often. Can imagine adding a handful of finely chopped kalamata olives and the green onions others have suggested. Thanks very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Great tasting bread that can be enjoyed with many things. I used 1/2 unbleached AP flour and 1/2 whole wheat, med. Cheddar and sour cream for the yogurt (the only yogurt in the house is vanilla which didn't seem like a great choice, lol) and I added two sliced green onions (I had two to use up and this just seemed a natural for them). This made a wonderful late Sunday brunch along with veggie sausage patties and and an organic free range egg. Simple to make, the inside is very soft and tender with a nice crust. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      My husband LOVED this and he does not usually share my enthusiasm for bread...really tasty al on its own! Yes, add salt and reduce the baking powder. I used fresh herbs, just chucked in whatever was growing in the garden, and it worked great. As already stated, sift the flour and don't overwork your dough-the cheese and yogurt will make it quite dense.<br/><br/>Very delicious recipe. I will be making this over and over, I'm sure.<br/><br/>Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

    • on January 16, 2013

      Yum! So good! Buttery quick bread that's probably too easy to make. Used plain Greek yogurt and added 1/2 t salt as suggested by other reviewers. Only used 1T poppy seed on top. Would be delicious with any meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      This bread is very easy and quick to assemble. It's also very tasty! I followed some reviewers suggestion and cut the soda and the baking powder to a half and added 1 teasp. salt. I used the herbs that I had on hand and sub. parmesan gouda cheese. I had to bake 1 hour.
      My bread turned a bit too dense but still very tasty! I guess that the secret to a fluffy bread is to sieve the flour and not to overmix. I am improving ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Yum! Added a pinch of salt after reading the other reviews. Also added a little garlic and green onion and left out the sage (taste preference). I baked it in my Pampered Chef Mini Loaf pan and got 3 loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      Yum, quick and easy. I sprinkled sharp Cheddar on top, along with the poppy seeds. If you want something really good, have this with #443207, Cream of Potato and Onion Soup. You'll be glad you did! Thanks . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Had this tonight with chicken and dumplings, and the herbs really complimented the seasonings in my soup! I had to add a touch more milk to make a soft dough, and like someone else, I only had vanilla yogurt in the house so I subbed sour cream for that. I think next time I might try this with Italian seasonings and a sharper cheese. This time I used colby/jack. My husband didn't care much for this, but the kids and I really liked it. I might top it with extra cheese or onion next time as well rather than the poppy seeds, but great as it is. I also added a pinch of salt, as I used unsalted butter in this. Will make again. Thanks for sharing! Update: This is also great with minced onion, garlic, cheese, and crumbled bacon inside, and topped with coarse Cyprus salt rather than the poppy seeds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I thought this bread was very moist but I could taste the baking soda/powder mixture alot. After reading the reviews, I also slightly increased the herbs but since I use Penzey's (they are strong) I wish I would have actually used less! This was easy to make though and I would make again using less baking soda/powder and less herbs. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      What a wonderfully quick, easy and tasty recipe.
      I made this with my three year old who had a ball measuring out the ingredients,mixing it and especially 'dumping' it in the pan!
      I subbed marjoram for sage, as I had none, and used low fat strong cheddar for the cheese.
      My daughter and I loved this...the flavours were delicious and the aroma delightful.A perfect partner for a bowl of hearty soup!
      Thanks Kat...I will definitely be doing this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      The DM and I have thoroughly enjoyed this with My Pumpkin Soup. I scaled it back to 2 - 2 1/2 serves and baked it in a ramekin at 175C for 15 minutes and just light brown on top. Thank you Katzen, made for ZAAR Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This bread is beautiful, easy and tasty. We made it instead of cornbread to eat with chili, and it was absolutely perfect. We used one cup of white flour and one cup of wheat flour, and marjoram instead of basil (merely because we didn't actually have any basil and it sounded like it would be good). In terms of cheese we used a blend of cheddar and pepperjack, which complemented the chili nicely. Will definitely make this again, although next time probably without the sugar, as it really didn't need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      I really liked this bread. I used old cheddar for the cheese and made the bread exactly as directed. I enjoyed the herb flavor. Made for Zaar Stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Easy recipe to put together and great texture. I will make again, but increase the herb amounts (felt it needed a bit more flavor). I will try it with chopped fresh herbs when they are in season. A nice bread to accompany a bowl of soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This bread is quite tasty! I will make again and likely upgrade my rating ... I used unsalted butter, so should have added a smidge of salt to the recipe. I subbed chia seeds for the poppy. Yum! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      REALLY, REALLY OUTSTANDING BREAD ~ Loved every mouthful! We really enjoyed the combo of herbs here, & the muffins were great as part of breakfast, & just as wonderful with a bowl of chili later in the day! Thanks, much, for sharing this great keeper of a recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb & Cheese Quick Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 267.7
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    44%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 42.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 426.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites